Dublin v Kildare 26.6.11

Started by Blowitupref, June 05, 2011, 07:59:53 PM

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 07:11:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 26, 2011, 07:03:06 PM
Did O'Gara get a straight red? I thought he got a second yellow, which was the same punishment Sweeney got. (Yellow)

It got the first yellow for continuous fouling

Ticked for first foul, booked for second.

The Kildare sub Kelly committed three fouls including an around the neck tackle and didn´t receive a card.

Very inconsistent refereeing.

Quote from: heffo on June 27, 2011, 04:27:29 PM
Did O'Gara get a straight red? I thought he got a second yellow, which was the same punishment Sweeney got. (Yellow)

The Kildare sub Kelly committed three fouls including an around the neck tackle and didn´t receive a card.

Robbie was booked.

Quote from: heffo on June 27, 2011, 04:16:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2011, 10:15:44 AM
Quote from: heffo on June 27, 2011, 09:24:34 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 08:27:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 26, 2011, 08:21:24 PM
Commisserations to Kildare, but I won´t apologise for getting the decisions today.

Last years Leinster semi final Meath got three blatantly illegal goals and we had a perfect goal dissallowed.

Last years AI semi, Paul Kerrigan on three occassions grabbed the defenders arm and went to ground and Cork scored.

Sometimes you get the decisions and sometimes you don´t .

Bottom line remains Kildare have had two chances to beat us in the space of 24 months and have had an extra man for over seventy minutes of those two games and still haven´t beaten us.

A draw would´ve been a fair result but so would´ve last years AI semi final.

Dublin getting the rub of the green makes for a better headline.

No one wants a patronising apology thanks very much.

And the bottom line is that Dublin would not have won that game if wasn't for the referee.

There is no apology - patronising or otherwise.

Plenty of games are won or lost by the ref - Dublin have been on the receiving end on plenty of occassions, but I´ve had the grace not to use that as an excuse.

You might have humility in defeat but are clearly lacking it in victory.

I´ve got plenty in both Dinny in fairness.

You said your bottom line is that the ref lost it for you, I would´ve said only scoring four scores in 35 minutes of football is what lost it for you.

I´m not shouting from the rooftops and doing cartwheels, but you seem to be ignoring my central point that we were very hard done by in both the Leinster semi and AI semi last year by refs decisions and neither Dublin posters on here nor the Dublin players or mgt sought the easy option and blamed the ref.

We werent good enough on the day on either occassion and didn´t get the decions, yesterday we did.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 08:27:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 26, 2011, 08:21:24 PM
Commisserations to Kildare, but I won´t apologise for getting the decisions today.

Last years Leinster semi final Meath got three blatantly illegal goals and we had a perfect goal dissallowed.

Last years AI semi, Paul Kerrigan on three occassions grabbed the defenders arm and went to ground and Cork scored.

Sometimes you get the decisions and sometimes you don´t .

Bottom line remains Kildare have had two chances to beat us in the space of 24 months and have had an extra man for over seventy minutes of those two games and still haven´t beaten us.

A draw would´ve been a fair result but so would´ve last years AI semi final.

Dublin getting the rub of the green makes for a better headline.

No one wants a patronising apology thanks very much.

And the bottom line is that Dublin would not have won that game if wasn't for the referee.

If you're going to quote me at least quote me correctly.

I never said that Kildare lost because of the referee and I never once said that Dublin didn't deserve to win it, in fact one cheap shot at Dublin's forwards aside I was actually quite impressed with Dublin and thought their defence was outstanding

I  look at games in isolation not what happened last year and Dublin got the rub of the green and your lack of humility in that respect is galling.

As for Kildare we lost because

A) Our execution of the long ball tactic in the first 30 mins was very poor
B) Our placed ball skills are lacking
C) We ended up with our two best forwards in midfield and in defence
D) Our subs apart from Kelly made no impact.

So even allowing for all that we could have got a draw, would we have deserved it, overall no but it the context of our fight back yes.

Quote from: heffo on June 27, 2011, 04:27:29 PM

He was booked for more than two fouls heffo.
Every time he ran towards a Kildare player I said to the lads watching with me, "Aaaaand here comes a free".

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2011, 04:46:27 PM
As for Kildare we lost because

A) Our execution of the long ball tactic in the first 30 mins was very poor
B) Our placed ball skills are lacking
C) We ended up with our two best forwards in midfield and in defence
D) Our subs apart from Kelly made no impact.

So even allowing for all that we could have got a draw, would we have deserved it, overall no but it the context of our fight back yes.

C - and throughout the course of the match we had three different midfielders in the full-forward line (Roli, Lynch & Hurley). Surely we could have switched Johnny into the edge of the square when he was clearly hampered by his injury.
D - I thought Brophy showed quite well. Far from the finished article but he's definitely an option for midfield. Dublin struggled to handle O'Connor too in the short period he was on for. Crazy decision to bring Hurley on ahead of him in hindsight.

The substitution choices were bizarre and I don't think Hurley even got a touch but McGeeney sees them week in week out and isn't make this decisions for the sake it so we have to give him the benefit.  Brophy showed well but didn't any impact that I could see.  He'll definitely be an option going forward.

McGeeney needs to maybe look at Darroch Mulhall, he's an excellent free taker and showing well for the Juniors. It's a pity our young players are just that bit too young.

The Aristocrat

Convinced the Dubs would have won by 5 or 6 points with 15 men. It was a terrible hard way to lose a game but................ it was a free technically, but a very harsh one to give.

Will not want to see Kildare again this year anyway.

I know Alan got it but O Carroll was clearly man of the match.

P.S The Dub hating club are in full swing now, good to see ye lads, prefer to be hated, its easier.

Quote from: The Aristocrat on June 27, 2011, 08:02:14 PM
Convinced the Dubs would have won by 5 or 6 points with 15 men. It was a terrible hard way to lose a game but................ it was a free technically, but a very harsh one to give.

Will not want to see Kildare again this year anyway.

I know Alan got it but O Carroll was clearly man of the match.

P.S The Dub hating club are in full swing now, good to see ye lads, prefer to be hated, its easier.
Me thinks you are looking for offence where there is none!

Quote from: tonto1888 on June 27, 2011, 03:12:22 PM
I thought it was an excellent game and feel so bad for the kildare team and fans. The ref made a mess at the end and that decision won the game for dublin. That said, O'Gara should not have been sent off either which gave kildare a big advantage

The referee was 100% correct to send him off.
It was probably the only decision he got right all day.
Dunno what the hell Gilroy was at leaving him on the field after the first yellow.
The phrase 'Bull in a china shop' springs to mind.

Hill16 Blues

I know it's difficult for all the Dub haters to take objective view of game - strangely but admirably many Kildare supporters have tried their best to do so - but there were quite a number of poor/v harsh decisions that didn't go our way. The one that stands out 5 mins after O'Gara's act of stupidity was Sweeney's decking of O'Carroll. All the Hill and most of the Cusack saw it! In fact if you want a still by still view of O'Flaherty holding him & Sweeney decking him (very brave lads!) please see the Evening Herald and/or Indo. How our esteemed ref from Meath & his linesmen/umpires missed it is beyond me!

McGeeney was particularly cute taking Sweeney off few mins later. If as it should have been 14 v 14 think we would have won the game comfortably & without controversey. Dublin were a good bit the better team.

Sweeney didn't 'deck' anybody FFS.  ::)

Don't think that people hate the Dubs.  Kildare posters are obviously a bit p*&^ed off and most others are amused at the reactions of said Kildare posters.

Quote from: Denn Forever on June 27, 2011, 10:32:51 PM
Don't think that people hate the Dubs.

Maybe we should do a poll?
Nordie Tayto is shite

Hill16 Blues

Yeah right! Sure a Kildare player would never do that!! It's a stitch up by the Dub loving Herald!!!! The Indo doesn't love us though so why would they publish it????????

Like I sat can't believe ref/linesmen/umpires and those purveyors of virtue The Sunday Game panel missed it. Now if a Dub/Kerry/Tyrone player had done this............................!

I don't need anyone else to interpret what I saw with my own eyes for me.
Sweeney did not 'deck' O'Carroll.