Dublin v Kildare 26.6.11

Started by Blowitupref, June 05, 2011, 07:59:53 PM

Reillers

Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 11:15:58 PM
And it wasn't good enough in Cork on Saturday when Offaly were robbed by the born again strikers.  The only difference now betweeen GAA and Soccer is that Police/ Gardai have to escort our refs off the pitch.

4 years Indy, get a life.

Same situation, same conclusion, injury time decision by a ref but I did not see you on the hurling forum projecting your sadness for Offaly who were rode out of a win by the same incompetence you now agree exists by bad refeering. I can also see Peter Mckennas logic in not allowing supporters onto the pitch anymore at Croke Park because, even as a neutral, I would give that ref today a toe in the hole as he headed for his roast lamb in the Skylon.

Reillers

Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 11:25:46 PM
Same situation, same conclusion, injury time decision by a ref but I did not see you on the hurling forum projecting your sadness for Offaly who were rode out of a win by the same incompetence you now agree exists by bad refeering. I can also see Peter Mckennas logic in not allowing supporters onto the pitch anymore at Croke Park because, even as a neutral, I would give that ref today a toe in the hole as he headed for his roast lamb in the Skylon.

You were at the Cork game so were ya?

Contender for post of the year.   :D ;D ;D

NP 76

Same old Bernard always buying cheap frees not just today thinking about the handy frees he orchestrated against Down in the national league game as just one example how often is he going to get away with this

Quote4 years Indy, get a life.

To help you along here, my name is not Indy.
As regards '4 years get a life' I suspect you thought you had engaged Indiana, but fired at the wrong man like what happened Michael Collins when he got it in the back of the lug down in your neck oif the woods, I can understand your annoyance.

However, as regards "4 years, get a life" is that profile picture you have, not just about four years old with the lads sporting their new private deal tracksuits.  Maybe, after four years it would help if you changed that to - well, whatever other than a strikers meeting before saying, " 4 years, get a life"

Orangemac

Decision at the end was a shocker but referees are going to make mistakes during games for things they don't see etc. What is becoming a problem is overfussiness, stopping free flowing play and taking the physical element out of the game.

Box tickers get the big games because they are rewarded for following the letter of the lawrather than having any cop on.

Kildare can not just blame the referee though, he did not hand Dublin their goal on a plate. Kildare just don't have the forwards to beat the top teams.

Reillers

Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 11:42:38 PM

As regards '4 years get a life' I suspect you thought you had engaged Indiana, but fired at the wrong man like what happened Michael Collins when he got it in the back of the lug down in your neck oif the woods, I can understand your annoyance.

However, as regards "4 years, get a life" is that profile picture you have, not just about four years old with the lads sporting their new private deal tracksuits.  Maybe, after four years it would help if you changed that to - well, whatever other than a strikers meeting before saying, " 4 years, get a life"
`

Oh for the love of God. It is something I haven't gotten around to changing, something I had completely forgot about, much like most people when it comes to the strike, well besides you and (coincidentally) Indiana. But if you say you're not him..

Nobody cares anymore, and it says a lot that you two continue to bring it up, in a Kildare/Dublin game of all things. 

Oh and you never answered my question, you were at the Cork Offaly game yes?

Quote from: Reillers on June 26, 2011, 11:56:43 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 11:42:38 PM

`

Oh for the love of God. It is something I haven't gotten around to changing, something I had completely forgot about, much like most people when it comes to the strike, well besides you and (coincidentally) Indiana. But if you say you're not him..

Nobody cares anymore, and it says a lot that you two continue to bring it up, in a Kildare/Dublin game of all things. 

Oh and you never answered my question, you were at the Cork Offaly game yes?

No but have you any opinion on why the ref only added on 1 minute? Surely that was incompetence too Reillers. In the interests of consistency and all that. Its

Kildare were f**king robbed disgrace! Yet another Meah ref robs Kildare again! Disgraceful
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Who was the last Meath ref to rob Kildare?

Quote from: orangeman on June 26, 2011, 11:31:46 PM

Contender for post of the year.   :D ;D ;D

agreed, as I neutral, I was also fuming at the pathetic display.

crossfire

Quote from: Armaghgael on June 26, 2011, 10:00:00 PM
Quote from: crossfire on June 26, 2011, 09:34:37 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on June 26, 2011, 06:50:05 PM
Kildare were robbed of a replay at least! >:( >:(

Again the ref centre of attention in yet another game. The Dubs got a serious amount of soft frees today.
The Dubs remind me abit like Crossmaglen in club games get all the big decisions for them. I felt gutted for Kildare players and mangement it seems to be a case of "so close but yet so far" I hope Geezer rallys the team for the qualifers and they go for long and successful summer.

What big decisions have Cross got of referees.? :o

You get every 50/50 call going :P :P

Give me some examples.

Strange game. Overall I think the Dubs deserved it but all the talk about the referee is glossing over some bizarre calls by the Kildare management.

Rob Kelly has looked like Kildare's best option at full-forward all year and showed it again when he came on yesterday. Why Roli was preferred to him I don't know. Roli in fairness to him is not an inside forward and never has been. All his good games for Kildare have been as a half-forward/auxiliary midfielder. I also didn't see what McLoughlin had done in the first two matches to deserve to be dropped. Ollie Lyons actually did quite well on Bernard Brogan until his injury but putting a lad on him that hasn't played a single second of championship football is asking for trouble.

Whatever about the changes to the starting fifteen, we got things completely arseways once the game started. I thought Foley on Diarmuid Connolly and McGrillen on Eoghan O'Gara was a mistake. McGrillen had an excellent match (bar one ball in the second half that he completely misjudged) but I think he'd have been suited more to Connolly who turned Mick too easily at times. Chalky hadn't the pace for Alan Brogan but he did seem to pick up a knock at some stage which contributed to the Dublin goal. Smith was very unfortunate to be taken off. Sure he was quiet but there wasn't good ball going in at that stage and he's so much more of a danger than some of the lads that were left on.

Johnny appeared to be operating on one leg for the entire second half and Kildare were always going to be in trouble then. He still battled on as you would expect but he wasn't half as influential as he usually is. I thought Kildare lost their shape completely at times in the second half. We ended up with a midfield of Kavanagh and Brophy with Johnny nearly as a centre-back. Meanwhile Hugh Lynch was at the edge of the square. Very much a case of square pegs in round holes. I can't understand why Kildare have moved so far away from what served them so well last year when Kavanagh and Smith were parked inside the opposition's 21 yard line. I felt sorry for Seán Hurley - anytime I've seen him for Kildare at underage level has been at midfield or half-forward yet yesterday he was brought into the full-forward line ahead of genuine inside forwards like Tomás Connor, Pádraig Fogarty and Fionn Dowling. Very unfair on the lad.

In many ways though that match could be just what the doctor ordered if we learn from our mistakes. Of the Kildare forwards that started, only Leper and Eoghan O'Flaherty really took the fight to Dublin and Johnny was clearly struggling. Maybe the disappointment of yesterday will be the kick up the arse that some of the other lads require.

I'll only make one comment on some of the frees awarded to Dublin yesterday - I wish our lads were as cute at drawing tackles and then winning frees.

Quote from: Orangemac on June 26, 2011, 11:50:47 PM
Decision at the end was a shocker but referees are going to make mistakes during games for things they don't see etc. What is becoming a problem is overfussiness, stopping free flowing play and taking the physical element out of the game.

Box tickers get the big games because they are rewarded for following the letter of the lawrather than having any cop on.

Kildare can not just blame the referee though, he did not hand Dublin their goal on a plate. Kildare just don't have the forwards to beat the top teams.

I don't fully agree with that. It was hard to assess players from either side fully yesterday and the simple facts are that Kildare were not allowed to even go near a Dublin player, much less tackle them. At one stage a Dub back fell on top of Cluxton who was holding the ball on the ground and he gave a free out before any contact whatsoever was made. O'Gara got sent off on the basis that he received a first yellow card. If all the other refs are to give yellow cards for the same reason as O'Gara got his first one for then they can plug out the phones and lock the doors in Croke Park 'cause nobody will be going there.  Spillane said there was more contact in Strictly Come Dancing because the ref would not let them play.  Also, Kildare won most of the kickouts from Cluxton but then kicked about four points into his arms, or kicked them short from which Cluxton started an immediate counter attack.  McGeeney will have to fix that but sadly for him his next match is against Laois who are 'throwing' all their championship hurling matches to concentrate on football.