Are the upper echelons of Irish Society Royalists at Heart?

Started by highorlow, May 20, 2011, 11:07:46 AM

Quote from: Ulick on May 20, 2011, 05:39:37 PM
Drivetime and The Last Word are absolutely sickening this evening. Have these people no sense of dignity fawning over thon oul one as if she is the second coming or something. And as for those Cork ones proclaiming they were always the "most Royal and the most loyal of all the dominions" have they no f**king shame? A little tickle on the belly from the English and they morph into the fecking Irish RM.

Who the Jaysus said that? I'm glad she came, glad she had a nice little visit, but now she's gone, and it's time for the morons who drooled all over the poor woman to cop the f**k on.

Drivetime and The Last Word are absolutely sickening this evening. Have these people no sense of dignity fawning over thon oul one as if she is the second coming or something. And as for those Cork ones proclaiming they were always the "most Royal and the most loyal of all the dominions" have they no f**king shame? A little tickle on the belly from the English and they morph into the fecking Irish RM.

Stop whinging and do something about it. Ring them and tell them what you think.

p.s. let me know which show you are on before you ring......

Ulick

Unfortunately The Last Word doesn't take calls or texts from north of the border.

Quote from: Ulick on May 20, 2011, 06:07:42 PM
Unfortunately The Last Word doesn't take calls or texts from north of the border.

You can leave comments on their website or email them......

Mentalman

Quote from: muppet on May 20, 2011, 06:10:50 PM

And be treated as a reactionary, or ignored, or be accussed of sympathising with paramilitaries....
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

Quote from: Mentalman on May 20, 2011, 06:26:53 PM

And be treated as a reactionary, or ignored, or be accussed of sympathising with paramilitaries....

If you want, or you could go for balanced alternative view.

Mentalman

Quote from: muppet on May 20, 2011, 06:29:20 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on May 20, 2011, 06:26:53 PM

If you want, or you could go for balanced alternative view.

What you or I might think is a balanced alternative view would be treated as reactionary when there is such a cosy consensus in the media, I think at least. Hate to use a phrase from Nixon, but what appears to be the feelings of the silent majority have no place in the media royalty love-in.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

. And as for those Cork ones proclaiming they were always the "most Royal and the most loyal of all the dominions" have they no f**king shame?

Jasus Chr1st   !!!! Have they no bit of dignity or self respect left in them the stupid shower of c**ts. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Triple Connacht Champions

Quote from: Rossfan on May 20, 2011, 08:35:31 PM
. And as for those Cork ones proclaiming they were always the "most Royal and the most loyal of all the dominions" have they no f**king shame?

Jasus Chr1st   !!!! Have they no bit of dignity or self respect left in them the stupid shower of c**ts. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

In fairness it only takes a couple of pricks to get into a photo so it is hardly representative of the whole county, the last to fall during the civil war.

dillinger

the pictures of Black jeep speeding along empty streets certainly wasn't very impressive.

We all know why the streets were empty. Hopefully one day soon the threat from hoods and gangsters will be at last a thing of the past.
There is a bit of snobbery everywhere. You see it, or maybe not when some organisations or groups keep the Royal in their name-i. e. R.D.S.

Quote from: dillinger on May 20, 2011, 08:50:35 PM
  the pictures of Black jeep speeding along empty streets certainly wasn't very impressive.

We all know why the streets were empty. Hopefully one day soon the threat from hoods and gangsters will be at last a thing of the past.
There is a bit of snobbery everywhere. You see it, or maybe not when some organisations or groups keep the Royal in their name-i. e. R.D.S.

The Royal County?

When is Kevin Myarse's next column. That should be good :D

cicfada

anyone hear myarse on the radio saying that the proof of Ireland's new affection for Ireland would be people supporting England in soccer matches! Cooper was laughing at him saying that the Welsh and Scots want to shout for anyone but England as well but Myarse wouldn't listen to anything! What a tool Myarse is!

All this talk about the rights and wrongs of royalty. I think the Irish are pretty clear in their desire for power to be vested in the people and not a hereditary monarch, so in Ireland (or at least most of it) the people have adopted a republic as the system of choice. As for the British system, that's up to the British people to decide how they want to run things. It may baffle outsiders, but the fact is the British monarchy will remain in place for as long as it remains popular among the British people. Unless he's living in the UK where he pays taxes and votes, it's not the place of an Irishman to tell the Brits how to run their country. Look how pissed off we are at the Germans trying to strong-arm the republic into raising corporate tax rates. Sovereignty is something people tend to be a bit protective of.

Hurler on the Bitch

With hindsight, the fact is that the 26 counties were never 'as one' in their antipathy towards the English and the Royals. In 1922, a whole class of Castle Catholics - who had done very, very well out of English rule - were now asked to fall-in behind a crowd of former rebels who were now in government. That West Brit / Dublin 4 class would hold their loyalties and it became apparent again over the past four days. During the last monarch's visit to Dublin the place was festooned in bunting and red, white and blue and cheering masses. Just goes to show that - and this is a fact! - Ireland dearly loves a lord and lady.