Connacht SFC Q/Final London v Mayo 29.5.11 in Ruislip

Started by RedandGreenSniper, April 12, 2011, 01:37:06 PM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 29, 2011, 05:15:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 29, 2011, 05:12:01 PM
Crafty Mayo trying to lull us into a false sense of security.
Twas all part of the horans plan ::)

The main thing out of this is Roscommon and even Leitrim should believe Connacht title is anyones in Connacht.

2007 Sligo, 2008 Galway, 2009 Mayo, 2010 Roscommon, 2011 Leitrim?? i wouldn't rule it out.

I bet during that game John Prenty had a face on him like a bulldog chewing a wasp.

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 29, 2011, 05:29:46 PM
I bet during that game John Prenty had a face on him like a bulldog chewing a wasp.
If Mayo had lost it would of cost the Connacht Council 1 million euro, that free with 3 mins left to put london 3 up cost them the game but i think it ridiculous to say london deserved it, mayos wides kept london in it imo.

Turlough O Carolan

Certainly had Collins nailed that last free and put London 3 up, game was all but over. Collins was a sweet freetaker at underage, too. I'm sure Sligo lads will remember him from five or six years ago in the Hyde. I'd still expect a very different Mayo the next day.

The Mayo heads will be set on Galway now i can imagine 6/7 changes & they will be looking for a performance like the one they had v Galway in the league.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 29, 2011, 05:37:45 PM
If Mayo had lost it would of cost the Connacht Council 1 million euro, that free with 3 mins left to put london 3 up cost them the game but i think it ridiculous to say london deserved it, mayos wides kept london in it imo.

Mayo were never going to lose that game.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 29, 2011, 05:59:33 PM

I thought at one stage they would. I await the lads who were over there for the match summary. We're banjaxed as a footballing county and Galway will hammer us next time out I'm afraid. :(

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 29, 2011, 06:06:44 PM

I thought at one stage they would. I await the lads who were over there for the match summary. We're banjaxed as a footballing county and Galway will hammer us next time out I'm afraid. :(

It was shambolic, but let's not go overboard. No need to write the obituary for Mayo football.
If we produce a performance like that against Galway in McHale Park, then we can despair!
If we put in a decent/good performance and beat the tribesmen, there won't be much talk about Ruislip.

Chimley

We got out of jail there. It can only get better from that performance because Galway would beat us out the gate otherwise.

Positives:
Our first championship win in two years.
Remember the DUBs display last year against Wexford. It doesn't matter how you win these games.
Horan will have learned a lot today if he is the man to take us forward.

Negatives:
We have no reliable freetaker in the squad. 7 different freetakers today by my count.
The extra defender does not suit our game or playing style.
Still leaking soft goals.

Less of the poor mouth now. Our best player probably isn't going to be fit and Padraig Joyce has greyer hair than my old lad. I'm sure Mayo will be much improved next day out.

I've seen Mayo teams play great down the years and still lose. Today's bottom line is they got away with it, and live to fight another day.

They might turn it around against Galway but it's a big ask on what we've seen today. It's not Padraic Joyce's grey hairs that worry me. It's that finely tuned football brain under the grey hairs that bothers me.

Galway are in deep doo-doo when Joyce hangs them up but while he's still around they start as hot favourites in Castlebar. No two ways about it. Galway have Joyce, a man who's delivered time and time again, to say nothing of the talent of two Under 21 All-Ireland winning teams. Mayo have a puncher's chance. Mayo might get on a roll after this, but Galway are favourites in Castlebar.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 29, 2011, 06:16:35 PM

Less of the poor mouth now. Our best player probably isn't going to be fit and Padraig Joyce has greyer hair than my old lad. I'm sure Mayo will be much improved next day out.

And not forgetting Galway themselves were lucky to beat New York last year.

Quote from: ross4life on May 29, 2011, 06:28:41 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 29, 2011, 06:16:35 PM

And not forgetting Galway themselves were lucky to beat New York last year.

Yes and we were grand once we survived that scare.

No offence Mayo lads but if ye cannot beat 12 bales out of London (as most Div 4 sides did in The League) them ye'll have another short summer.