Facebook - a penny for your thoughts.......

Started by J OGorman, January 18, 2011, 01:27:58 PM

Another status update that I can't stand is the constant 'I gambled so much today, look at me I have a problem' or the 'I'm on the drink four days in a row, look at how much of a mess I am' shite.

One particular 'friend' (long since hidden) has a habit of posting long-winding posts in a pathetic attempt to appear insightful, educated and sometimes controversal; when really it just makes him look like a mong. It's like he sees it as a competition to get as many likes or comments. Total gimp.

With people like the above I get so tempted to delete but facebook still remains an extremely useful communication tool, just about outweighing all the pukey shite that gets posted. Also good for looking at blade's holiday pics.

Quote from: ONeill on January 04, 2012, 09:25:31 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 04, 2012, 09:22:21 PM
Well I mean if most of the posts are from women - it's the most simplest explanation - right?

I will hazard a guess that you can't ignore it because you know deep down that this isn't people being "who they want to be". Much of it is false* - a projection of what people actually want to be, or be seen as - rather than people being who they actually are.

* the stereotypes and posts listed in the earlier reply, that is.

Spot on with everything there. It doesn't keep me awake at night but it was just a phenomenon I couldn't completely work out.

Each to their own I suppose.

Do those who see the facade not have a duty to expose the bullshit (subtley) or else it becomes a complete farce?

Hate the whole thing myself..too much look at me...look at me to be healthy

Deactivate, deactivate, deactivate.

Make your last post your email address and mobile number and release Zuckerberg's shackles.

So this week I experienced first hand how women see facebook. A cousin of my wife posted some stupid stuff and I stepped in to add some balance. They really believe that facebook is about writing something or updating their status for everyone to acknowledge how wonderful they are. If you challenge it or comment in disagreement the world is over.
As a result this 30 year old married mother of 3 kids calls her mother to call my mother in law to call me to tell me to back off. Then she has her brother in law, sister and husband come on to chastise me.
Some craic.

We'll be back in Ireland in no time at this rate! LOL

Quote from: The Iceman on January 05, 2012, 01:15:01 AM
So this week I experienced first hand how women see facebook. A cousin of my wife posted some stupid stuff and I stepped in to add some balance. They really believe that facebook is about writing something or updating their status for everyone to acknowledge how wonderful they are. If you challenge it or comment in disagreement the world is over.
As a result this 30 year old married mother of 3 kids calls her mother to call my mother in law to call me to tell me to back off. Then she has her brother in law, sister and husband come on to chastise me.
Some craic.

We'll be back in Ireland in no time at this rate! LOL

Is it Sinead O'Connor?

Oh I love challenging people on bullshit posts. Makes them think twice about doing it again.

There was one mate who gave out about people parking in front of his house. I asked if the space was reserved for him or is it a public road. He insisted there was something wrong with it and I said I'd be leaving my motor outside his house the next time I'm out of town.

southdown

Quote from: trileacman on January 05, 2012, 12:27:36 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 04, 2012, 11:30:30 PM
Also good for looking at blade's holiday pics.

:D :D :D :D :D :D

There is a great scene in Peep show about this when Mark and one of the lads he works with admit that they perved on Dobbie's holiday pics - "Corfu 06."

I knocked it in the head over a year ago, the problem i have are those already mentioned, the "look at me" facet of it, it really seemed to bring out the the needy side in people. I have a very low threshold for people that i think are full of shit so Facebook and me were never going to last.

winghalfun

Deleted my account ages ago when a 'friend' posted a picture of what she was having for supper. (Wasn't even anything special - a peanut butter sandwich or something.)

Never went back after that although I did look at an account that was accidentally left open and things had not changed.

Decided then that the inane outweighed the sane.

Having said all that, it is a superb piece of kit for communicating events.

Found out in the last few days that an ex for over a year, had somehow found out my password and had being going into my account and having a good auld read of my messages. She then decided to boast about this last week on a night out, recalling a specific conversation I had with a friend about her recent break up and I found out through a 3rd and 4th party.

Moral of the story is : Women are mental.

Moral of the story is have a decent password that can't be "somehow found out", would be my take on it.

Women are mental? That was established a long time ago.

Quote from: ballinaman on January 05, 2012, 03:17:24 PM

Oh we really are.  My friend's boyfriend finished with her (they were living together) - we found his Skype account on their laptop that led to an email address she didn't know he had, and for which she could guess the password.  We then proceeded to find out he'd been living a double life for months, going off to visit this other one in London while telling my Belfast-based friend that he was going to work down in the south over the weekend. 

Moral of that story: is it any wonder some are mental if fellas behave like that. 

Anyway, I am friends with some of you on FB and am slightly paranoid...

No reason to be paranoid of me, I just post nonsense.

Hashtag

Quote from: Rois on January 05, 2012, 04:36:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 05, 2012, 03:17:24 PM

Oh we really are.  My friend's boyfriend finished with her (they were living together) - we found his Skype account on their laptop that led to an email address she didn't know he had, and for which she could guess the password.  We then proceeded to find out he'd been living a double life for months, going off to visit this other one in London while telling my Belfast-based friend that he was going to work down in the south over the weekend. 

Moral of that story: is it any wonder some are mental if fellas behave like that. 

Anyway, I am friends with some of you on FB and am slightly paranoid...

What was this other woman like? Rate her out of 10. Even better Rule 1.