Mickey Harte quizzed by PSNI after accusations of physical abuse at school?

Started by downandboogie, January 02, 2011, 06:58:52 PM

Quote from: under the bar on January 06, 2011, 11:49:09 PM
We got seven shades knocked out of us until 1986,  Strap, cane, slipper, ruler, hose pipe, anything - on the hands and the ar$e.

I left school in 1982 and we were getting battered up until then and I know it continued after that....I saw manys a lad getting punched in the face by teachers... :(

Redhand Santa

Quote from: dublinfella on January 07, 2011, 12:58:15 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on January 04, 2011, 08:52:38 PM
Mr Anti Gaa Dublinfella won't be impressed with you. It will be harder for him now to try and discredit a top gaa personality.

My arse. All I am saying is was if this was the Dungannon Swifts manager, the reaction would be very different on here.

I dont know who the Dungannon Swifts manager is and if there was a thread about him I probably would not bother to read it.

You on the other hand would no doubt be defending him against any abuse. You'd no doubt be saying it was only a story because he was a soccer man and typical gaa fan reaction bla bla.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 07:35:44 PM
The vast majority of my teachers will be getting pulled tomorrow. I'll have the courts wasting more money on things that happened 30 odd years ago. Money well spent i say
Make sure you use hand cream as you'll get blisters after a while.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 10:40:50 PM
Never used cream before, can you recommend it?
There are plenty on the market. Wouldn't be an expert in the application you are talking about. Don't leave out O'Neill and SS2.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2011, 10:31:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 07, 2011, 07:35:44 PM
The vast majority of my teachers will be getting pulled tomorrow. I'll have the courts wasting more money on things that happened 30 odd years ago. Money well spent i say
Make sure you use hand cream as you'll get blisters after a while.

And slow down BUT KEEP GOING at the crucial moment.

what matters here is not that the allegations are true or not but wheter its true there are allegations?.
If there are and they are in the public doman its nonesense to think they would not be discussed .

Quote from: rosnarun on January 08, 2011, 02:51:56 AM
what matters here is not that the allegations are true or not but wheter its true there are allegations?.
If there are and they are in the public doman its nonesense to think they would not be discussed .

Yes, you're right thats what really matters here! Who cares if these allegations are true and a mans reputation is ruined, as long as we, who know feck all about it, can discuss it!

In any such case context is anything.  The majority of people on board here over the age of 34-35 would have had a trimming at some stage by teachers wither at primary or secondary school.  It wasn't right but it wasn't against the law either at the time and would have to be viewed in that context.  if a beating went over the top then there may be a case but you are into subjective opinions on what is "OTT" and also you need corroborrating evidence, either medical or reliable eye witness accounts.  It won't come out in my view in these cases.  I read the article and it is gutter SW crap and is typical of what they write.  If it succeeds then I am away to the peelers then as I have a case against at least 3 teachers for the wallopings I got!

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 07, 2011, 01:57:35 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 07, 2011, 01:22:09 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 07, 2011, 12:58:15 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on January 04, 2011, 08:52:38 PM
Mr Anti Gaa Dublinfella won't be impressed with you. It will be harder for him now to try and discredit a top gaa personality.

My arse. All I am saying is was if this was the Dungannon Swifts manager, the reaction would be very different on here.

Dublinfella is right in everything he has said. Very few on here can come on and state with surety the claims are a load of shite, no matter the character of the accuser. Most of those who are saying this are blinded by their opinions on the alleged perpetrator, which is very similar to the rape case in Kerry where locals let their personal judgements rule over the facts, and which had just about everyone on here up in arms. Btw, because no doubt someone will try to misinterpret, I know the perpetrator was found guilty in Kerry and Harte hasn't a case to answer (yet, and at all I hope), I'm just making the point that the emotions and logic are the same.

Personally, I doubt the accusations are true, and hope fervently they're not, for I've a lot of respect for Mickey Harte.

And very few can come on here and say the allegations are true - doesnt stop a thread being started about it though! A mans good name can be sullied by allegations and there needs to be a level of protection incase the stories are all lies - because unfortunately mud sticks and I for one will rely on my personal dealings with Mickey Harte as the yardstick to which story i believe.
Ffs would you dry your eyes!

the thing about bullying or beating kids at school is that they tend to remember it more than the actual teaching you did. i know one teacher in armagh who gave kids alot of abuse when he was in his prime, he cant even go to the shop now without someone calling him for all he's worth and he definately couldnt go to a match he'd be killed. strapping children wasnt ok in the pre 87 era it was assualt. i noticed also that country lads always got more than townies especially if their parents were the 'teacher knows best type'. the lads with fathers in the kesh always got the shit kicked out of them by the stoop teachers as invariably they all were horrible stoop bastards.
if harte did this i hope somebody gives him a good slap

NaomhBridAbĂș

what a load of shite - back in the day, teachers give kids a bit of a slap, if they needed it. There is no barometer for this in todays society - simply because its against the law to hit children. Whether thats right or not is irrelevant. We live in a f**king nanny state - it is what it is.

I hear gaelic football is some craic...discuss...
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye