LAB
SF
Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Ulick

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2011, 08:09:43 PM
Very anti-GAA as far as I understand.

I've had a few lunches with Wallace and inevitably a few heated discussions on GAA & soccer. I wouldn't say he is anti-GAA but he's extremely passionate about soccer. His view is that local soccer is ignored by the media and state bodies when it comes to grants and the like, especially for underage stuff. To be honest I have some sympathy for him as there is arguably a similar attitude to GAA north of the border. As for his attitude to GAA sports, he's just not all that interested - reckons there's far more skill, strategy and tactics involved in soccer.

Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2011, 07:32:26 PM
If the Greens hadn't gone into Government in 2007 they would probably have 10 seats now.

RTE say
So far, 24 constituencies have no Fianna Fáil TDs, including those in Waterford, Tipperary, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Meath and Kerry.

Nice to see Mick Wallace doing so well in Wexford.  And Ming as well .

It hardly matters. Biffo  went to Croke Park so many times yet it was his government which presided over the emigration of thousands of GAA players. Mick Wallace talks a lot of sense about local government and the role of the Dail. I think he and Ming are very exciting  politicians. 

I saw Olivia Mitchell on RTe saying Dubling South had elected 4 centre right TDs between 3 fg and one independent. Mayo had 5/5.
But Mayo wouldn't be centre right would it ? If Ros could elect Ming as one out of 3 why couldn't Mayo  have at least one left winger ?   

Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2011, 09:17:55 PM
I saw Olivia Mitchell on RTe saying Dubling South had elected 4 centre right TDs between 3 fg and one independent. Mayo had 5/5.
But Mayo wouldn't be centre right would it ? If Ros could elect Ming as one out of 3 why couldn't Mayo  have at least one left winger ?

Did Enda play on the Left Wing for Islandeady  :D

Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2011, 09:10:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 27, 2011, 07:32:26 PM
If the Greens hadn't gone into Government in 2007 they would probably have 10 seats now.

RTE say
So far, 24 constituencies have no Fianna Fáil TDs, including those in Waterford, Tipperary, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Meath and Kerry.

Nice to see Mick Wallace doing so well in Wexford.  And Ming as well .

It hardly matters. Biffo  went to Croke Park so many times yet it was his government which presided over the emigration of thousands of GAA players. Mick Wallace talks a lot of sense about local government and the role of the Dail. I think he and Ming are very exciting  politicians.

Wallace isn't really my cup of tea, now Flanagan on the other hand impressed me the last time I heard him on the radio.

Ulick

Wallace could very easily end up like George Lee.

Quote from: muppet on February 27, 2011, 09:41:18 PM
Quote from: Ulick on February 27, 2011, 09:40:32 PM

Or Liam Carroll.

Sure didn't he already end up a bit like him.

Quote from: Ulick on February 27, 2011, 09:40:32 PM

I thought George Lee got ignored by the towering intellectuals in FG and left in a huff.

This was interesting

"Speaking just ahead of the first count result, Joe Higgins said the Fine Gael-Labour coalition would be as hated in three years time as the outgoing Government, as they would continue largely the same policies as Fianna Fáil and the Green Party.

I think FG will make a shite of it as well.  The cuts haven't really even started yet. 

Red flag flying proudly over Blackrock tonight as we welcome Richard Boyd Barrett TD. I think I'll piss him off first thing tomorrow morning and contact him looking for a medical card for my arthritic aunt!

Well done Sinn Fein anyway.

The future's some colour.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2011, 10:34:30 PM
Red flag flying proudly over Blackrock tonight as we welcome Richard Boyd Barrett TD. I think I'll piss him off first thing tomorrow morning and contact him looking for a medical card for my arthritic aunt!

If he doesn't sort ya out, demand he give you the some money from the money they say they donate to people and organisations they support.

I  hope the Gardai are watching RTE coverage now. Its showing Duffy from Mayo News being interviewed on Market Square in Castlebar and two taxies turned right towards Dunnes coming from the Newport Road direction, bloody taxi drivers went up a one way road.

I could see it all the way over in Britain  >:(

Leo

Quote from: Ulick on February 27, 2011, 08:53:16 PM

I've had a few lunches with Wallace and inevitably a few heated discussions on GAA & soccer. I wouldn't say he is anti-GAA but he's extremely passionate about soccer. His view is that local soccer is ignored by the media and state bodies when it comes to grants and the like, especially for underage stuff. To be honest I have some sympathy for him as there is arguably a similar attitude to GAA north of the border. As for his attitude to GAA sports, he's just not all that interested - reckons there's far more skill, strategy and tactics involved in soccer.

There are plenty of similarly minded people all over Ireland whose passion is soccer and fair play to them. Unfortunatlely some of them have two major blind spots - (1) that the work they do is predicated on the professional ethos which dilutes the concept of genuine community involvement and (2) regardless of the merits of their own sport, they can't help their antipathy to the GAA. Don't know anything about Wallace, but he looks like he colud be an intimidating fiull back in Roscommon junior league!
Fierce tame altogether