FF
FG
LAB
SF
Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Poc me

Has anyone noticed that the opinion of the debate on this site and the opinion on the panel after the debate on RTE are compeltely different other than the fact that Kenny didn't do too badly? The RTE panel completely castigated Adams and heralded Martin as doing a great job. Is that to be expected of RTE? They also had Kenny as being very impressive and slick..,lets be honest he was impressive for Enda Kenny but as a leader he has as much charisma as a brown wall. He's so feckin wooden.

For the record I think Adams did pretty well (he has improved dramatically since 2007 and his interview earlier this year and at least when he was asked about VAT rates etc. in that interview he admitted he didn't know and has dome some work since then. He really still should've known) and John Gormley performed ok considering he has given up the ghost already.

Martin has a cheek to attack anyone in these debates. He really should let the others have turns with the cat of nine tails on him after 14 years of Fianna Fail failure. He really has a brass neck accusing anyone of anything. I see he's now engage in dirty trick tactics against Sinn Féin in todays press interviews. How low can you sink??? Even the DUP have relented on the issue. Sign of a man in complete desperation.

Gilmore to me is a man who really does appear competent but is not a party leader. He is much too nice in debates and lacks aggression to go after the other parties but ability wise he strikes me as the most able.

BTW Fair play to AZ Offaly, some great work there!

what was martin saying today poc? dont tell me hes at the sinn fein/ira shite that would be truely grasping for straws and could only help sinn fein

An Gaeilgoir

Apart from Obama, is there another leader on the planet who has the same charisma? Certainly not in Europe anyway,
Merkle- no nonsense alright, but not known for Charisma
Berlousconi - Charisma -not sure that is the word for it- Horny perhaps
Sarkozy- french- pomp- not much charisma, fine missus.
Cameron- Eton school boy- enough said

i don't think charisma is needed, all the mandarins behind the scenes do all the work, the prime minister walks in signs the document and heads off.
We have had the charisma "Bertie" and the brains "Cowen". I say give Enda a chance, he has a very good team behind him, more so than any other party and to be honest, Enda  lets them do their job. That is one of the traits that makes a good leader - been able to trust your team. Still not voting for FG for the record.

Poc me

Aye he is wanting Gerry to come clean about his 'past'. Typical gutter politics. At the end of the day what does it mattter? He's never gonna change his stance on it now.

Gaeilgoir, I agree with you there that charisma is not the most important thing and quite often papers over cracks in ability. With that in mind if you want to go for a capable leader that lacks charisma pick Gilmore not Kenny.

I don't really think that its Kenny allowing his team to get on with it because he trusts them i think its more that his team do all the work because they don't trust him!! haha

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 15, 2011, 01:31:03 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on February 15, 2011, 10:01:21 AM
very little substance in what went on last night which was a shame for the people watching

I think if Gerry had his numbers right he would have been much more credible, as for the rest as possible Taoiseach's, its rather depressing, hardly any Obama-like figures amongst them.

Leaders they are not imo

What good has Obama done with his great speaking abilities????

VERY LITTLE. I never said he done anything but at least he had America in a tizz for a few months  :P

Quote from: Poc me on February 15, 2011, 01:56:02 PM
Aye he is wanting Gerry to come clean about his 'past'. Typical gutter politics. At the end of the day what does it mattter? He's never gonna change his stance on it now.

Gaeilgoir, I agree with you there that charisma is not the most important thing and quite often papers over cracks in ability. With that in mind if you want to go for a capable leader that lacks charisma pick Gilmore not Kenny.

I don't really think that its Kenny allowing his team to get on with it because he trusts them i think its more that his team do all the work because they don't trust him!! haha

So how is Gilmore a capable leader compared to Kenny?
Which one has built a strong leadership team around him? Kenny
Which one has a party that has strong detailed policies? Kenny
Which one has built a party up from near extinction? Kenny
Which one has run a far more effective campaign? Kenny

Apart from shouting, making soundbites what has Gilmore actually done??

Quote from: sammymaguire on February 15, 2011, 02:01:13 PM
very little substance in what went on last night which was a shame for the people watching

I think if Gerry had his numbers right he would have been much more credible, as for the rest as possible Taoiseach's, its rather depressing, hardly any Obama-like figures amongst them.

Leaders they are not imo

VERY LITTLE. I never said he done anything but at least he had America in a tizz for a few months  :P

Well sorry but I'd sooner have someone who didn't give a toss about tizz but actually got something done

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: Poc me on February 15, 2011, 01:56:02 PM

We will have to ask Bruton about that one!

Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on February 15, 2011, 01:51:32 PM
Apart from Obama, is there another leader on the planet who has the same charisma? Certainly not in Europe anyway,

i don't think charisma is needed, all the mandarins behind the scenes do all the work, the prime minister walks in signs the document and heads off.
We have had the charisma "Bertie" and the brains "Cowen". I say give Enda a chance, he has a very good team behind him, more so than any other party and to be honest, Enda  lets them do their job. That is one of the traits that makes a good leader - been able to trust your team. Still not voting for FG for the record.

i've no doubt that enda kenny is a nice bloke. but to say charisma is not a reguirement is naive, what had michael collins to offer other than charisma and the offer of a firing squad or a tyburn collar. people are voting fine gael because they have no choice they are not AS bad as fianna fail. fine gael will not reverse one single fianna fail policy and will infact add to working class misery. turkeys voting for christmas springs to mind.

ps did anyone see 'lord' hillary son of ex president hillary canvassing for fianna fail on the news and then  interviewed infront of his antique bookcase ::) i'd love that maggot to knock on my door i'd kick a new hole in his arse >:(

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 15, 2011, 02:06:36 PM

Leaders they are not imo

Well sorry but I'd sooner have someone who didn't give a toss about tizz but actually got something done

Can you honestly say any of those 5 LEADERS impressed you last night in any shape or form?

Quote from: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 02:08:14 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on February 15, 2011, 01:51:32 PM

i've no doubt that enda kenny is a nice bloke. but to say charisma is not a reguirement is naive, what had michael collins to offer other than charisma and the offer of a firing squad or a tyburn collar. people are voting fine gael because they have no choice they are not AS bad as fianna fail. fine gael will not reverse one single fine gael policy and will infact add to working class misery. turkeys voting for christmas springs to mind.

ps did anyone see 'lord' hillary son of ex president hillary canvassing for fianna fail on the news and then  interviewed infront of his antique bookcase ::) i'd love that maggot to knock on my door i'd kick a new hole in his arse >:(

How will they add to working class misery?? Any chance you could back something up with facts?

Radda bout yeee

There has to be a better way than the one that has been devised by politicians both north and south and across the water have came up with of getting out of the economic situation. It really does seem like its the poor and working class getting punished for fat cats mistakes!!!!

Poc me

Dubs for Sam, lets be honest Enda Kenny making Fine Gael the biggest party in this election race is hardly a challenge. IN the History of the state, FG (albeit in different guises) have always been the largest and obvious alternative to FF. When one is doing poorly the other tends to do pretty well. Its just the same in Britain with Labour and Tory. FG's policies will alsways be typical conservative policies and will change only slightly depending on the Leader.

As for Gilmore, isn't everyone simply shouting and making soundbytes in the election race?? We will have to see when they get elected as Taoiseach (which is pretty inevitable in Kenny's case) as to whether or not that have 'strong detailed policies' and a 'strong leadership team'.

The thing about Kenny is that even though FF have made a complete shag of the past 4 years his party aren't higher up in the polls than they are!!! People still won't vote for him. Maybe thats a CIvil War thing but you just have to say that most people simply do not see him as capable.

Quote from: sammymaguire on February 15, 2011, 02:16:02 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 15, 2011, 02:06:36 PM

Leaders they are not imo

Can you honestly say any of those 5 LEADERS impressed you last night in any shape or form?
Didn't watch it and wouldn't watch it.....think they are a stupid concept and should have no bearing in any shape or form on voting intentions.

I look at the following facts -
1 - FG have been preaching for value for money, anti-benchmarking etc for years as well as constantly highlighting running a country on a building boom was never going to last.
2 - In Noonan, Bruton, O'Reilly, Shatter etc they have far better talent than any other party has
3 - They have detailed policies in terms of health, job creation etc that other parties don't have.
4 - They have a leader who knows his limits and leaves it to the experts in their area.

its accepting the best of a bad bunch then?

Noonan and Bruton are two coffin-dodging, sour looking cnuts that talk shite and are hardly off the telly, never mind that Leo Varadkar...

I am not a FG basher here but jeez, I just dont see the attraction with any of these politicians, Labour or the waste of time Greens either