That's way out of line
35 (62.5%)

Total Members Voted: 56

Banana Man

jeysus wept, either my eyesight has gone or she has lost a lot of weight

a shallow hal moment

Quote from: Hound on November 02, 2010, 03:42:33 PM
I know that's your firmly held opinion and of course your well entitled to it. But I completely disagree. There would be absolutely nothing "wrong" with it.

It would be absolutely fair. In fact the only people who could argue it is unfair would be those who pay a mountain of tax, and then pay a big health insurance policy on  top of that to get their healthcare.

The co located hospitals would ensure that those who choose to pay for private health insurance get treated in private hospitals, which would mean that those who don't pay the insurance get treated in public hospitals without the delay and suffering that goes on now and thus everyone gets improved healthcare. Its absolute common sense - which most of the best ideas are.

I find it absolutely amazing how so many people are anti-it (apart from obviously those on the far left would obviously be against it), and it can only be people don't think it through

And you too are entitled to your opinion. I don't think we can agree on this.

The fact that those who pay a mountain of tax and then pay health insurance is no different than those who pay any tax, it's still double taxation. If the problem is in the taxation system then that's a separate problem unrelated to public/private health care. I can equally argue that there are many top earners paying little or no tax who can afford to avail of private health care but then again that is a tax issue relating to all aspects of public spending.

The co located hospitals do not define those who choose to pay and those who choose not to pay. It defines those able to pay and those unable to pay. This does not mean everyone gets the same health care. If they all got the same health care then there would be no debate. Why would anyone pay health insurance if they can get the same health care through the public system?

In order to create a demand for private health care you must hold back the public system. This has been ongoing. Now that the economy has crashed and we have mass unemployment less and less people are renewing their health insurance and there are fewer first time buyers of health insurance. These people are now reliant on a public system that has been held back to create the demand for the private sector putting an increased burden on the public sector. If health had have remained public no projections would have been made on the amount of people taking up private health insurance and the public system could have been built solely on the need of the population. The demand for a public systems increases by the day and the public system is under more pressure every day while the private system is losing clients by the day. The system has failed.

I am anti-it and I am not far left (although i'm used to being slurred with that at this stage). Not only have I thought it through but I am living it.

Cant believe 60% of yee voted out of line, this country is a fcking joke.

The quicker time that social unrest starts and people protest in huge nrs the better. But problem we dont give a fck unless it affects us, who gives a fck if the neighbour is being shafted by our health system, who gives a fck the neighbours hse is being repossessod while fitzpatrick lives off his wifes 3 million.

Reading the clowns on here saying throwing paint on you is assault, one of my friends got a pint thrown in his face in front of cops and they did nothing.

Oh and another thing the HSE as such shower of fcking idiots that they nearly killed my Dad, thankfully he survived but no thanks to lazyiness shower of c***ts, im lucky, but imagine someone close to you has cancer or has to wait months on end for diagnosis and gets the piss taken out of them by the system, imagine the anger, im sure this woman had her reasons that drove her to this. But sure again 60% of yee dont give a fiddlers. Ya sure let harney keep fcking up and let more people die or suffer unecessarliy.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 03, 2010, 12:30:13 AM

The quicker time that social unrest starts and people protest in huge nrs the better.

Bollix

Second worst thing that could happen to this country after having a Government with Fianna Fail.

Civil Unrest is for wackos in Greece and France, the muppets.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2010, 12:35:59 AM

The quicker time that social unrest starts and people protest in huge nrs the better.

Bollix

Second worst thing that could happen to this country after having a Government with Fianna Fail.

At least there polititions are held accountable, all ours have done is done there best to save themselves and the rich. What should be done to force accountability, and responsibility, 2 things missing from this recession..? All i see is corruption and self serving poltitions trying to minimise the damage to themselves.

What is Minihan's record ? What has she done, as a councillor, for her constituents ? How has she voted on issues that affect her community?

Cant believe 60% of yee voted out of line, this country is a fcking joke.

I don't know where you've been this last 2 years as that's better than than I imagined.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 03, 2010, 12:35:59 AM
Bollix

We are the ones who sit back and take it everytime FF want to screw us. We are like the battered wife. Greece and France have the right attitude and now the world knows they won't sit quietly in the corner and do what their masters tell them. Ireland is a laughing stock.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 03, 2010, 12:34:42 AM
im sure this woman had her reasons that drove her to this. But sure again 60% of yee dont give a fiddlers.
Yes, publicity. And there's a big difference between thinking this was the wrong approach and not giving a fiddlers.

Quote from: Maguire01 on November 03, 2010, 08:03:10 AM
im sure this woman had her reasons that drove her to this. But sure again 60% of yee dont give a fiddlers.
Yes, publicity. And there's a big difference between thinking this was the wrong approach and not giving a fiddlers.

Harney was there for the publicity herself. She got more than she bargained for ;)

Quote from: Zapatista on November 03, 2010, 08:06:07 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 03, 2010, 08:03:10 AM

Harney was there for the publicity herself. She got more than she bargained for ;)

Yes - she presides over a shambles of a department yet has a few hours spare to pop down to a building site with her entourage in her government Merc and organise the media to be there to photograph her lifting the 1st sod so that she can promote herself. Of course, she is not the only politician that does be at this cringworthy behaviour. I remember Brendan Smith refusing to allow the kids of a creche in Bawnboy cut the ribbon on the new creche and insisted, as local TD, that he do it. What I'd have done for a can of paint that day.

QuoteA stupid pointless protest devoid of real politics. When we have a mass movement of angry people on the streets demanding real change, then change will happen. Until then the Country will continue will continue to be governed by self  interest, corruption and greed, while Irish children are sacrificed on the altar of neo-liberal economics. While Children are being condemned to live in poverty, their health and education needs denied, the so called media of this Country will devote hours of air-time and reams of print condemning this paint attack, but will not even acknowledge that government policy in this child abuse

Agreed

Quote from: Zapatista on November 02, 2010, 11:21:01 PM
The co located hospitals do not define those who choose to pay and those who choose not to pay. It defines those able to pay and those unable to pay. This does not mean everyone gets the same health care. If they all got the same health care then there would be no debate. Why would anyone pay health insurance if they can get the same health care through the public system?

I never said everyone would get the same healthcare under Harney's plan. But everyone would get better healthcare.

There are 2 or 3 really crap public hospitals, but the vast majority are very good and staffed by excellent doctors and nurses. If they had no overcrowding problems they would give very good healthcare. Those who want to pay more for private hospitals would get more comfort and more privacy.

Quote from: Hound on November 03, 2010, 04:08:01 PM

I never said everyone would get the same healthcare under Harney's plan. But everyone would get better healthcare.

There are 2 or 3 really crap public hospitals, but the vast majority are very good and staffed by excellent doctors and nurses. If they had no overcrowding problems they would give very good healthcare. Those who want to pay more for private hospitals would get more comfort and more privacy.

Do you understand that the overcrowding is set to get worse due to this policy. Less and less people can afford private health care yet the drive towards providing private health care continues, while the drive towards providing public health care diminishes. The private system has grown beyond it's need while the public system is to be further cut by 600 million next month. How can this possibly provide improved health care and shorter waiting list for the public patient?

Those who want to pay is spin for those able to pay.

Quote from: Zapatista on November 03, 2010, 11:17:37 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 03, 2010, 04:08:01 PM

Do you understand that the overcrowding is set to get worse due to this policy. Less and less people can afford private health care yet the drive towards providing private health care continues, while the drive towards providing public health care diminishes. The private system has grown beyond it's need while the public system is to be further cut by 600 million next month. How can this possibly provide improved health care and shorter waiting list for the public patient?

Those who want to pay is spin for those able to pay.

Serioulsy Zapaista I usually am in agreement with you, but discussion about the health service and the actions of Mary Harney are a totally different thread to this. This is a thread about an asault, not the health service. I agree we should have this debate in a different thread where I probably will be in agreement with you.