FGs Michael Ring says Queen should get an apology on Dublin visit next year

Started by Minder, October 28, 2010, 08:12:38 PM

Quote from: stephenite on October 28, 2010, 11:40:18 PM
Which selected elements then?

Just re-reading my post it's possibly badly worded. By anti British agitation history I don't mean they were against those who agitated against the British but the opposite.

From Red Hugh O'Neill to Wolfe Tone and the 1798 Rebellion, from Daniel O'Connell to Parnell and all those in between and after - Irish people are proud of them, in the main. Most of it is based on the History curriculum in the Irish education system in fairness and not as a result of any in depth understading of the History itself

Those are selected elements. Each one of those came with little mentioned but powerfull Irish people who thwarted them in Britians favour. The Irish don't mention this history. Ireland has been decidedly more pro Britian than anti Britian throughout it's history including today.

It depresses me that this f**king chimp is actually taking part in what passes for the debate on our economic future.

The indepth of knowledge of our history by the general population notwithstanding, the original point still stands. Irish people perceive themselves and their history in a certain way and the comments from Fine Gael are completley at odds with this. The reaction to Brutons comments at the time made a lot of people very uncomfortable.

11,412 folk thought Ring was worth voting for in 2007.

http://electionsireland.org/result.cfm?election=2007&cons=172

The law of averages would say that a few Gaaboarders from the Mayo area voted fur Ring.

Own up!

My Dad was right, fcking telling me all those yrs that Fine Gael want british rule back.

He always tells me the story during the troubles that Fine Gael try to get some ruling passed through the Dail that the ruc and british come down south to arrest anyone they thought was IRA.

What a bunch of idiots, but worse evil vindicitve idiots.

Quote from: Orior on October 29, 2010, 12:55:56 AM

The law of averages would say that a few Gaaboarders from the Mayo area voted fur Ring.

Own up!

Most certainly wasn't me - out of the country at that time and didn't vote.

You can be sure Mayogodhelpus was one of them. :o

Own up!

Jaysus some crowd of candidates in that  :D

Own up!

I wouldn't waste the lead in a pencil giving Ring a mark....

FFS lads this is just Ring having a go at the way have run our economy and the misrule of our country, it is tongue in cheek ffs.

Fine Gael don't want the Brits back, trust me as die hard Fine Gaeler nothing would disgust me more than having them back.

I gave Micheal Ring my 4'th vote and will do the same again.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 29, 2010, 01:19:36 AM
My Dad was right, fcking telling me all those yrs that Fine Gael want british rule back.

He always tells me the story during the troubles that Fine Gael try to get some ruling passed through the Dail that the ruc and british come down south to arrest anyone they thought was IRA.

What a bunch of idiots, but worse evil vindicitve idiots.

Sligonian your dad is WRONG.

Quote from: stephenite on October 29, 2010, 01:29:19 AM

Own up!

YES I WAS AND I WILL AGAIN (Number 4 that was).

His comments where obviously tongue in cheek. The amount of Fianna Failures, Labours and even a Sinn Fein mate of mine have joked about bringing the Brits back, no one actually wants it but we are so frustrated by this horshite government it has slipped many a lip.

I want to vote the Fianna Fail traitors out at all costs.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 29, 2010, 02:44:47 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 29, 2010, 01:29:19 AM

Own up!

His comments where obviously tongue in cheek. The amount of Fianna Failures, Labours and even a Sinn Fein mate of mine have joked about bringing the Brits back, no one actually wants it but we are so frustrated by this horshite government it has slipped many a lip.

It may have passed a joke if he had stopped with handing back to the british, but going on to say that they wouldn't leave the country in as bad a state is absolutley idiotic even by his standards (which are pretty high on the idiotometer).

FG's very own Katie Price, Leo Varadkar, said the Bankers have done more harm to the economy than the IRA. Fair enough, I know Leo drops the IRA and the X Factor and other popular brands into his rants now and then but considering FGs stance on the IRA do you think that in Government they will be as srong in persuing these bankers as they have been the IRA in the past?

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 29, 2010, 02:43:12 AM
FFS lads this is just Ring having a go at the way have run our economy and the misrule of our country, it is tongue in cheek ffs.

Fine Gael don't want the Brits back, trust me as die hard Fine Gaeler nothing would disgust me more than having them back.

I gave Micheal Ring my 4'th vote and will do the same again.

Your opinion on what he said isn't worth Jack. If he said the exact opposite, that the Queen should apologise and flog Sandringham so she can personally offer reparations for 800 years of oppression of the Irish people by the Plantaganets and their descendants, you'd defend that too.

Quote from: Zapatista on October 29, 2010, 08:25:03 AM

FG's very own Katie Price, Leo Varadkar, said the Bankers have done more harm to the economy than the IRA. Fair enough, I know Leo drops the IRA and the X Factor and other popular brands into his rants now and then but considering FGs stance on the IRA do you think that in Government they will be as srong in persuing these bankers as they have been the IRA in the past?

Did he really say that - good god. The west brit is really coming out in them of late. Just reaffirms they are not an alternative to FF, just another shade of the same shite. Labour might be the best of the 3 large parties (and i'm not giving them a ringing endorsement by any means). FF need to be put out but not at the cost of putting their FG cousins there instead of them.