An Mhí v Cill Dara

Started by Donnellys Hollow, July 25, 2010, 06:49:24 PM

I'm working on a list of the contributions our respective counties have made to the wider world in terms of culture, politics, the arts, science etc.
All suggestions are welcome.
Has anyone from Kildare ever played James Bond?
I'll need to look into that one.

Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2010, 05:49:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2010, 04:26:35 PM

Is the first rule of punditry - I must not research and watch games?

Silke's an ********* so don't pay any heed to his nonsense.
Really? You know him then Rossfan?
Led his club and county to an AI title in the one year. Won quite a few county titles. Has never proclaimed himself to be a star footballer in his day. Has for years championed the plight of the Galway club footballer in the Galway advertiser. In the same paper he's never shied away from writing non pc articles on the Galway county board and the Kiernan era. Apart from that takes his day job as a teacher very seriously. Excellent father to 4 very young children. Loyal friend.

Yeah you're right he's a ********* alright. And fair play to you for bravely going out of your way from behind your keyboard to point this out on a widely read internet forum.  Hard man. Tough guy. The likes of you are the reason if we ever have dark days in Ross football in the future the Galway and Mayo lads will be coming out of the woodwork to ridicule us again. Let's hope it stays fine for ya.

He consistently astounds with his complete lack of understanding of the game for a man who played at the highest level.

He earns a tidy income passing off lazy analysis and bland cliches as punditry

Jaysus Ross Matt that is some rant, it's all about context I'm sure Rossfan is well able to defend himself but I took it as purely in terms of RS's punditry, we are just passing comment on his opinions.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 12:11:59 PM
Jaysus Ross Matt that is some rant, it's all about context I'm sure Rossfan is well able to defend himself but I took it as purely in terms of RS's punditry, we are just passing comment on his opinions.
His punditry is up there for all to assassinate Dinny. His character shouldnt be. This board is usually above that sort of cowardly name calling.

Stop hi-jacking the thread!
We'll do this category by category.
First up, heritage sites.
We have:
Brú na Bóinne
Bective Abbey
The Book of Kells
The Hill of Tara
Trim Castle

Beat that flourbags.

Quote from: ross matt on July 27, 2010, 12:44:49 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 27, 2010, 12:11:59 PM
His punditry is up there for all to assassinate Dinny. His character shouldnt be. This board is usually above that sort of cowardly name calling.
I must admit I read it in the same way as Dinny, i.e. he's an a******** of a pundit, not that he's an a******** of a person.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 27, 2010, 12:55:12 PM
Stop hi-jacking the thread!
We'll do this category by category.
First up, heritage sites.
We have:
Brú na Bóinne
Bective Abbey
The Book of Kells
The Hill of Tara
Trim Castle

Beat that flourbags.

St Brigids Cathedral and Round Tower
Moone High Cross
Ballymore Eustace High Crosses
Celbridge Abbey
Clane Abbey
Castledermot Round Tower
Dun Aillinne Hill-fort
Castletown House
Longstone Rath

Racecourses

The Curragh
Punchestown
Naas

Never heard of any of those places.
Round 1 goes to Meath.

Ding-ding!

Round 2: Famous names (historical or otherwise)
John Bruton - EU ambassador to the USA
Pierce Brosnan - World famous spy
Dylan Moran - World famous comedian
Tommy Tiernan - World famous comedian (we're gas altogether)
Francis Beaufort - World famous wind-guy (Invented the Beaufort scale)
Francis Ledwidge - World famous poet

Jinxy - Poor old Hector is noticeable by his absence!!!
Also what about the bould Duke of Wellington and that nice monument to him in Trim ;)

Marty Duffy is referee for Sunday

Quote from: Declan on July 27, 2010, 03:30:18 PM
Jinxy - Poor old Hector is noticeable by his absence!!!
Also what about the bould Duke of Wellington and that nice monument to him in Trim ;)

He sure is.

Arthur Guinness - master brewer (from Celbridge)

Ernst Shackleton - polar explorer (from Kilkea)

Ned Broy - Michael Collins' mole in Dublin Castle (from Rathangan)

John Devoy - prominent Fenian (from Kill)

Christy Moore - Ireland's greatest living musician as voted in 2007 (from Milltown)

Pat Eddery - one of the world's most decorated flat jockeys (from Newbridge)

Ruby Walsh - the best current National Hunt jockey (from Kill)

Trevor 'the Barnhall bruiser' Brennan - crowd control! (from Leixlip)

As an interested nuetral I reckon thats Round 2 to the lillies!!!

Ah DH, Trevor Brennan, you could have thrown in Ray D'arcy or Charlie McCreevey and they would have been preferable...