Plan for Mosque near Ground Zero

Started by Hedley Lamarr, May 18, 2010, 06:09:16 PM

QuoteThe only other meaning I can think of is Obama apparently attacking "freedom".
Of course it is ...would expect nothing less than a block wall of defense of the anointed one
right out of the gate from you.
QuoteBut ok, please enlighten us as to the meaning of the gif
Have absolutely no Idea whatsoever..but then I'm not the one jumping to conclusions or
defenses, nor I might add did I post it, why not ask Main street his take on it if it, might
help take the twist out of your thong? *shakes head*
QuoteOr will that go unanswered like the Darwin recantation
There are writings up the ying yang that blow holes in his theories
a Nobel piece ( yes, back when it actually meant something) amongst them and it's not solely about the deathbed recantation
from him..it's widely believed he doubted some of it for many years prior to his death
For example, in 1875 (he died in 1882 by the way) he wrote the following words to fellow scientist Robert Hooker:

You ask about my book, & all that I can say is that I am ready to commit suicide: I thought it was decently written, but find so much wants rewriting. . . . I begin to think that every one who publishes a book is a fool (quoted in Colp, 1977, p. 228).
But then ye boy's are so much smarter than I and read much better informed history books than I do..obviously  ::)
Quotethe reason why the Park51 mosque people should move their site to respect and show sensitivity people who are labelling them as terrorist sympathisers or supporters, without any apparent justification beyond the fact that they share the same broad religion.
I've explained my reasons... clearly not to your satisfaction of course but again that brings that wall you have built back in to play here;
With all that I have said on the subject I suppose I am afraid of this country turning into France;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aA0kkhTkZoI&feature=related
Or any of Europe for that matter;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovUwG34kuEc&NR=1
I could go on but ye get the idea......................keep the heads in the sand lads, it's worked out great to date!

Quote from: Main Street on September 11, 2010, 09:39:55 PM
Quote from: J70 on September 11, 2010, 06:14:03 PM
Quote from: new devil on September 11, 2010, 05:47:20 PM
Quote from: Main Street on September 10, 2010, 10:53:44 PM
I can't get enough of this one

??? Is that suppose to be funny?

What's with the Air Force One plane? Is this part of the "Imam Obama" or "Obama is a muslim" paranoia coming out of the more insane element of right wing at the moment.

That's way too complicated. Maybe you had forgotten that last year, AIR Force One was sent up in the air to fly around the Statute of Liberty in a photo op.
Apparently not enough people were informed about this.
Obama's director of the military office had to resign over the controversy that resulted.
"The low-flying aircraft scared some people on the ground and in buildings, fearing another 9/11 attack. An F-16 fighter jet, which took the photo, trailed Air Force One in the skies above New York and New Jersey, adding to the drama."

Yes, I remember well the mass hysteria when Air Force One flew around the harbour. If that's all this refers to, then yes, it is rather amusing! I'd obviously assumed some deeper, more sinister motive!

QuoteIf you make every effort to completely ignore and misinterpret every point, why shouldn't I?
Righty oh..so we're back to the eye for an eye logic...doesn't that make the world go blind or something ???
QuoteHere is a clue. The USA has occupied Afghanistan for 9 years and Iraq for 7. Do you not understand that the locals might be a bit more annoyed with the USA than say Iceland who haven't occupied them for any years?
Forgotten about the first trade center bombing?..check the date on that when ye have a minute  ::)
QuoteBut the Brits discovered that pulling troops out actually reduced acts of terrorism against them. I find it strange that they haven't taught their allies that might isn't always right
Right so I'll say it for the second time, by that logic, if we were to up stakes and leave tomorrow, we'd all be back to dancing in circles and making daisy chains
...is that it?

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 11, 2010, 09:43:47 PM
a Nobel piece ( yes, back when it actually meant something) amongst them and it's not solely about the deathbed recantation
from him..it's widely believed he doubted some of it for many years prior to his death
For example, in 1875 (he died in 1882 by the way) he wrote the following words to fellow scientist Robert Hooker:

You ask about my book, & all that I can say is that I am ready to commit suicide: I thought it was decently written, but find so much wants rewriting. . . . I begin to think that every one who publishes a book is a fool (quoted in Colp, 1977, p. 228).

There is clutching at straws and there is clutching at straws.

Tell me, if evolution is way off the mark then what's your twist on our origin?

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 11, 2010, 09:54:14 PM
QuoteIf you make every effort to completely ignore and misinterpret every point, why shouldn't I?
Righty oh..so we're back to the eye for an eye logic...doesn't that make the world go blind or something ???
Eye for an eye, you are the Israeli sympathiser here. Your view is simply that anyone with an opinion remotely different to your extreme view must be an extremist from the other side.
QuoteHere is a clue. The USA has occupied Afghanistan for 9 years and Iraq for 7. Do you not understand that the locals might be a bit more annoyed with the USA than say Iceland who haven't occupied them for any years?
Forgotten about the first trade center bombing?..check the date on that when ye have a minute  ::)
No I haven't. But history didn't start that day either did it? US foreign policy had already , and with spectacular foresight, supported such reliable allies as Osama Bin Laden and Saddam hussein before that. With friends like that..........
QuoteBut the Brits discovered that pulling troops out actually reduced acts of terrorism against them. I find it strange that they haven't taught their allies that might isn't always right
Right so I'll say it for the second time, by that logic, if we were to up stakes and leave tomorrow, we'd all be back to dancing in circles and making daisy chains
...is that it?
No of course not. Do you see anyone in Northern Ireland dancing in circles and making daisy chains? All I said was that terrorist attacks on Britain reduced. That is a fact which you ignore.

QuoteThere is clutching at straws and there is clutching at straws.
:D :D Me...? what the hell kind a retort was this Muppet, seriously hi!
I was brought to task by a smart ass reply from J and indirectly from Hardly
for a non answer on my post about Darwin, about it being his Death bed Recant
and I quoted a note he himself had written 7 yrs before his death to strengthen
that very point... but now I'm clutching at straws :D
Tell me, if evolution is way off the mark then what's your twist on our origin?
Absolutely none of your business similar to how it's none of my business to know your
twist on it!

QuoteThe only other meaning I can think of is Obama apparently attacking "freedom".
Of course it is ...would expect nothing less than a block wall of defense of the anointed one

Have you boys not been screaming about his "attacks on freedom" for 18 months now? Not an unreasonable interpretation of this gif, by any stretch of the imagination.

Have absolutely no Idea whatsoever..but then I'm not the one jumping to conclusions or
defenses, nor I might add did I post it, why not ask Main street his take on it if it, might

I asked you because you obviously thought my interpretation was idiotic. If you don't want to be addressed on an issue, then leave it the f**k alone.

But then ye boy's are so much smarter than I and read much better informed history books than I do..obviously  ::)

That's it? You must be f**king joking!!  :D

Here's the full quote (including the carefully selected omitted text included here in bold!):

"You ask about my book, & all that I can say is that I am ready to commit suicide: I thought it was decently written, but find so much wants rewriting, that it will not be ready to go to printers for two months, and then it will make a confoundedly big book. Murray will say that it is no use publishing in the middle of summer, so I do not know what will be the upshot; but I begin to think that every one who publishes a book is a fool"

Incidentally, Darwin was talking about his book, Insectivorous Plants, published in 1875, the year of his letter to Hooker. But regardless, I would think that the emotions Darwin expresses here are felt by just about anyone who writes a book or a thesis, or makes a film, or record music or just about any big project! They always feel like they need to be done over! They're certainly not the words of a man repudiating his ideas or theories!

Now, please tell us a bit more about this Nobel Peace Prize and the rest of these books (not too many scientific papers though, I would say?) that you say blow holes in his theories. And about their apparent complete lack of impact on the field of biology!

BTW, I would be interested in knowing what Colp was actually talking about in the chapter you pulled the quote from. But we can come back to that...

BTW as well, the deathbed recantation is a myth, but as I said before, even it wasn't, it is completely irrelevant.

Quotethe reason why the Park51 mosque people should move their site to respect and show sensitivity people who are labelling them as terrorist sympathisers or supporters, without any apparent justification beyond the fact that they share the same broad religion.
I've explained my reasons... clearly not to your satisfaction of course but again that brings that wall you have built back in to play here;
With all that I have said on the subject I suppose I am afraid of this country turning into France;
I could go on but ye get the idea......................keep the heads in the sand lads, it's worked out great to date!

Your explanations basically amount to islam being dangerous and the necessity of treating all muslims with suspicion, no matter what sect they belong to or any utter lack of a connection between them and terrorism. Its sectarian prejudice, end of story.

Quote from: J70 on September 11, 2010, 10:15:17 PM

Have you boys not been screaming about his "attacks on freedom" for 18 months now? Not an unreasonable interpretation of this gif, by any stretch of the imagination.

I asked you because you obviously thought my interpretation was idiotic. If you don't want to be addressed on an issue, then leave it the f**k alone.

That's it? You must be f**king joking!!  :D

Here's the full quote (including the carefully selected omitted text included here in bold!):

"You ask about my book, & all that I can say is that I am ready to commit suicide: I thought it was decently written, but find so much wants rewriting, that it will not be ready to go to printers for two months, and then it will make a confoundedly big book. Murray will say that it is no use publishing in the middle of summer, so I do not know what will be the upshot; but I begin to think that every one who publishes a book is a fool"

Incidentally, Darwin was talking about his book, Insectivorous Plants, published in 1875, the year of his letter to Hooker. But regardless, I would think that the emotions Darwin expresses here are felt by just about anyone who writes a book or a thesis, or makes a film, or record music or just about any big project! They always feel like they need to be done over! They're certainly not the words of a man repudiating his ideas or theories!

Now, please tell us a bit more about this Nobel Peace Prize and the rest of these books (not too many scientific papers though, I would say?) that you say blow holes in his theories. And about their apparent complete lack of impact on the field of biology!

BTW, I would be interested in knowing what Colp was actually talking about in the chapter you pulled the quote from. But we can come back to that...

BTW as well, the deathbed recantation is a myth, but as I said before, even it wasn't, it is completely irrelevant.

Your explanations basically amount to islam being dangerous and the necessity of treating all muslims with suspicion, no matter what sect they belong to or any utter lack of a connection between them and terrorism. Its sectarian prejudice, end of story.

Oh dear TO, busted wide open yet again. Putting up incomplete quotes - tut tut

QuoteOh dear TO, busted wide open yet again. Putting up incomplete quotes - tut tut
Really Myles....sorry to burst your wee balloon but This is where I got the quote, now of course J can argue it on merit but certainly not
on any intentional misquoting on my part..busted, tut tut....I don't think so ;D
http://www.icr.org/article/was-charles-darwin-psychotic-study-his-mental-heal/

And the article on the Nobel for Anti Darwinism;
http://www.icr.org/article/creative-evolution-anti-darwin-theory-won-nobel/

Sorry girls....need to get up a little earlier it would seem ;)

Taking quotes from icr.org and you think they would be a fair commentator. I hear there are some good quotes over on WWW.Darwinissatan.com too.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 08:35:18 AM
Taking quotes from icr.org and you think they would be a fair commentator. I hear there are some good quotes over on WWW.Darwinissatan.com too.
Now Now Myles just cause ye jumped in with the two wellies once again to get the quick boot in and subsequently got the trousers pulled
down around you ankles ...again  there's no need to rub salt into your wounds!

Why do ye think I didn't post the link to begin with...the predictability of ye ladies jumping all over it for being biased is almost as certain as the arrogance
and elitism of the establishment around here.
If it's not a crazy right wing Fox news link I'm quoting or drawing my views from it's something else  ::)... it's pretty clear the barrels empty when ye have to constantly resort to that shite.

And by the way, I still never did get my question answered as to how the Pied Piper, Hedley and yourself amongst others can quote article after article..
...... after article *yawn* from the most far far left columnists, commentators and reporters to support the Anti West agenda and that's OK  ??? not only that, seems quite welcomed! No bias there...right ::)

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 03:52:19 PM
Now Now Myles just cause ye jumped in with the two wellies once again to get the quick boot in and subsequently got the trousers pulled

Why do ye think I didn't post the link to begin with...the predictability of ye ladies jumping all over it for being biased is almost as certain as the arrogance
If it's not a crazy right wing Fox news link I'm quoting or drawing my views from it's something else  ::)... it's pretty clear the barrels empty when ye have to constantly resort to that shite.

And by the way, I still never did get my question answered as to how the Pied Piper, Hedley and yourself amongst others can quote article after article..
...... after article *yawn* from the most far far left columnists, commentators and reporters to support the Anti West agenda and that's OK  ??? not only that, seems quite welcomed! No bias there...right ::)

What question was this?

I quote from the mainstream media when I put something up here and I try and quote from an informed source - ie, someone who has some experience of the topic I am dealing with. You on the other hand scour the net looking for people as stupid as you are to quote and end up using quotes from a creationist site which intentionally doctored a quote to suit their own beliefs.

On September 09th on this thread you also intentionally twisted the words of the imam only for Deiseach to show you up for what you are when he posted a link to the interview in it entirety.

And then there is this beaut from the Flotila thread where in your warped attempt at expressing your "conflict" on the bombing by Israel of a UN school full of women and children (in reply to Seanie) you call the Palestinians "scum" and the Israeli don't bomb they "counter". Funny enough in that thread you did not reply to me when I pulled you up on it. So were all those women and children in the school scum?

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 02, 2010, 03:38:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 02, 2010, 09:39:23 AM
Shame on you myles - I'll have to explain it for you. You see because the shells landed outside the school compound its ok that they killed 40 odd people. Israel's military genius is so precise that the knew exactly where the shells would land and they surgically removed 40 odd terrorists who were standing around outside the school. You probably wouldn't understand how this was possible and it might look risky to have shells detonating so close to a school that people in the school compound get injured by the shrapnel but really this was a surgically targetted miliary exercise.   

Myles - there really is no point arguing with someone as deluded as our friend here but remember if this could happen to an Irish guy going over there, what hope is there for the millions who couldn't know any better.

You may be right seanie but i'm conflicted personally as to which is the more dispicable act; Palestinian scum using children and schools as shields from which to shell from or the Israeli's blindly countering
Just have him check his facts before making a fool out of himself next time

I put all the above here just in case anyone is in any doubt of what grade A gobshite you are. The founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 04:56:37 PM

What question was this?

I quote from the mainstream media when I put something up here and I try and quote from an informed source - ie, someone who has some experience of the topic I am dealing with. You on the other hand scour the net looking for people as stupid as you are to quote and end up using quotes from a creationist site which intentionally doctored a quote to suit their own beliefs.

On September 09th on this thread you also intentionally twisted the words of the imam only for Deiseach to show you up for what you are when he posted a link to the interview in it entirety.

And then there is this beaut from the Flotila thread where in your warped attempt at expressing your "conflict" on the bombing by Israel of a UN school full of women and children (in reply to Seanie) you call the Palestinians "scum" and the Israeli don't bomb they "counter". Funny enough in that thread you did not reply to me when I pulled you up on it. So were all those women and children in the school scum?

Shame on you myles - I'll have to explain it for you. You see because the shells landed outside the school compound its ok that they killed 40 odd people. Israel's military genius is so precise that the knew exactly where the shells would land and they surgically removed 40 odd terrorists who were standing around outside the school. You probably wouldn't understand how this was possible and it might look risky to have shells detonating so close to a school that people in the school compound get injured by the shrapnel but really this was a surgically targetted miliary exercise.   

Myles - there really is no point arguing with someone as deluded as our friend here but remember if this could happen to an Irish guy going over there, what hope is there for the millions who couldn't know any better.

You may be right seanie but i'm conflicted personally as to which is the more dispicable act; Palestinian scum using children and schools as shields from which to shell from or the Israeli's blindly countering

I put all the above here just in case anyone is in any doubt of what grade A gobshite you are. The founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.

You sir need to get a life...  :D For the second or third time is it, anyone who uses children or hospitals as human shields are scum of the highest order,
the word counter was used correctly as in they targeted where they were being fired at from... point being, I was high lighting the ridiculous claim put forth by ye charlatans that they did not intentionally target a school that they had just ushered women and children in to, :o spectacular sensationalism would be an enormous understatement here!!!
And for the record it makes no difference to me that it was the IDF..could just as well have been the UDR firing at the RAA should they have been using children as shields...but of course you're blinded to this ::)
QuoteThe founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.
Oh yea, that's another question that others including myself have asked here; what does being Irish entail, what is the code by which we must all think and where is it written... and yet another, who the Fcuk do ye think ye are and where do ye get off with your self righteous elitist view point?

Arthur_Friend

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 05:48:01 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 04:56:37 PM

What question was this?

You sir need to get a life...  :D For the second or third time is it, anyone who uses children or hospitals as human shields are scum of the highest order,
the word counter was used correctly as in they targeted where they were being fired at from... point being, I was high lighting the ridiculous claim put forth by ye charlatans that they did not intentionally target a school that they had just ushered women and children in to, :o spectacular sensationalism would be an enormous understatement here!!!
And for the record it makes no difference to me that it was the IDF..could just as well have been the UDR firing at the RAA should they have been using children as shields...but of course you're blinded to this ::)
QuoteThe founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.
Oh yea, that's another question that others including myself have asked here; what does being Irish entail, what is the code by which we must all think and where is it written... and yet another, who the Fcuk do ye think ye are and where do ye get off with your self righteous elitist view point?

The 'United Nations fact finding mission on the Gaza conflict' found no evidence that Palestinian armed groups used civilians as 'human shields'. Perhaps you have conducted an investigation of your own and found evidence to the contrary?

On the original topic of the thread, I find it highly amusing that America's latter day Know Nothings have paddy immigrants in their ranks.  :D

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 01:09:14 AM
QuoteOh dear TO, busted wide open yet again. Putting up incomplete quotes - tut tut
Really Myles....sorry to burst your wee balloon but This is where I got the quote, now of course J can argue it on merit but certainly not
on any intentional misquoting on my part..busted, tut tut....I don't think so ;D
http://www.icr.org/article/was-charles-darwin-psychotic-study-his-mental-heal/

And the article on the Nobel for Anti Darwinism;
http://www.icr.org/article/creative-evolution-anti-darwin-theory-won-nobel/

Sorry girls....need to get up a little earlier it would seem ;)

:D FFS Bergson wasn't even a scientist he was a philosopher, had to read a few extracts of his for politics modules.

He won a Nobel Prize alright.......... in Literature!!  You may as well go ask Seamus Heaney for his expert opinion on the origins of mankind.