Ard Mhacha v An Dún - Cluiche Ceannais Rionn 2 - Pairc an Chrócaigh 25/4/10

Started by TacadoirArdMhacha, April 11, 2010, 11:22:44 PM

Stronger looking Armagh line up than the one that took to the field in Newry, so we have no excuses there. Probably our championship team so Sunday will be interesting.

angermanagement

McCartan said during the week that Ambrose would be named in the team regardless if he's fit or not.

Will be an interesting game but the Down defence will come under more pressure in this game than they have all year and as we all know its the weakest department in the current Down team which hasn't really been tested all season.

On a side note how many of the current Down team would've made the starting line ups in 91/94 ? Coulter and maybe Clarke are probably the only two imo. 

Sandy Hill

Quote from: mackers on April 23, 2010, 12:30:41 PM
Stronger looking Armagh line up than the one that took to the field in Newry, so we have no excuses there. Probably our championship team so Sunday will be interesting.

Not much strength on the bench!
"Stercus accidit"

Jaysus, good point. nothing on the bench. Thought martin o'rourke was back in the panel?

Mourne Rover

Comparing teams from different eras is not exactly a scientific process, and Martin Clarke cannot be considered until he has actually played championship football. Aidan Farrell had a great summer in 1994, but Benny would be in front of him. Ambrose junior or Dan would probably have got the nod at midfield alongside big Gregory, with Conor Deegan switching to the half-back line in place of Eamon Burns, who had a brilliant final in 91 but was becoming injury prone in his latter years.

Quote from: Sandy Hill on April 23, 2010, 02:38:42 PM
Quote from: mackers on April 23, 2010, 12:30:41 PM

Not much strength on the bench!
Depends what you call strength there are a right few on it who can take a score.  I am surprised to see Clarkie starting

western exile

Quote from: angermanagement on April 23, 2010, 12:31:32 PM
McCartan said during the week that Ambrose would be named in the team regardless if he's fit or not.

Will be an interesting game but the Down defence will come under more pressure in this game than they have all year and as we all know its the weakest department in the current Down team which hasn't really been tested all season.

On a side note how many of the current Down team would've made the starting line ups in 91/94 ? Coulter and maybe Clarke are probably the only two imo.

The big danger with a question like that is that every player is perceived to be of a greater skill level  after they have played on a successful team, than before.
This weekend, James McCartan will take a Down team to Croke Park to contest a NFL D2 final in his first year in charge.  Almost 20 years ago to the day, Pete McGrath took a Down team to Croke Park to contest a NFL final in his first year in charge.  The players of that team were regarded in much the same way as the current players e.g. a few would have made the '68 team, but not many, etc.  That '90 team lost their NFL final to Meath (a div 2 team at the time), but they went on to win 2 All-Irelands in the next 4 years. Then their status was raised and they were perceived to be of a greater skill!
I cannot predict the future, but some of the current players are more skillful than most are giving them credit for!

Dubh driocht

22 quid.
Hard one to call.Ambrose has had no luck in Croke park bur if he's fit, we'll win.

Mourne Rover

Ambrose senior loved playing at Croke Park and had probably his finest hour for Down in the 1983 league final against Armagh there. We won 1-8 to 0-8, and Ambrose got I think 1-3 from play against Jim McKerr. Ambrose junior has only played there once, in the 08 qualifier loss to Wexford, and ended up in intensive care with a ruptured spleen. His return to form as captain this year has been fantastic, but the word is that he is highly unlikely to start on Sunday. He would be a huge loss, particulary as Armagh wil have Ronan Clarke and Charlie Vernon back to fitness, but we will still give it our best shot.

Quote from: DuffleKing on April 23, 2010, 04:48:13 PM

Jaysus, good point. nothing on the bench. Thought martin o'rourke was back in the panel?
Feck me lads that's our league panel, that's the players that have got us this far. MOR, Jaimie Clarke, etc. drafted in for championship panel AFAIK.

western exile

1 point win will be the result, all right.

Here is their scoring difference during the league

P       F      A       Diff     Points
Down       7   6-94   3-65     38        13
Armagh    7   6-94   5-60     37        10

Prediction:  Down 1-8   Armagh 0-10

I know it's "only the league" but the nerves are building up in me already.  I am really looking forward to it tomorrow, leaving at 10.30 with a Mayo man

Skiddybadoo

Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 24, 2010, 09:07:52 AM
I know it's "only the league" but the nerves are building up in me already.  I am really looking forward to it tomorrow, leaving at 10.30 with a Mayo man

"leaving at 10.30 with a Mayo man".  To start a new life together?