Down v Armagh - Newry - 20 March 2010

Started by Shortso79, February 28, 2010, 12:52:22 PM

Great photo of him on the Belfast Telegraph site. He's almost french kissing a Fermanagh player :D

Feckitt

Stop comparing McKeever to Bellew.  In all my years of watching Francie, I never once saw him strike a foul blow or a sneaky off the ball foul.  He never gave lip to his opponent or official.  He was a hard but fair footballer.  If the ball was there, then god help you, because Francie took no prisoners but there was none of this shite that McKeever gets up to.

It's true that you only miss the great players when they are gone, but Armagh should look to the traditions set down by McGeeney, McGrane, Francie, McEntee etc.  Strong, Hard football from real hard men.  Not this crap that we have gotten ourselves involved with at present from McKeever and Martin O'Rourke.

Mc Keever is no worse or better in this respect than the likes of Mc Menamin, Paul Galvin etc. Trash talk, intimidating an opponents etc. All part of his repertoire, its a sad reflection of his opponent if this tactic actually works. I wouldn't advocate that he changes.

By the way, I would doubt if Mickey Linden would agree that Francie was hard but fair all the time. At least Mc Keever is in your face about the way he sets his stall out.

Quote from: Feckitt on March 22, 2010, 03:37:11 PM
Stop comparing McKeever to Bellew.  In all my years of watching Francie, I never once saw him strike a foul blow or a sneaky off the ball foul.  He never gave lip to his opponent or official.  He was a hard but fair footballer.  If the ball was there, then god help you, because Francie took no prisoners but there was none of this shite that McKeever gets up to.

It's true that you only miss the great players when they are gone, but Armagh should look to the traditions set down by McGeeney, McGrane, Francie, McEntee etc.  Strong, Hard football from real hard men.  Not this crap that we have gotten ourselves involved with at present from McKeever and Martin O'Rourke.

Agree totally. Mc Keever shouldnt be included in the same sentence as Bellew. As a Tyrone man i initially wasnt that fond of Bellew but respect grew over the years. How Bellew conducted himself was a credit and Mc keever unfortunatley is not in the same league

Quote from: Bensars on March 22, 2010, 04:02:08 PM

Agree totally. Mc Keever shouldnt be included in the same sentence as Bellew. As a Tyrone man i initially wasnt that fond of Bellew but respect grew over the years. How Bellew conducted himself was a credit and Mc keever unfortunatley is not in the same league

I agree with that, McKeever has played some mighty games for Armagh, he has also cost us dear at times with his thuggery and for all his attributes I sometimes wonder if he is worth it at the county level.

Tony, what Francie to Linden was the direct result of a so called hospital ball being played between the two, Linden came off second best and if memory serves Francie wasnt even booked, there was no malice in the way Bellew played, he was just a tough, uncompromising player who played as if his life depended on it, never did I see Francie act the maggot like I have McKeever.

I love Mc Keever's aggression and ability to wind up opponents. I'd say there's not too many fancy playing against him, and he is an asset as far as Armagh is concerned.He's been on the end of a few meaty challenges himself in his time.

PS I know for a fact that Mickey Linden doesn't view Francie's challenge that, or any other purely accidental way  ;)

Feckitt

Correct and right, as I said earlier.  If the ball was there to be played then Francie would go through a brick wall to clear his lines, but you would NEVER see him take a cheap shot.  Armagh at their peak would give it and take it, and they didn't cry about it.
Mickey was a great player in his day, but when TG4 arrived to make a 30 minute programme to salute the deeds of a great footballer, and Mickey spent at least 5 minutes at the end of the programme crying about the Francie incident then he went down in my estimation. 

Feckitt

Tony, I always wondered about this.   How do you get the time for this constant blogging.  I have read through this thread and you have been on all day?

Quote from: Feckitt on March 22, 2010, 04:48:45 PM
Tony, I always wondered about this.   How do you get the time for this constant blogging.  I have read through this thread and you have been on all day?
Blagging you mean??

Quote from: T Fearon on March 22, 2010, 12:22:12 PM
Bullshit. When Mc Keever was being substituted, the Armagh fans in the main stand (including myself) rose in unison, and he simply acknowledged the applause with a wave, whats wrong with that? I saw Pat Jennings do it at Anfield once in front of the old kop. Sports star receives and acknowledges applause, big deal. Now if he'd been blowing kisses to the crowd etc light some other well known GAA egotists, of the not too distant past, then you could criticise him.

At least Clarke lasted longer against the Cullyhanna Pirannah, than Peter Canavan did back in 2005. Remember he was gone in 60 seconds! :D
Wonder were ye still laughing like we were a few weeks later when he took 60 seconds
to kick ye out of an AI semi final ;D
Gone in 60 seconds is right Tony! :D

absolutely spot on. An insult to Francie to be included in the same sentence as McKeever, there's simply no comparison.   

Mid Down Gael

Quote from: T Fearon on March 22, 2010, 04:35:24 PM
I love Mc Keever's aggression and ability to wind up opponents. I'd say there's not too many fancy playing against him, and he is an asset as far as Armagh is concerned.He's been on the end of a few meaty challenges himself in his time.

PS I know for a fact that Mickey Linden doesn't view Francie's challenge that, or any other purely accidental way  ;)

I think Marty C fancys playing against him. Considering the roasting he gave him in 20 minutes.

Quote from: lemallon on March 22, 2010, 10:29:23 AM
Quote from: tevez on March 22, 2010, 10:18:42 AM
Listen boys Saturday nite was a very valuable lesson for the future of Armagh. We have learned for definite who can cut it and who cant. McEvoy is doggy, could someone not go to Mckinney and get him back. Full back line are lethal just need more protection. Finn Mo and Paul Kernan are very limited need wing half backs who are flyin and good on the ball. Need to get Dyas back and playing, will make massive difference in terms of attacking from half back line. Toner is fine Austin nowhere near it. Vernon wasn't fi. Lavery was miss too will have a big championhip for Armagh this year. Feeney tries hard but no scoring treat not good enough. Malachy Mackin not good enough. Arron Kernan needs more chances at chf. Need Clarke back, and need Jamie Clarke in squad. He knows were goal are and has speed. Swift limited so is Mickey McNamee. What's wrong with Brian Mallon? Management were terrible on line. Only left one scoring forward on field when we were behind. Brutal!

Good post.  Only thing id disagree with is on Swift.  While not a fan in the past i was very impressed sat night.  It was only when the management made their crazy half time switches that he went out of the game.  Would Tony Fearon please stop posting.  He is embarrassing every genuine Armagh fan on this site.
I have said before he is an embarrassment to genuine supporters

Quote from: Feckitt on March 22, 2010, 04:40:46 PM
Correct and right, as I said earlier.  If the ball was there to be played then Francie would go through a brick wall to clear his lines, but you would NEVER see him take a cheap shot.  Armagh at their peak would give it and take it, and they didn't cry about it.
Mickey was a great player in his day, but when TG4 arrived to make a 30 minute programme to salute the deeds of a great footballer, and Mickey spent at least 5 minutes at the end of the programme crying about the Francie incident then he went down in my estimation.

Linden is  a legend, he graced many's the park all over the country and was as good a player as you will ever see, that said I was disappointed to see that he went after Bellew the way he did, it's not as if he didnt know what sort of player Francie was. Bellew was never a dirty player, that incident was the result of a brutal pass that went between two players and one of them ended up badly hurt, it's unfortunate but it happens.