Connacht U21 Championship 2010

Started by moysider, February 21, 2010, 09:12:56 PM

Tatler Jack

What was score in Galway v Sligo game

Blue and Navy

I think it was 0-13 to 0-14 after extra-time

Ros deserved it today. It was a sickener to concede that last point at the end, but with the way Mayo played all day, it was inevitable they would lose. Ros got stuck into them from the off.

Final is confirmed for Saturday April 3rd no time or venue yet but will be in Sligo

Sligo 0-13 Galway 0-12 AET

Just back from Tuam, its a great feeling beating Galway especially in Tuam but Ive got to be honest, it was a poor game alot of the time and a Galway side that are gone back miles, id be very worried for Galways future. Both Management had the wrong teams out by the looks of subs that came on. Sligo have an awful lot of work to do though. We were lucky at times but could of won it more comfortably aswell.

Ros are hot favs for the Final. Yes it has to be in Sligo. More than likely Markievicz Park.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 17, 2010, 08:32:51 PM

Ros are hot favs for the Final.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
To win just once as they say  and at last we did.
Years of U 21 heartbreak, near misses and wallopings from the rhubarbs were wiped out by one moment of Donie Shine legendary magic to bate the Rhubarbs with the second last kick of the game.
A very poor first half in which we were awful but a goal before h/t gave us a lead we scarcely deserved.
We increased the lead in the first minute of the second but lost our way a bit after O'Hara's sending off.
We conceded a goal within about 20 seconds of scoring our second a blow which would have finished a lesser team.
We showed great spirit to take it all in our stride( well maybe not stride ....) and in my opinion the introduction of Darren Mc Dermott brought a bit of life to our attack which had gone very blunt.
Overall we deserved our win ,just about but will need a massive improvement if we're to win in Markievicz.
Some of the other Ros lads might confirm this but I believe  we had 8 21year olds , 5 20 year olds and 3 19 year olds in action today . That includes our sub Darren Mc Dermott.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

There are serious problems alright in Galway underage football mainly bought about through years of neglect. Alan Mulholland more or less hinted at it earlier in the week when he said he's barely seen the players since they won the minor in 2007 and has had very little time with them even recently. I think they started with 9 or 10 All-Ireland winners today so really should not be losing games on home turf but the players are not developing like they should. He sounded like a very frustrated man and that was before the game. So much was spent on actually building a Galway football centre that they haven't bothered to spend anything on the grass roots to fill that centre. The youth structures have gone to shite in the county and when nobody tends the garden it quickly becomes overgrown with weeds. If our minors crash out early again this year it might finally force the county board the review the whole system.

I don't think Galway have won an U-21 match in 5 years now which is absolutely scandalous.

Dougal

id imagine ros will win this one.a very good team(although i havent seen the sligo team this year).hopefully the fact that cavan didnt lose to ros by much without a few key players means we can go far in ulster this year.
Fcuk you I won't do what ya tell me!!!

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 17, 2010, 08:57:16 PM
There are serious problems alright in Galway underage football mainly bought about through years of neglect. Alan Mulholland more or less hinted at it earlier in the week when he said he's barely seen the players since they won the minor in 2007 and has had very little time with them even recently. I think they started with 9 or 10 All-Ireland winners today so really should not be losing games on home turf but the players are not developing like they should. He sounded like a very frustrated man and that was before the game. So much was spent on actually building a Galway football centre that they haven't bothered to spend anything on the grass roots to fill that centre. The youth structures have gone to shite in the county and when nobody tends the garden it quickly becomes overgrown with weeds. If our minors crash out early again this year it might finally force the county board the review the whole system.
He can whinge all he wants though ye manager cost ye, how in the hell did Jonathan Ryan not start. When he came on for 20mins he nearly destroyed us singled handed. Michael Martin and Conroy both average enough. Cummins did look dangerous especially in the 1st half and then went out of it. That was it besides brief spells of domination at midfield.

Because of that I go into the final with feet firmly on the ground. With us aswell our management need to look at themselves, Clarke, Greene, Hynes and Brady all did brilliant when came on and 3 should start the next. Also daniel maye will be a cert too.

diehard

All I can say is well done to Ros and I hope ye go all the way.  Donal Shine's winning point was sheer class. He is a real star.

Congrats to both Roscommon & Sligo today.

Rossfan you better stay away from the Senior League & Championship if you want to stay in fine form.  ;) I can see a lot more Green & Red inflicted pain in your future.

Best of luck to whoever wins Connacht.

Best of luck to Roscommon. Showed greater hunger. We stole it last year so hard to begrudge them this one.

From a Mayo perspective this was a dreadful performance. It was obvious from the start that we had overvalued this bunch and the lacklustre performance against Leitrim was pretty much par for this team. Even if we advanced it would be very short term with a lesson like the one handed out by Down last year waiting for them.  The complete lack of a midfield did nt help. The half back line lacked authority as well. The lack of proper support runners, even when a man up, was perplexing. I d say if management had to go back again they d play both Nally and McLoughlin in hb line and build from there. FB line seemed solid enough. With AOS having to dig out a woeful midfield our attack lacked shape all day. Dreadful decision making does nt help either. Remember many of these lads lost an AI minor by fluting around with the ball. They have nt learned. With an extra man today they continually kicked the ball away near the end when they should have carried and kept the ball through the hands. And some of the ball given away with silly hand passing was inexcusable. The turn over for Shine s winning point was a juvenile error. Anyway at least we know some of these players can play at senior level and that s the main thing. But as a whole this team looked badly flawed today.

<choke ><choke > well done roscomm.... sorry cant finish it off
donal shine was the difference today he is a prestigious Kicker of the ball not only was the last point worthy of winning any game his free from about 55 metres against the wind was as good as youll see any where.
Hope he fucks off to oz now or something.
Despite the usual  youll hear from the Fatalistic  mayo boys the lads actually were not that bad today Just beaten by a better more clinical side . As with last years match Ros look to have more players ready for senior straight away , but then again remember last june...
most positive note for mayo was the performance of kevin keane. he look aggressive and assured and a real possible for the senior set up also Aisen Ose looks like hes continuing his rehabilitation

heineken_on_tap

Ros football really needed this result and fair play to all involved in the set-up. I was expecting to face Galway in the final but fair play to Sligo as well. Sure it will be a big deal for which ever team wins.

Was it just me or was anyone else from a Mayo point of view disappointed with Kevin McLoughlin yesterday, despite knocking that point over near the end yesterday. I thought he wasn't in it much and most times he got the ball he gave it away.