Disgraceful Munster Boo-ing For Northampton Penalties .

Started by Bing Crosby ., January 25, 2010, 09:11:03 AM

Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 25, 2010, 12:39:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 25, 2010, 11:40:03 AM
Quote from: Olly on January 25, 2010, 11:38:11 AM
I was watching this as well and I heard booing but I think it was from one person and he was probably mad at the others not doing tit too.

I think Munster are looking good but they do small bits of cheating that the big referees later on the the tournamanet wont let go unpunished.

Those 'small bits of cheating' go on all the time. They've been getting away with it for years. The best exponents are great players, see McCaw, R.
was waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!
Does that mean he is better or worse at cheating than McCaw?

Bing Crosby .

Quote from: ludermor on January 25, 2010, 12:47:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUg-55W0V6c&feature=related

To be honest Bing i cant hear a whole lot of booing for the penalties, none at all for the first couple and the last one is near the end of the clip doesnt sound bad at all

There wasn't a peep , not a peep when Ronan was kicking but when the other lad was was kicking there was plenty of it . You're right it didn't happen till the second half and that's because Munster supporters were still confident of a victory . It wasn't until the second half when it looked like they may well lose that the bollucks acting started .  Over the recent years ( H C years ) you never heard this , as far as I'm concerned one voice is all it takes to disrespect the opposition when it comes to kicking time .

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2010, 12:04:55 PM
QuoteNever said it was a Munster only tradition , what is your point ?

It's not a munster tradition, period, it's a rugby tradition and it existed since day dot, from any junior ground in Ireland to Welford road in England. Rugby did exist before the Heineken Cup you know.

QuoteI remember first going to Munster matches, and the contrast between the noise and effing and blinding during play to the silence for the kicks was what marked it out. Maybe that's why people think it's a 'Munster' tradition.

In a Munster supporters head maybe, watch any of the Rugby Gold games on TG4 and you'll see any of the old 5 nations grounds go into complete silence particularly the 70s and 80s games.

Ah but they did not have the microphones going all round the sidelines in the old days :)

It is a rugby tradition and you would remark unfavourably when it was not observed.
But it was not wholly observed in the 70's. International games were different, not a 100% rugby crowd perhaps? A visiting kicker would get a decent jeer at a Lansdowne rd international and visiting kickers would get jeered at internationals in other countries
Club games were different.
Thomond park for years has gained a reputation where this tradition has been observed to impeccable high standards, almost a type of religious fanaticism. I´d say the strict observance of the tradition at TP has had a positive effect on other grounds.

In fairness re: the jeering at one or two kicks in the second half when I watched the replay on Friday night it definitely sounded like kids or teenagers doing it. Probably from the schoolboy section. Hard to police everyone.

Bing Crosby .

Quote from: Main Street on January 25, 2010, 01:09:31 PM
Thomond park for years has gained a reputation where this tradition has been observed to impeccable high standards, almost a type of religious fanaticism. I´d say the strict observance of the tradition at TP has had a positive effect on other grounds.

That about sums it up . It's for this reason the roaring was so despicable .

Quotewas waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!

Ha!very true though..

Quote from: ludermor on January 25, 2010, 12:48:29 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 25, 2010, 12:39:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 25, 2010, 11:40:03 AM
Quote from: Olly on January 25, 2010, 11:38:11 AM
I was watching this as well and I heard booing but I think it was from one person and he was probably mad at the others not doing tit too.

I think Munster are looking good but they do small bits of cheating that the big referees later on the the tournamanet wont let go unpunished.

Those 'small bits of cheating' go on all the time. They've been getting away with it for years. The best exponents are great players, see McCaw, R.
was waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!
Does that mean he is better or worse at cheating than McCaw?
dont knw which is 'better' at it - I suppose mccaw, as quinlan is caught more often - though I dont recall mccaw gouging or using he boot as recklessly as quinlan often does ...
(id still rather have them on my team than against it btw - Dinny will disagree ..at least until the laws are tightened up and these kinds of actions are always penalised in the actual games)

Urrghhh - McCaw is well a cheat but is a fine cheat and rarely gets caught in the black arts, his support play and defence is outstanding, one of the greatest players ever to grace the game. To mention that liability Quinlan in the same sentence as McCaw does the great man a disservice, Quinlan was trying his best to wind up Northampton players meanwhile Northampton were cleaning up at the breakdown and winning penalties that if the Saints had a kicker would have won the game for them.

I like my backrow players at the bottom of a ruck not prancing about the backline avoiding work.

The funny thing is that now most pubs go silent as well when a kick is being taken.

And absolutely ridiculous it is too, it drives me mad when I'm in a pub and some tool says to be quite when yer man is kicking, and I'm there thinking he's in France ffs and you probably didn't know the difference between an egg and a rugby ball 4 years ago.

anglocelt39

Gripping stuff all right, narrow win in the end for Munster 0-4 to CLG Northampton 0-3, all scores from placed balls. Is there any other sport where you get a rousing round of applause for kicking the ball out of play?
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

I was at the game too on Friday and while there was a few boos it was just very isolated, tis hard to control 26000 and a fair few of them with pints on board.

A fellow in front of me shouts out to Blondie Geraghty at one stage after he missing another kick "Martin Johnson is watching you" and a fellow next to me retorts "so is Declan Kidney and he dosen't f**king want you either".

Jaysus the next thing they will be stopping fellows having a bit of craic at games.

Interestingly, Northampton had three different kickers for their 9 pts : Stephen Myler, Bruce Reihena and Shane Geraghty. So there was no major target for the alleged boo-boys

Can someone rename this the Official Munster Thread?

Anyhow Johne Murphy has signed a 2 year deal with Munster.

Looks like Munster need Leinster to produce backs for them, Dowling, Jones, Hurley and now Murphy.

Caid

Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 01, 2010, 02:44:09 PM
Can someone rename this the Official Munster Thread?

Anyhow Johne Murphy has signed a 2 year deal with Munster.

Looks like Munster need Leinster to produce backs for them, Dowling, Jones, Hurley and now Murphy.

Can we not rename it the Official Booing Thread?  I wanted to rant about the fans at the Ally Pally in the darts over Christmas booing a lot of the non-English players!
When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written