Sea The Stars - BBC Sports Personality of the the Year

Started by Maroon Heaven, November 12, 2009, 04:12:48 PM

beer baron

Usual Grand National sentiment?Well for 1 thing i can't remember any other Grand national winning jockey winning Bbc sports personality award.
Even if it was the Grand National that has brought him to the attention of the general public he still thoroughly deseves it! For the 15th year running he has been at the top of his game,he's won 6 grade 1s this year and goes out day in day out,wind rain hail or snow dragging absolute pigs of horses home in front that noone else could possibly win with!
I'm very biased because i think the man is an absolute legend but i think he is the man that should win!

Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:12:52 PM
Usual Grand National sentiment?Well for 1 thing i can't remember any other Grand national winning jockey winning Bbc sports personality award.
Even if it was the Grand National that has brought him to the attention of the general public he still thoroughly deseves it! For the 15th year running he has been at the top of his game,he's won 6 grade 1s this year and goes out day in day out,wind rain hail or snow dragging absolute pigs of horses home in front that noone else could possibly win with!
I'm very biased because i think the man is an absolute legend but i think he is the man that should win!

I wasn't even trying to win you up.

Did you notice  a lot of puns on the thread?

beer baron

Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:18:02 PM

I'll close the door on my way out! ;D

Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:21:58 PM

stable
I'll close the ⋏ door on my way out! ;D

Fixed that.

beer baron

Quote from: muppet on November 29, 2010, 11:30:10 PM
Quote from: beer baron on November 29, 2010, 11:21:58 PM

stable
I'll close the ⋏ door on my way out! ;D

Fixed that.

Nice  :D

I don't see why the British racing media are making such a fuss about how important it is for the sport that McCoy wins this award.

No one really gives a sh1t about it and I'm sure AP himself isn't bothered. The guy is a legend and deserves recognition but I wouldn't agree that he's the best jockey we've ever seen. The most driven and determined without doubt but the likes of Dunwoody, Norman Williamson, Carberry, Ruby and Adrian Maguire were/are more naturally talented riders as far as I'm concerned.

It's not called the BBC's most naturally talented sportsman award. AP sums up what a great sports personality is, dedication, skill, unrivalled desire to win and unbelievable longevity and determination to remain at the top of his game. I agree, McCoy probably doesn't care if he wins the award but that still doesn't mean he doesn't deserve it. A feckin show jumper won a few years ago ffs and the list this year is hardly full of stand out perfomers!

I don't normally bet on stuff like this but I've had a few bob on him on Betfair at 1.91. Looking at the list and the fact that the media are solidly behind him, there can only be one winner. You subjects of her majesty/hostages in occupied territory (delete according to your self image) can help by voting in your dozens.

bcarrier

I have backed Phil Taylor. I dont think he has been on the list before and I suspect that darts fans are more likely to unite behind him than racegoers behind AP.  AP's achievements are remarkable but most racegoers/supporters have their own favourite jockeys and the whole campaign is largely a racing-for-change invention. The little spat with Lydia/ Racing UK wont have helped either.

Quote from: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM
I don't normally bet on stuff like this but I've had a few bob on him on Betfair at 1.91. Looking at the list and the fact that the media are solidly behind him, there can only be one winner. You subjects of her majesty/hostages in occupied territory (delete according to your self image) can help by voting in your dozens.

Any price for Anthony Knott Hardy?

Now there's a personality.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 30, 2010, 12:27:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM

Any price for Anthony Knott Hardy?

Now there's a personality.

Definitely Knott!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 12, 2009, 08:33:51 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 12, 2009, 08:30:00 PM
wont be the first horse to win it, so i don't think it's a big deal.
That's no way to talk about Princess Anne.

An oldie but a goodie - only half of which applies to Princess Anne

Anyone seen the new list for Sports Personality 2011?? It's a bit pishy I think!! I will give my own opinion on the candidates:

Mark Cavendish: Won the green jersey on Tour de France . . . is it really that big a deal? He should be on the list but I don't think he should win.

Mo Farah: Won the World Championship. Fair play he should be there.

Darren Clarke: Won the British Open in a freak occurence. No way should he be there!

Alistair Cook: He had a good Ashes against a shit Aussie team. Was found out against India in the ODI's, shouldn't be there.

Luke Donald: Had an amazing year. World No. 1 and top of both the USPGA and the European PGA money lists. He hasn't won a major though but he's in with a good shout to win it.

Dai Greene: Won the World Championship. He should be there.

Amir Khan: Is somebody having a laugh? He owes McCloskey a rematch before he can regain any credibility!

Rory McIlroy: Sensational in the US Open and the youngest to win for a long time. Currently World no. 2. Hard to call who deserves it more between him and Donald.

Andy Murray: Again is somebody having a laugh? They keep talking about him as one of the 'fab four'. He is not!! There is the 'fab three' and then Andy Murray comes a long way behind that. He should not be on this list.

Andrew Strauss: Won the Ashes against the poorest Aussie side in memory. Not having that!

I think it's a toss up between Donald and McIlroy and personally I think I would give it to Donald for that consistency throughout the year where McIlroy has been just a bit too erratic.

Donald IMO should not get it.  I reckon it will be either McIlroy or Farah, and to be honest McIlroy probably deserves it due to the nature of the victory he had especially after the meltdown two months earlier which overshadowed the fact that he had lit up Augusta for the previous 3 rounds.  Donald, whilst being consistent, has not done it when it matters.