Staunton returns to management

Started by sammymaguire, October 05, 2009, 01:23:37 PM

oh dear poor Stan

Darlington have appointed former Republic of Ireland coach Steve Staunton as their new manager.

The club have also installed experienced former England international Kevin Richardson as his assistant in a double appointment.

Staunton will take over on Wednesday, after Darlington's Johnstone's Paint Trophy tie at Leeds, until the end of the current season. The pair will take charge for Saturday's league game at Dagenham & Redbridge.

Bit of a come down from International manager, he probably should have started here then moved up after cutting his teeth.

He was down in Melbourne not so long ago observing at St.Kilda AFL Club as part of his management badge training.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 05, 2009, 01:43:54 PM
Well I for one wish our most capped player all the very best. Lets hop he can make a career for himself

no disrespect but Stan hasn't a notion about handling people and media and how to be a successful football manager at underage never mind a professional football club

Darlington fans can look forward to Joe Lapira up front any week now!

WeAreBlueWeAreWhite

Fair play to him I hope he does well.
AND A BOTTLE OF RITZ FOR ME LAC

Cora's prowess never ceases to amaze!

Quote from: Denn Forever on October 05, 2009, 03:32:17 PM
Cora's prowess never ceases to amaze!

Cora, the Darling(ton) of Mayo.

Punny, very punny.

I'm the gaffer and the buck stops with me !

This will be my abiding memory of Staunton.

Galwaybhoy

I wish him well, a great servant for Irish football.

Quote from: orangeman on October 05, 2009, 03:49:33 PM

Good for you.

Others might remember him for making a record number of appearances for his country, for being the only player to line out in all 13 World Cup finals matches that his country has played, or for his 400 odd top flight appearances in England.

I wish him all the best in his new start, it was a pity he was thrown in at the deep end first time round.

High Wide and Handsome

what ever happened the young fella terry dixon (i think thats his name) that stan gave a call up when he was only 16. he was at spurs then but got injured. heard he was at west ham recently. anyone confirm?
"Swing er over!"

Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on October 05, 2009, 04:49:39 PM
what ever happened the young fella terry dixon (i think thats his name) that stan gave a call up when he was only 16. he was at spurs then but got injured. heard he was at west ham recently. anyone confirm?

Yeah at West Ham. Still only 19, but if he can keep fit he's at the perfect club to make it as over the last few years West Ham haven't been afraid to give youngsters a shot. Some horrible knee injuries though.

Quote from: orangeman on October 05, 2009, 03:49:33 PM

"Potential banana skin dere lads."