Dessie says Yes to Europe.

Started by Bud Wiser, September 29, 2009, 10:32:54 PM

Almost nine weeks now since I joined the GPA and still no membership card or an invite to an ould meeting. Must check now to see that I am actually insured since getting insured free along with GPA membership, or getting GPA membership free along with getting insured was the deal I got that day in the middle of a potato field.

Now I sees that Desmond has gone all European according to this report:

Yesterday, the GPA announced that have been admitted to the 'EU Athletes' Association -- a federation of independent athlete and player associations from all over Europe. "While our sports are unique and amateur, a lot of the issues affecting individual players, athletes and their representative bodies appear to be replicated across Europe," said players chief Dessie Farrell. "Particularly, in areas such as antidoping, image rights, welfare services, funding, corruption in sport, and so on."

Now, how in the name of jaysus did Dessie and the boys do this without consulting me.  I would have said a firm NO to the EU on this, next we will have minimum wages down to 3.80 euro an hour which won't suit the man himself or anyone else in a suit either.  Micko and Geezer wil be hopping mad.  Will the GAA be the minority in this Association, will the French, the Germans, the Belgiums and countries with women with balls outvote the GPA when they try to raise concerns about anti-doping and corruption in sport for example.   Anyone else able to elaborate on this?  Should I call up with a bag of spuds to Dessie in a softly softly approach and see can I find out what is going on or should I go up with the spade and draw off him with it and tell him I want my money back?

This means most of the posters on this Board will now join the "NO" camp.  :D :D :D
Just as well most of them can't vote in the Referendum. ;)
Triple Connacht Champions

Quote from: Rossfan on September 30, 2009, 06:09:48 PM
This means most of the posters on this Board will now join the "NO" camp.  :D :D :D
Just as well most of them can't vote in the Referendum. ;)

So you'll be voting Yes I take it Rossfan??

Well I'm voting No this time, like last time.

dowling

No doubt the GPA boys, it is just boys isn't it? have done a wee deal about the grants.

Go with the spade in yer hand Bud. Ye can take th scalp off the players chief.

Quote from: Zapatista on September 30, 2009, 08:40:34 PM
Go with the spade in yer hand Bud. Ye can take th scalp off the players chief.

Swear to Jaysus Zapitasta, what I posted was in da papers.  So, if you "Google"  'EU Athletes Association" you will find who are members, not least the Israeli crowd?  Europe?  Israeli's? And when you get to the website http://www.euathletes.info/ you will find they left out a word in the GPA, like "Elite"

Poor ould Mick Hogan, the Brits flew an ould prop plane over first to see where the weakest point might be, before the massacre in Croa Park ,  but, the GPA,  bringing in Israelis?? 

:o Israeli Players Association stages successful strike

did you see this headline? They are getting even more effective too. They manged to complete the strike in one day which is a vast improvement on their previous 7 day record.

dowling

"...image rights, welfare services, funding..."
Three ways of saying we want the money!
Surely on the funding aspect there's a possibility of clashing with the GAA at some stage.

With Dessie's backing, the No camp have this now in the bag.

Well on a serious note and without being dramatic about it, I, on a personal basis would not form an alliance with any Israelli group because of the way they have treated the poor Palestinians.  This whole thing sounds to me like the GPA boys were down in Kiely's in Donnybrook and met Brian O'D (God) and Amy on a night out and Brian told them the rugby players were members of this Elite Association.  Result - Begob we'll join up as well so.

I never got any acknowledgement of my membership yet so I wonder did all members get to vote on whether the GAA should be associated with this European Association? 

It is going to be hard to explain to the American tourist or the Presedints invited dignatories sitting in the Hogan Stand that "what you see out there are 30 amateur players, the GAA is an amateur sport which at this level is unique" while the boys are over in some european quarter canvassing for money for the players at the same time.