Paddy Heaney on ABT Derry men

Started by In the Onion Bag, August 20, 2009, 12:52:19 PM

tonesfirstandlast

Funnily enough Drumanee those were the three "founder members" that I thought about as well. Do you not think "he" has embarrassed  Bellaghy enough without adding to it on here. Your spelling Drumanee. ???

talktothehand

being anti tyrone allows derry fans to have an interest in the championship right up to the AIF. :-*

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:46:56 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on August 21, 2009, 09:38:59 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:00:57 AM
As a good Derry man nothing would make me happier than to see Cork give Tyrone a good hammering on Sunday.

One of my best football memories was being in Croke park in 96 when Meath give Tyrone a bit of their own medicine, even now when I think about it I can't stop a big smile from breaking out on my face.

Quote from: red hander on August 20, 2009, 06:54:45 PM
We all lie awake at night worrying about what a bunch of inbred losers think about us, we really do... ;)
Thats one of the funniest things I've ever read on this board  :D :D :D. Imagine a Tyrone man calling any one else inbreds. Holy Jesus the boys around Galbally make that wee banjo player out of deliverence look a city slicker.

you're a bit like a thicker version of Paddy Heaney - maybe thats as much of a contradiction as you calling your self a 'good derry man'

Wise up lads there is no way in this world that Tyrone people would be support Derry if the shoe was on the other foot.

One of your best memories is watching Tyrone getting banjaxed by Meath in 96, yet one of my favourite is Tyrone winning in 2003, 2005 and in 2008 - and not a mention of Derry anywhere.
As it goes, I support the sight of good football and Hurling - right now Tyrone are pretty good to watch...Down v Tyrone last year were great to watch adn i certainly wasnt bitter about their victory. Armagh in 2002 - delighted for them - all of the ulster victories in the 90s delighted for them - thats where we are different.

you shoiuld be glad that tyrone are doing well -gives you something to about
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

And don't forget that to the likes of Kerry we in the north are all the same

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: Gaffer on August 21, 2009, 02:40:14 PM
And don't forget that to the likes of Kerry we in the north are all the same

One of your best memories is watching Tyrone getting banjaxed by Meath in 96, yet one of my favourite is Tyrone winning in 2003, 2005 and in 2008 - and not a mention of Derry anywhere.

As it goes, I support the sight of good football and Hurling - right now Tyrone are pretty good to watch...Down v Tyrone last year were great to watch and I certainly wasn't bitter about their victory. Armagh in 2002 - delighted for them - all of the Ulster victories in the 90s delighted for them - that's where we are different.

You should be glad that Tyrone are doing well - gives you something to talk about
..spell-checker version
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Any craic

I see these videos on the Gaelic Life website back up Mr Heaney's argument, even the President joked about the support for cork among Derry folk in Magherafelt last weekend, all in good humour mind you, and no harm in that, but nevertheless clearly all for the Rebels.

http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/GL/gl_features.php

Seems Heaney's gettin married tomorrow.   Can the fellas giving him the traditional bumps at the end of the night please leave a brogue or 2 in when he's on the way down?

Master Yoda

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 21, 2009, 11:58:25 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:46:56 AM
Wise up lads there is no way in this world that Tyrone people would be support Derry if the shoe was on the other foot.

Not altogether true, I remember well supporting Derry on the occasion of their (one and only ;)) All-Ireland win back in 93. Same with Down in 91 and 94, Donegal in 92 and Armagh in 2002. Know plenty of others who felt the same. There would have been a bit of envy certainly but still happy to see the neighbours winning the big prize.

Sure there would be no craic if the whole of Derry supported Tyrone.
I'm sure Tyrone fans love keeping Derry fans going about being shite. If it was the other way about I would love to be giving it to them.

I do admit however that I enjoy watching Tyrone the last couple of years, the football they play is breathtaking at times. They have lifted the bar to a different level which is why it is so disapointing to see gifted footballers like Sean Cavanagh and Brian Dooher diving to get players sent off, it would be brilliant if they would cut this out of their game. ;)
Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering

Caid

I don't understand why people have the impression that you should support your neighbouring county. It is the most natural thing in the world that they become your enemy.

Ireland and England don't get on. Canada and the US. Liverpool and Manchester. Springfield and Shelbyville etc.

The gaaworld is no different.  The rivalry that manifests itself as begrudgery and mild abusiveness translates to a competitiveness and a desire to win that ultimately increases your chance of success.

If Tyrone fans weren't such assholes then my desire for Fermanagh to win an Ulster Title would be ever so slightly less (but still huge of course). Rivalry is healthy.  It is the people that say they enjoy seeing their rivals win that I worry about
When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth...then may my epitaph be written

Master Yoda

Quote from: Caid on August 21, 2009, 04:25:30 PM

I don't understand why people have the impression that you should support your neighbouring county. It is the most natural thing in the world that they become your enemy.

Ireland and England don't get on. Canada and the US. Liverpool and Manchester. Springfield and Shelbyville etc.

The gaaworld is no different.  The rivalry that manifests itself as begrudgery and mild abusiveness translates to a competitiveness and a desire to win that ultimately increases your chance of success.

If Tyrone fans weren't such assholes then my desire for Fermanagh to win an Ulster Title would be ever so slightly less (but still huge of course). Rivalry is healthy.  It is the people that say they enjoy seeing their rivals win that I worry about

I concur.
Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering

Master Yoda

Funny story about Derry - Tyrone rivalry.

It was in 2001 the year that Tyrone beat Derry in the Ulster final, got drawn against each other in the AI quarter finals and Derry beat them.

Myself and a few mates one of which was on the Derry team at the time was in the Glenavon the following Sunday night having a few beers. The lad who was on the Derry team says don't look round now lads but there's a class lookin thing standing over there and she's staring right at me, of course we all turned around straight away to get a look at her and sure enough this deadly lookin article was starring right at your man. I said Jesus Christ man go over and talk to that thing but being quite a shy bein he wouldn't go over. This went on for about 5 minutes your woman giving him the eye and us trying to get him to not be so gay and go over and talk to her, next thing your woman starts coming over towards us looking absolutely unbelievable our mate steps out to meet her and as he opened his mouth to speak she says you make me sick you Derry Bastard and walked on. I swear to God it was the funniest thing I have ever seen in my life, your man didn't know what way to look and the rest of us where rolling around the floor in stitches. :D :D :D :D

Exactly. Not rooting for your neighbours is a perfectly natural thing- there's nothing to be ashamed of! 

talktothehand

agree with the above. it's called banter. i took serious slaggin for ten years after derry won sam. quite enjoyed the craic if i'm honest

Quote from: talktothehand on August 21, 2009, 06:09:40 PM
agree with the above. it's called banter. i took serious slaggin for ten years after derry won sam. quite enjoyed the craic if i'm honest

Agree .. and we promise not to celebrate like we've won the World Cup after winning a first round Ulster championship game only to be knocked out of the qualifiers by the mighty Longford a couple of weeks later  :D

Lamh Dhearg Alba

I dont disagree with any of this and Ive had a good laugh at some of Derry's performances in recent years. That doesnt mean I didnt support them back in 93 and that I wouldnt wish them all the best if they ever reached that stage again. Not saying all Derry people should support Tyrone or vice versa, I was just correcting the point that not all supportes feel they have to wish failure on their rivals.