Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Two Hands FFS

Yes Dinny improved some of our players alot, ( Kettle,Karl McK,Ciaran Herron, Paddy Richmond) but he had by Antrim terms a pretty good team with some players in their peak( Pinky, Aidan Delargy,Liam Richmond, Dick O'Kane).....I agree he was a very good coach but i'd say alot of the improvement was made by Antrim players finally catching up with the rest of Ireland in terms of training & preparation. Fair play to him the team performed well in the 2 quarter finals against Tipp & Wexford(we still lost) & played a good brand of hurling..but.......

On the Downside....For the improvement in 16/17 county players see the shocking state of our leagues at that time, county players were hardly allowed to play for their clubs cos he had them training Friday,Saturday & Sunday mornings. ( Remember the non starred leagues  :-[). I remember that they didnt focus too much on the leagues which was very poor. What about Darren Quinn/Sean Delargy..(maybe a few others too) sitting on the bench for 3 years, hardly hitting a ball & nearly ruined their club careers. His underuse of Tosh( put him on as a sub in the league I think & took him off soon after)  & Malachy Molloy(especially in the Wexford match) where we got cleaned out at Midfield & cost us the match as Rory McCarthy ran riot in the 2nd half. & dont get me started on Brian Corcoran & Niall McCarthy

I just dont see why he should be painted as a messiah....

milltown row

ok two hands, i agree with you on most parts, the leagues and fringe players not getting games and the crap starred games. but the team was fantastic. going to croke park was great. ok we lost but i left with my head held high.

we need that level of commitment from the players and management. i'm not saying S&W aren't committed, we just had a better team. but did we? i'm confused.

i want to be optimistic, Dinny brought a quick fix S&W will bring it slowly i hope

Quote from: milltown row on December 11, 2008, 10:45:42 PM
ok two hands, i agree with you on most parts, the leagues and fringe players not getting games and the crap starred games. but the team was fantastic. going to croke park was great. ok we lost but i left with my head held high.

we need that level of commitment from the players and management. i'm not saying S&W aren't committed, we just had a better team. but did we? i'm confused.

i want to be optimistic, Dinny brought a quick fix S&W will bring it slowly i hope

Not really high though Milltown......  8)

milltown row

high enough to beat youse ;)  hey and i felt really high when you were lying on the ground with a wee blankey over ya waiting on the ambulance ;)  christ had a stitch in my belly after eating all the grub upstairs waiting for you to get off the pitch

Quote from: milltown row on December 11, 2008, 10:56:42 PM
high enough to beat youse ;)  hey and i felt really high when you were lying on the ground with a wee blankey over ya waiting on the ambulance ;)  christ had a stitch in my belly after eating all the grub upstairs waiting for you to get off the pitch

You mustnt have eaten enough as a lad, stunted your growth. Thats the only way youse could beat us, with me off the pitch.

milltown row

:D :D :D brill

didn't hinder my playing days. but some players needed brawn to help their other faults ;)

aontroim

http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=1373 - link to the County Chairman's Speech from Convention on Wednesday.  Big warning about not taking Dublin for granted in the Leinster C'ship.

Quote from: aontroim on December 12, 2008, 07:53:01 AM
http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=1373 - link to the County Chairman's Speech from Convention on Wednesday.  Big warning about not taking Dublin for granted in the Leinster C'ship.

How in the name of God would we be in a position to take Dublin for granted ?

sail_in

QuoteHow in the name of God would we be in a position to take Dublin for granted ?

He doen't actually say that, or anything like that:

From the Chairman's Address:

QuoteIn hurling, a consistent performance in what is now a better structured league is required, but I want to caution against any expectations in the championship against Dublin. Dublin hurling is far more advanced in their development than Antrim. The expectation and sense of anticipation must rest with them in a Croke Park that will be packed with the hungry "Jacks". The Glensmen will be the underdogs against an Anthony Daly led Dubs, let there be no doubt about it.

Arthur_Friend

"high enough to beat youse   hey and i felt really high when you were lying on the ground with a wee blankey over ya waiting on the ambulance   christ had a stitch in my belly after eating all the grub upstairs waiting for you to get off the pitch"

Its best not to take any chances where a staved thumb is concerned.  :D

milltown row

nothing much on this while back, have all the clubs had their AGM's? we had ours on Sunday. same old shite. anything interesting come from our antrim clubs, any major Motions passed or shafted for another year? and attendances we had 75 at ours. whats the norm?

milltown row

was yours not the week before?  see a load a cars at the club sunday last

Last Man

We had ours  2 weeks ago, I'm embarrassed to say 38 people, the commitee, Juv hurling mentors, a couple of hurlers and footballers and the social club faction there of course to make sure we don't close the bar but god forbid you get them to do anything useful in the club, "sure we are too busy buying drink". The best line I heard was that some coaches time would be better spent administrating than coaching, there's vision for you. ::)

milltown row

38 is poor enough turn out Last Man, i thought our turn out was poor :o

i've loads doing at the club but could not commit to being on the committee. thankless task

Quote from: hardstation on December 17, 2008, 08:12:49 PM
This belter was heard at an AGM once. No names.

"The camogs should be made to pay for the use of the pitch for training and matches."

When questioned on why the camogs should when the hurlers and footballers don't have to, the person replied, "Aye but at least the hurlers and footballers go into the club and buy a couple of pints after training and matches."

As you can imagine, it didn't go down very well.

I don't see the problem with that myself Hardstation.