?

?
62 (87.3%)
?
9 (12.7%)

Total Members Voted: 71

Club Rossa

The 6-0 win at Kilmarnock aside,Celtic have been awful in recent weeks but they are fully deserving of the Championship win.If anyone wants to talk about tainted titles,look no further than those cheating hoors at Ibrox,they will be able to tell you a thing or two about them.

Orchardman

I can understand why lads might have no interest in celtic or SPL, but what annoys me more is the irish fellas who love to put the boot into celtic, saying how shite they are, etc etc. Most of my mates have no interest in celtic, yet they 'support' chelsea, man u, liverpool. Fair enough if you like a club, but most of these people run around in jerseys, talking about 'we' won today, what ties have they got with these clubs really?I' love to see the day that the whole Sky TV and other deals fall down around the EPL and watch it all go bust, as it will happen. Over priced tickets, over priced players, crazy transfer deals, players diving everywhere.

Yes the SPL is dung, no doubt. What i would say is that the EPL is also shite. It has plenty of top class players, big stadiums, big crowds and it looks good in highlights. I gave up watching full EPL games years ago, it would put me to sleep. But then again I don't support any EPL team, I love GAA and i think soccer is generally pish to watch. I love champions league finals and big world cup games, especially with ireland involved, but apart from the tension provided by big games, its dire to watch.

I'm a huge celtic fan, but i'm different than most. Have been to maybe 25 games in scotland, but very few in recent years. I've read loads of books on their history and certain players who played long before i was, jimmy mcgrory, jimmy quinn, the john thompson story etc. I happened to be teaching the irish famine to a first year class a while back and I couldn't resist adding in the celtic story when we started to talk about what happened with emigration afterwards.
I generally only watch the bbc highlights every wkend of their games and i'm happy, it's all i need to see. I suppose i'm more an avid fan of the club and what it stands for, more so than a soccer mad follower of the team.

This was no tainted title, i'm proud of lenny and the lads, the had the league won long before rangers shite their load. Yes they fucked up in not getting the treble, but i think a hearts-hibs final will add good hype to the game, and I look forward to hibs hopefully breaking their 110 year duck.

Orchardman

Meant to add as well: Despite being a fan of lenny, especially with the shite he has been through, i don't believe in yapping on twitter, and crying about penalty decisions. If they were beaten by a last minute peno then it's their fault of only drawing 1:1 by that stage, but then that's the harsh way i look at sport. Lenny and joe yapping on twitter ( twitter is full of so much dung anyway) only serves to make us look real bad losers, which I think we are.

Quote from: Orchardman on April 17, 2012, 06:21:10 PM
I can understand why lads might have no interest in celtic or SPL, but what annoys me more is the irish fellas who love to put the boot into celtic, saying how shite they are, etc etc. Most of my mates have no interest in celtic, yet they 'support' chelsea, man u, liverpool. Fair enough if you like a club, but most of these people run around in jerseys, talking about 'we' won today, what ties have they got with these clubs really?I' love to see the day that the whole Sky TV and other deals fall down around the EPL and watch it all go bust, as it will happen. Over priced tickets, over priced players, crazy transfer deals, players diving everywhere.

Yes the SPL is dung, no doubt. What i would say is that the EPL is also shite. It has plenty of top class players, big stadiums, big crowds and it looks good in highlights. I gave up watching full EPL games years ago, it would put me to sleep. But then again I don't support any EPL team, I love GAA and i think soccer is generally pish to watch. I love champions league finals and big world cup games, especially with ireland involved, but apart from the tension provided by big games, its dire to watch.

I'm a huge celtic fan, but i'm different than most. Have been to maybe 25 games in scotland, but very few in recent years. I've read loads of books on their history and certain players who played long before i was, jimmy mcgrory, jimmy quinn, the john thompson story etc. I happened to be teaching the irish famine to a first year class a while back and I couldn't resist adding in the celtic story when we started to talk about what happened with emigration afterwards.
I generally only watch the bbc highlights every wkend of their games and i'm happy, it's all i need to see. I suppose i'm more an avid fan of the club and what it stands for, more so than a soccer mad follower of the team.

This was no tainted title, i'm proud of lenny and the lads, the had the league won long before rangers shite their load. Yes they fucked up in not getting the treble, but i think a hearts-hibs final will add good hype to the game, and I look forward to hibs hopefully breaking their 110 year duck.
I'm a Celtic fan, but I'd only use we won for my Club and County.

Good post. I think there's a section of the Irish populace who like to congratulate themselves on how hip and rad and post-nationalist they are by viewing those who support Celtic as being less evolved than they are when, all other things being equal, there's more reasons for an Irish person to support Celtic than Liverpool or Man Utd.

a great post mate

Quote from: deiseach on April 18, 2012, 10:54:23 AM

Good post. I think there's a section of the Irish populace who like to congratulate themselves on how hip and rad and post-nationalist they are by viewing those who support Celtic as being less evolved than they are when, all other things being equal, there's more reasons for an Irish person to support Celtic than Liverpool or Man Utd.

For me there should be more reason for an Irish person to support GAA over soccer, was never more pissed off when I parked my car near the PD club on the Anderstown road to head to the Antrim V Laois game, the club was filled with Celtic men watching the Rangers game. That's fine but a right few of them I nodded to where Gaels of clubs on the road,  and they would rather be watching a 'foreign' sport when their own team, Antrim were playing 100 yards away at Casement!!!

Of course Casement was empty and Belfast seems to be going more and more down the route of kids opting for soccer over hurling/football. Very worrying.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2012, 02:25:22 PM
For me there should be more reason for an Irish person to support GAA over soccer, was never more pissed off when I parked my car near the PD club on the Anderstown road to head to the Antrim V Laois game, the club was filled with Celtic men watching the Rangers game. That's fine but a right few of them I nodded to where Gaels of clubs on the road,  and they would rather be watching a 'foreign' sport when their own team, Antrim were playing 100 yards away at Casement!!!

Of course Casement was empty and Belfast seems to be going more and more down the route of kids opting for soccer over hurling/football. Very worrying.

It's not an either/or proposition. And in fairness, the lads you saw probably wouldn't go to a soccer match in Belfast either

Quote from: deiseach on April 18, 2012, 02:44:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2012, 02:25:22 PM

It's not an either/or proposition. And in fairness, the lads you saw probably wouldn't go to a soccer match in Belfast either

They'd be out in full colour if DC are playing the Glens or Linfield at Suffolk road. Maybe not so much Cliftonville or Portadown
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2012, 02:48:19 PM
They'd be out in full colour if DC are playing the Glens or Linfield at Suffolk road. Maybe not so much Cliftonville or Portadown

Looking at the crowds at NI soccer on Saturday's Final Score, I doubt that ;)

Quote from: hardstation on April 18, 2012, 03:20:31 PM
It wasn't £11 into the PD either.

True, thats about 4 pints in the PD

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: Main Street on April 16, 2012, 10:27:46 PM
Celtic had the title won on merit, there's no sane argument against that and they're playing the best football in the SPL.
The 2 cups have been thrown away.

I agree with you that Celtic won the title on merit and I don't see how anybody could deny that.  However the SPL is always a straight battle between Celtic and Rangers. When one of them goes into administration (losing 10 points and seeing their form totally deteriorate post admin) then the other simply has to win the title. Not winning the league in such circumstances would be an incredible failure. I regard it as rather meaningless, winning a 1 horse race is hardly worth crowing about. And yes, I do think Rangers titles won by financial cheating were tainted, no question.

Celtic had the league handed to them on a plate and should have won the treble. They didn't even have to beat Rangers to win either cup and yet they still couldn't manage it. It's not been a good season for Celtic and the antics of Lennon have done the club no favours either. Don't just take my word for it, I have heard and read many Celtic supporters saying the guys behaviour is an embarrasment. I didn't see the Wenger incident you mentioned earlier but it wouldn't be the first time he has behaved poorly. Then again I don't recall Wenger marching onto parks to shout abuse at refs or use a website to re tweet an opinion that the officials are "crooked" against his club and that they should move to another league. Not that a lot of us Scotland would be against such a move.

Lennon could learn a lot from somebody like Mickey Harte, a man who always handles himself in a dignified manner post match.

charlieTully

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 18, 2012, 08:22:15 PM
Celtic had the title won on merit, there's no sane argument against that and they're playing the best football in the SPL.

I agree with you that Celtic won the title on merit and I don't see how anybody could deny that.  However the SPL is always a straight battle between Celtic and Rangers. When one of them goes into administration (losing 10 points and seeing their form totally deteriorate post admin) then the other simply has to win the title. Not winning the league in such circumstances would be an incredible failure. I regard it as rather meaningless, winning a 1 horse race is hardly worth crowing about. And yes, I do think Rangers titles won by financial cheating were tainted, no question.

Celtic had the league handed to them on a plate and should have won the treble. They didn't even have to beat Rangers to win either cup and yet they still couldn't manage it. It's not been a good season for Celtic and the antics of Lennon have done the club no favours either. Don't just take my word for it, I have heard and read many Celtic supporters saying the guys behaviour is an embarrasment. I didn't see the Wenger incident you mentioned earlier but it wouldn't be the first time he has behaved poorly. Then again I don't recall Wenger marching onto parks to shout abuse at refs or use a website to re tweet an opinion that the officials are "crooked" against his club and that they should move to another league. Not that a lot of us Scotland would be against such a move.

Lennon could learn a lot from somebody like Mickey Harte, a man who always handles himself in a dignified manner post match.

you could not wait to get on here and stick the boot in, no point acting all dignified about it now. also micky harte is a true gentleman no doubt about it but he did some serious yapping in his Irish News column a year or two back when none off the provinical winners were in the AI semis. He is not immune to a yap, just uses the Irish news as opposed to twitter.

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 18, 2012, 08:22:15 PM

lennon is not the first, nor will he be the last manager in scotland to act in such a way. Pressley done it last year and walter smith has previous for it also. The reason the press are so up in arms about it is because he is who he is. Simple. As for celtic fans saying he is an embarrassment. Myself and many others support him to the hilt. I dont see you talking about people with that opinion

tyroneStatto

very convincing win yesterday. celtic were up for it and i thought kris commons goal was sublime.

if the players had the same desire from yesterday for the 2 cup games at hampden then the treble really would have been on the cards!

also, this was well done: