63 (87.5%)
?
9 (12.5%)

Total Members Voted: 72

Quote from: heffo on August 18, 2011, 09:16:58 AM
Is this game on the box lads?
not on terrestial TV
you'll be delighted to know that setanta or tv3  are showing sham rovers instead.
Obv choice I suppose as they are Irish.

just had a quick look on a couple of message boards and they said that 'Celtic FC are saying the only place to see the game is at Celtic Park'

so thats a no I think.

Lads, looking like Celtic match mightn't be on satellite, but holding out hope that my "go to club" here in Belfast might have it on!

Muzz

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 13, 2011, 09:34:14 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 13, 2011, 09:29:23 PM
Match ends 5-1 with Forrest getting the last goal. Hooper getting a scan tomorrow on the ankle although Lennon thinks he could be fit for Thursday. Key players geting injured before this Sion game but I do think we have the depth to deal with it

We were great, could've been 7-1. Hoops a big loss (hopefully only minor).

Just on that note yes it could have been 7 but it so easily could have been 3 or 4 for Dundee Utd too.

Muzz

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2011, 10:12:14 AM
Lads, looking like Celtic match mightn't be on satellite, but holding out hope that my "go to club" here in Belfast might have it on!

Match is not being televised.  Go to the Celtic website it clearly states on the front page "Match NOT on TV"

http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=1424

Pat Mustard

I'm happy with Forster, thought would prefer it on a permanent deal. There is an option to make it permanent but those things are often more complicated than they sound. We've signed a goalkeeper while saving money (for now) that could be spent strengthening other areas. Fraser broke the clean sheet record last season with central defenders such as Loovens, Majstorovic and Mulgrew in front of him. Not at all bad. He's also young, will only get better and despite what some say doesn't make many mistakes. The 2 that stand out are his poor kick against Rangers in the 3-1 game for Miller's goal(the defence was very slow to react) and he had an under par game in the league cup final, as did Izaguirre and many others.

On tonight's game, I'm fairly confident, despite a few key men missing. The whole mess Sion have with Uefa is an unwelcome distraction though.

Quote from: Muzz on August 18, 2011, 10:17:17 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2011, 10:12:14 AM

Match is not being televised.  Go to the Celtic website it clearly states on the front page "Match NOT on TV"

http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=1424

Clearly (and I had seen that, thanks), but would you expect the club to say anything else, they want bums on seats afterall!

Muzz

Im the same about Forster.  Last season he commanded very well and I know he is highly thought of both at Newcastle and in the England underage camps.

Zaluska was amazing for Dundee Utd. before he signed for Celtic but even on Saturday he had a few hairy moments.  Mind you he also made a few decent saves.  We need competition if nothing else!  Cervi is not up to the task at the moment.

Quote from: Muzz on August 18, 2011, 11:13:51 AM
Im the same about Forster.  Last season he commanded very well and I know he is highly thought of both at Newcastle and in the England underage camps.

Zaluska was amazing for Dundee Utd. before he signed for Celtic but even on Saturday he had a few hairy moments.  Mind you he also made a few decent saves.  We need competition if nothing else!  Cervi is not up to the task at the moment.

Don't know if Cervi will ever come good, Zaluska imho is really only ever going to be a second choice keeper and Forster (as has been said before, scares me sometimes) has his moments, but last year was protected by his defense (which needs strengthening) and more especially the midfield which last season tracked back to shore up the defense, remember we have now lost Izzy.
In short I think Forster is a step backwards for us, we need experience in nets not someone who may come good in the future.

Muzz

Hes gaining that experience with Celtic.  Two gaffs in his first full season playing first team football.  You never know what you are going to get when bringing someone new into the ranks.

He has a partnership already there with Majstorović, Wilson, Mulgrew who will still be there this season. 

Quote from: Muzz on August 18, 2011, 01:53:32 PM
Hes gaining that experience with Celtic.  Two gaffs in his first full season playing first team football.  You never know what you are going to get when bringing someone new into the ranks.

He has a partnership already there with Majstorović, Wilson, Mulgrew who will still be there this season.

I agree with what your saaying, but I believe we need experience between the sticks, if we progress in Europe this season he will be surely tested by teams of a lot higher calibre than Saint Mirren, Inverness or Killie etc... I could see Forster and a fantastic number 2 though.

i'm not convinced about tonight.
if we can avoid conceeding then it wont be too bad.
Celtic without Kayal , Hooper and a stable central defensive partnership are not in the best of shape for this game.
Ok for the spl but not in europe where teams generally have more money to spend on transfers.

With Izzaguire out, Celtic might be a bit stronger in defence, but lose out on attacking creativity.
This creativity problem is what has cost Celtic the league the past couple of seasons.
I'd like to see McCourt or Forrest start (and not maloney).
Stokes will suffer for missing his strike partner. Sammy plays better up front alone and woul dbe the ideal man for the away leg if Celtic had a lead.

Fishmonger

Can somebody explain to me in words a stupid man would understand what is the craic with this transfer saga and why are the players for Sion not allowed to play?

Forever Green

Quote from: Fishmonger on August 18, 2011, 05:18:43 PM
Can somebody explain to me in words a stupid man would understand what is the craic with this transfer saga and why are the players for Sion not allowed to play?

Not too clued up on the rules but I think Sion were banned from signing players because of financial difficulties. They went ahead and signed five players in the transfer window so FIFA are saying they are not allowed to play. Sion are apparently going to play these new players tonight.

Just a big f**k YOU to FIFA and for that, fair play to them

Fishmonger