Horslips ride again

Started by Shamrock Shore, July 01, 2009, 10:11:37 AM

Sandino

Myself and Dougal have been regulars on the Horslips guestbook since the site was launched in 1999.

Therefore we have met the band members, shared emails, sent texts etc in that time. It's like a large family at this stage (without the rows). Horslips were and are the best bunch of lads ever. Back in the 70s they were famous for running lads home from some awful shitehole in Donegal/Sligo/Leitrim/Longford in the jeep if they felt they needed a lift.

They were the equivalent in the 70s (to quote George Byrne) to the "rural electrification scheme" in the 30s/40s.

Also the fact that Donal Lunny dissed them is good enough for me!

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 28, 2009, 11:48:09 PM
Back in the 70s they were famous for running lads home from some wful shitehole in Donegal/Sligo/Leitrim/Longford in the jeep if they felt they needed a lift.

Fcuk off SS, there was many a night I thumbed back from the Butt Hall in Ballybofey to Strabane, and the bsatards never once offered to run me home!  :D

Not that I ever complained  ;)

Fear ón Strath Bán

Were you chasing some young wan and a lift may have cramped your style?

Fecked if I can remember now Shamrock Shore, just remember the great music in the Butt itself!

See you on Thursday, and will attempt to be that thumbing eejit again, stop me please  ;)

Sandino

Dougal that site was one of the first places I visited when I first got the internet. I have to be honest and say that it was the closeknit aspect of the site that stopped me posting, looked like a closed shop. Says more about me thsn the site though,LOL. I was a
lurker here for years also before I posted.

I got to meet the lads over the last few years and they are indeed great blokes. I think this gig will be great for those young people who thought that the Corrs and More Power to your Elbow were good Celtic Rock bands. Over the next few nights they will here and feel a great Celtic Rock Band.

The first few riffs will be magical.

"You can go proudly. You are history. You are legend''

Yeah,I suppose like all sites, this one included, there is a sort of inner circle of posters that have been there for years and there can be a sort of 'closed shop' feel to things. But as in all cases its just a matter of sticking with it.  I've got to know a lot of the posters over the years through the site and through going to Johnny Fean gigs and they're all great people, some mad as hatters and a few even madder than that!! Old Shamrock will always keep you right. Unlike me he's too young to have seen Horslips first time round but as I told him on Friday night - 'I believe because I had seen, blessed are those who have never seen and still believe.'

Tony

Between the two shows most of the auld fellas on here are going:

Me (Dublin and Belfast)
Hardy (Dublin)
Dougal (belfast)
Billys Boots (Dublin)
Longrunsthe fox (Belfast)
Fear on Strath Ban (Belfast)
Sandino (Dublin and Belfast)

Post if you are going and I will edit this post.

Sandino

We could PM each other and meet up so there'd be no GAA poster groupies, and we could kick f** out of each other like the 70s. I'm up for it!!  8) 

Sandino

Bejasus if theres  any of those Ballyshannon of Letterkenny boys going I'll stayin'  at home. I;m a lover not a fighter,LOL. Just realised I'm not a fighter, lover or dancer.

Horslips Guestbook lads seem to be off to McHughs bar after the gig where Mid Tyrone FM's Francie Quinn is doing mein host (apologies if I have the name of the radio station wrong).

Francie will be taking time off from announcing where the peelers are dipping for red diesel to regale all and sundry on life behind the mike.

I'm overnighting in The Hilton. I don't expect to see too much of the room to be honest.

Just spent the last hour listening and watching Horslips videos on YouTube, what can i say but excellent. I really cant believe its took me this long to sit down and really listen to them.

Shamrock Shore, you're well named, that song is beautiful. Wish i could go on thursday, would be a great experience!

BTW, is the new best of called Treasury? i'm thinking of buying either it or all the back issues. What would you's recommend?

Gutted I wont get to see the famous hoslips now they are back in action. Having been raised on a diet of their albums by the old man (whos band used to play relief for them when they played the Royal Arms hotel in omagh), and stories of the wooden floors in dancehalls in bundoran literally bouncing people around due to the crowds, I think it would be a tremendous gig.

The auld fella still maintains they were the best irish band never to come out of ireland.

In no particular order

Sword of light
Trouble with a capital T
Ferdias lement
Fool the beast
The man who built america
Furniture

Now where'd I put that ipod.....

Enjoy yourselves fellas  - its times like this I wish I lived at home.

Omagh Gael

Treasury is the latest 'Best Of' but if I were you I'd buy The Táin first. Put on headphones or turn stereo up to 11 and sit back and listen to (in my opinion) the finest piece of work ever produced by an Irish band.

Then go for Book of Invasions followed by Aliens and Man who Built America.

Once the adrenelin levels have returned to normal check out 'Happy to Meet, Sorry to Part' where it all started.

On Christmas Day when you are cleaning out the turkey put on 'Drive the Cold Winter Away'. There are some gorgeous trad tunes on that wiith a very Christmassy feel.

There are other albums like Dancehall Sweethearts and Unfortunate Cup of Tea but see how you go with the above before hitting these lads!

QuoteBut if I had electrodes on either testicle I'd fess up and say 'Charolais' and 'Sword of Light' but 'I'll be wiating' and 'Furniture' were class as well.

I'm looking forward to 'I'll be Waiting' - an old favourite.  And 'Aliens' is probably my favourite of their albums - a kind of tribute to the diaspora, I suppose.  Do they play 'Ghosts' live in the set?