Gaelic players announce media ban

Started by ziggysego, June 26, 2009, 09:20:11 PM

5% this year - 10% next year and so on and so on. Until they insist on the whole bloody lot.

You've lost me here- 5% of wat? GAA takings?...

LaurelEye

Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 02, 2009, 11:46:13 PM
You've lost me here- 5% of wat? GAA takings?...

All commercial income - takings, TV rights, sponsorship.

3m Euro is nothing compared to what the cute hoor politicians pocket.

Dessie would need to break down exactly what the 3m is for.

£3m is only a starting point ffs

Quote from: orangeman on July 02, 2009, 11:34:47 PM
Dessie has just been on RTE news there - he has eventually let the genie out of the bottle - bottom line is that he will accept a minimum of 5% or €3m. He says that worldwide, other sports get 5-15% so the GPA are at the bottom of the scale.

He says that the disruption to the GAA will continue - not giving interviews for the Munster final and the Leinster final is phase 1 in a "campaign". Phase 2 and 3 will involve different action.

So fair play to Dessie - he only wants €3m a year - so what about it ???

Well it's not as if we werent warning about what would happen. 

Watching Dessie paying out more and more rope to hang himself and the GPA is the best entertainment of the season so far.

And good man Bud for the investigative journalism. You'd wait a long time to see our GAA journalists produce something like that.

Sincerely,
Another malcontent.

would these other sports that 'take' a larger percentage be 'professional' sports by any chance?

actually the word 'chancer' springs to mind.

dessie and the free loader brigade sicken me.
this is not what the GAA is about and while welfare for injury/disability etc needs to be kept going- for county and club players
these leeches have to be procedualised/policy-ised out of the GAA .
they are a cancerous tumour on the butt-ocks of the association.

I think the GAA should 'recognise' the GPA, by offering to take them into the Association en-masse as the players welfare commmmmmiiiiittttteeeeeeeeeeeee. That way they would have a budget, allocated purely for Player Welfare issues such as insurance, injury funds, team holidays etc etc, but everything they spend would be easily traced and approved.

This lark of a separate players body, modelled on professional sports, demanding 5% of the GAA's funds to do what they wish with is bordering on lunacy.

I said at the start that the GPA filled a niche in making the GAA think about players, and for that they should be thanked. But now that it has improved so much, they need to be brought into the fold, not as a separate body, operating with it's own limited company in the shadows etc.

scud

Quote from: INDIANA on July 02, 2009, 11:43:10 PM
5% this year - 10% next year and so on and so on. Until they insist on the whole bloody lot.

This seems to be the general theme of this thread. Can somebody present a cogent, rational argument as to why the GAA is right in not recognising the only representative body for players which currently exists? AZOffaly's idea has merit, although losing independance might throw up problems.

Now the GPA has many faults, but the view that the GAA is like some wealthy 'benevolent' victorian factory owner (who would have looked after his employees anyway, unions just sped the process up  ::) ) is laughably off the mark.

Many posters here say, 'oh i'm for player welfare, but...' Player welfare was a joke before the gpa.

Quote from: scud on July 03, 2009, 09:31:24 AM

Can somebody present a cogent, rational argument as to why the GAA is right in not recognising the only representative body for players which currently exists?

In my opinion:

1. If you officially recognise them their demands will escalate year on year
2. I don't believe you should have a hierarchy of volunteer within the GPA - IC players are where they are due to a variety of reasons - they are the product of a lot of work from volunteers from their clubs - can the people who put up the nets, lined the pitches, coached them from nursery to adult, drove them to matches  etc -  all the while foregoing overtime, family time etc - are they going to benefit from the GPA's vision? Or will they be blackguarded as a 'rump of malcontents' if they express their opinion?
3. The GPA can work as a lobby group to ensure adequate player welfare for all players - the percentage of income if a pie in the sky idea

fer fox ache

scud

Quote from: heffo on July 03, 2009, 09:43:59 AM

Can somebody present a cogent, rational argument as to why the GAA is right in not recognising the only representative body for players which currently exists?

In my opinion:

2. I don't believe you should have a hierarchy of volunteer within the GPA - IC players are where they are due to a variety of reasons - they are the product of a lot of work from volunteers from their clubs - can the people who put up the nets, lined the pitches, coached them from nursery to adult, drove them to matches  etc -  all the while foregoing overtime, family time etc - are they going to benefit from the GPA's vision? Or will they be blackguarded as a 'rump of malcontents' if they express their opinion?
3. The GPA can work as a lobby group to ensure adequate player welfare for all players - the percentage of income if a pie in the sky idea

1. Ignoring a problem in my experience does not make it go away.

2. I agree there shouldn't be a hierarchy but it already exists. Clooney gets €500k apparently. I'd say every poster on here knows of a club that pays their manager. Payment of IC managers is the worst kept secret in the GAA.

3. Work as a lobby group that is not recognised by the body it is proposing to lobby?

Quote from: scud on July 03, 2009, 09:53:50 AM

In my opinion:

2. I agree there shouldn't be a hierarchy but it already exists. Clooney gets €500k apparently. I'd say every poster on here knows of a club that pays their manager. Payment of IC managers is the worst kept secret in the GAA.

3. Work as a lobby group that is not recognised by the body it is proposing to lobby?

Ignoring what problem? They've never been better looked after. 5% will only go up and up. Show me a wage agreeement anywhere on this planet that hasn't increased year on year taking out the current recession. They had a choice when they were kids of what sport they wanted to play. If they wanted to be a professional they should have picked one. No-one puts a gun to their head to play inter county. I know countless guys even at club level who had to restrict their playing days due to work/family/emirgration etc. Thats life.
Its a small indigenous sport played in a small country. What planet is Dessie on. Any little respect I had for the man is long gone.

scud

Quote from: INDIANA on July 03, 2009, 10:02:32 AM
Quote from: scud on July 03, 2009, 09:53:50 AM

In my opinion:

Ignoring what problem? They've never been better looked after. 5% will only go up and up. Show me a wage agreeement anywhere on this planet that hasn't increased year on year taking out the current recession. They had a choice when they were kids of what sport they wanted to play. If they wanted to be a professional they should have picked one. No-one puts a gun to their head to play inter county. I know countless guys even at club level who had to restrict their playing days due to work/family/emirgration etc. Thats life.
Its a small indigenous sport played in a small country. What planet is Dessie on. Any little respect I had for the man is long gone.

Ignoring the gpa is a major problem at the moment.

It is not a wage agreement. They are looking for money for player welfare from an organisation with a turnover of, i'm open to correction, €64m last year.  Plus, anyone with any clue about negotiating doesn't propose the figure they want. Realistically if they got 1-2% it would be a miracle.

This small indigenous sport is able to pay its head honcho €500k and spend another €500k on fireworks. The GAA is no longer some country fair run by farmers, its is a slick, multi-national sporting organization sponsered by banks and international airlines