New Star Trek Movie, your thoughts.

Started by stew, June 22, 2009, 07:40:21 PM

The wife and I went to see the new Star Trek movie yesterday afternoon, I didnt know what to expect as some of the trek movies have been shite, this one was probably the pick of the bunch, a young vibrant cast, great special effects and great entertainment especially since i was able to pull a fearon and get two comped tickets which included free popcorn and drinks.  ;D

What did youse think of the movie?

Thought it was a bit cheesy to be honest. Special effects were fantastic though.

Really ziggy, I thought it refreshing and different from the usual trekkie dirge. If only they would make a quantum leap movie................... ;)

Thought it was class, your man as spock was perfect.

Quote from: stew on June 22, 2009, 07:44:12 PM
Really ziggy, I thought it refreshing and different from the usual trekkie dirge. If only they would make a quantum leap movie................... ;)

:D :D :D :D

What I did enjoy about the film was, that the director has hit the reboot button. That means all the pointless information and trivia the Trekkies have learnt over the years is now void

Dying to see this before it leaves the cinema. Has had great reviews (5 stars in The Sunday Times) which is a rare event!

Gonna have to pull the finger out and organise an unsuspecting babysitter!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2009, 07:49:57 PM
Dying to see this before it leaves the cinema. Has had great reviews (5 stars in The Sunday Times) which is a rare event!

Gonna have to pull the finger out and organise an unsuspecting babysitter!

Tony, it is fantastic in a cinema, I would say it would be far better to watch it on the big screen with wall to wall sound than at home.

Gnevin, you are spot on about the guy as spock, he was the best cast character of them all. I did like Kirk though, I thought he did a great job as well, they all did to be fair. The only hokey thing was the same man standing talking to a younger version of himself, I thought that ridiculous, apart from that the opening sequences were as good as i have ever seen from any movie and it kept my interest from start to finish. I am already looking forward to the sequels. ;D

absolutely loved the film, while a fan of Star Trek i am far from a Trekkie, agree with stew that a lot of the previous movies have been well, dung. Agree that the casting of the young Spock was great as with some of the others, scotty for instance. there was a fair bit of humour in it as well.

Well worth the watch

Quote from: ziggysego on June 22, 2009, 07:47:30 PM

What I did enjoy about the film was, that the director has hit the reboot button. That means all the pointless information and trivia the Trekkies have learnt over the years is now void

Feckin brilliant that. Some of these nuuters are as bad if not worse than harry potter fans. I happened to be staying in a hotel in Chicago a few years ago when there was a trekkie convention going on and every nutbag under the sun was there, dressed like their heroes and speaking klingonese, two of them started fighting in the lobby right in front of me over something that one said to the other in Klingon, something about to other guys mothers being a kardashian wildebeast or some strange shit, they were ejected from the hotel and asked not to return. Muppets. :D

I will say this, Shatner was always a shite actor but as Denny Crane he is absolutely brilliant.

An enjoyable romp and it is set up for sequel after sequel.

And yet again, Austrialian soaps provide new movie principals.

Trevor Hill

Quote from: Gnevin on June 22, 2009, 07:45:51 PM
Thought it was class, your man as spock was perfect.

Spock was great, Kirk also, but I cant stand that c**t who played Scotty. Uhura was nice though.
I thought it was a very good movie, even if you are not a Star Trek fan it was enjoyable.

Quote from: ziggysego on June 22, 2009, 07:47:30 PM

No it just  means they've twice as much trivia now.

It was decent. The story and Eric Bana were virtually irrelevant though. This was all about Kirk and Spock coming together and setting up a new series of films; everything else was incidental.

Ya agree, it was awesome, the two lads playing spock and Kirk absolutely nailed there performances. From the opening act onwards it was just a thrill ride. JJ Abrams is different class, man can do no wrong. Im a Sci-fi nut anyway but went with a mate who hates spaceships, but he loved it too.

A franchise reborn.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 23, 2009, 04:59:31 AM
Ya agree, it was awesome, the two lads playing spock and Kirk absolutely nailed there performances. From the opening act onwards it was just a thrill ride. JJ Abrams is different class, man can do no wrong. Im a Sci-fi nut anyway but went with a mate who hates spaceships, but he loved it too.

A franchise reborn.
Pints?