Wimbledon 2013

Started by gallsman, June 18, 2009, 09:44:29 PM

Should Nadal be injured it's Murray's to lose ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

bridgegael

i see afew empty seats in crowd,  thought it would have been packed to the rafters for britains no1.
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

Back to being Jocky McBottle.

Looks like Sharapova is gonna get beaten in straight sets.

Quote from: Blowitupref on July 02, 2011, 03:31:37 PM
Looks like Sharapova is gonna get beaten in straight sets.
Classy finish.

I was just feeling sorry for all the people who paid good money to get in there today to have to listen to that demented shrieking for the whole match. Time that was banned from the game.

Is it me or are breaks of serve much more frequent in the women's game? Rod Laver was once quoted as saying that it isn't a break until you've held serve yourself. That certainly looked like wisdom today.

Anyway. It never seemed like Kvitova was anything other than in control, so fair play to her. Delighted the Gruntmeister lost.

Quote from: deiseach on July 02, 2011, 04:07:45 PM
Is it me or are breaks of serve much more frequent in the women's game? Rod Laver was once quoted as saying that it isn't a break until you've held serve yourself. That certainly looked like wisdom today.

Anyway. It never seemed like Kvitova was anything other than in control, so fair play to her. Delighted the Gruntmeister lost.

The grunting is really annoying. Glad the quiet one won.

Far more common. Men's serves are much faster and therefore more difficult to break.

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2011, 04:24:35 PM

Far more common. Men's serves are much faster and therefore more difficult to break.

Quite right, having a 'duh!' moment there after all these years of wondering whether I was imagining it

Jees I'm awful sick of thie 'fab four' nonsense from the Brits! It's a 'fab three' and Murray is not in the same league as Djokovic, Nadal and Fed. They have all won Grand Slams on different surfaces and proven themselves the best in the game while Murray has won a few second rate hard court tournaments.

Yes Murray is the best British Tennis player in a long time but I cannot see how he will beat any of the lads in a Grand Slam ever. All 3 would eat him up so people would need to get real about it.

Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 12:56:13 AM
Jees I'm awful sick of thie 'fab four' nonsense from the Brits! It's a 'fab three' and Murray is not in the same league as Djokovic, Nadal and Fed. They have all won Grand Slams on different surfaces and proven themselves the best in the game while Murray has won a few second rate hard court tournaments.

Yes Murray is the best British Tennis player in a long time but I cannot see how he will beat any of the lads in a Grand Slam ever. All 3 would eat him up so people would need to get real about it.

Murray with a bit of luck (an injury here or a great fortnight there) could win an Australian or a US Open.

But he won't be left alone at Wimbledon so I don't see him winning there.

He beat Nadal a few years ago in the US Open semi only to lose to federer in the final.  He's been unfortunate that Nadal and Federer have been in their prime thusfar in his career, now that federer is fading Djokovic is fulfilling earlier promise, so still no way through for Murray.  I think he will win one, but maybe hard courts suit him better and therefore the US or Australia might be his best bet.

On a related note, is Wimbledon the most prestigous of the Grand Slams?  I'm just asking as the players tend to say it is, but then they're being interviewed on BBC, do they say likewise about the other tournaments?

Quote from: Bogball XV on July 04, 2011, 09:54:27 AM

He beat Nadal a few years ago in the US Open semi only to lose to federer in the final.  He's been unfortunate that Nadal and Federer have been in their prime thusfar in his career, now that federer is fading Djokovic is fulfilling earlier promise, so still no way through for Murray.  I think he will win one, but maybe hard courts suit him better and therefore the US or Australia might be his best bet.

On a related note, is Wimbledon the most prestigous of the Grand Slams?  I'm just asking as the players tend to say it is, but then they're being interviewed on BBC, do they say likewise about the other tournaments?

It generally would be. Unlike the rest of the Grand Slams which have advertisers splashed everywhere around the court whereas Wimbledon holds strong on the fact it's all about the Tennis. Much like the Masters in Golf IMO it would be the one everyone wants to win!

Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2011, 10:51:37 AM
It generally would be. Unlike the rest of the Grand Slams which have advertisers splashed everywhere around the court whereas Wimbledon holds strong on the fact it's all about the Tennis. Much like the Masters in Golf IMO it would be the one everyone wants to win!

I think the French Open matches Wimbledon in terms of desirability. To hold Wimbledon ahead of the French Open is to say that the serve-volleyer is a superior tennis player to the baseline slogger. Having said that, your point about the pristine nature of Wimbledon is well made. It does look better, right down to those immaculate courts versus the dust bowls of Roland Garros