Mayo v Roscommon - Connacht SFC Semi-Final, June 20, Venue TBC

Started by RedandGreenSniper, May 13, 2009, 09:46:04 PM

Quote from: stephenite on May 21, 2009, 05:19:36 AM
There's been plenty of 'if only's' over the years Lar - I still think of Kevin O'Neill and where the f**k was he in 1996 - I just feel that as young players are coming through they don't need to be hearing or reading passionate supporters grumble that these young fellas don't really stand a chance because the manager couldn't get along with a player the majority of them never played with.

Some of these lads are the only Mayomen able to run that have Inter county All Ireland medals - let's get behind them, without looking back.

I see where you're coming from Stephenite but would you not think that if these young fellas are that bothered about old men like us grousing behind pseudonyms on the interweb they mightn't have any business playing Championship football against bullies like that fella who, in Joe Brolly's immortal phrase, "put Conor Mortimer in his pocket and fed him on farts"? Would they not be better off at home by the fire, not saying boo to the geese?

Foreverhopeful

Ya i'm sure cafferkey or mcloughlin are too tired anyway after training to be logging in reading this stuff. If they are and they cant handle hearing us folk then county football is not for them.

There's been plenty of 'if only's' over the years Lar - I still think of Kevin O'Neill and where the f**k was he in 1996 - I just feel that as young players are coming through they don't need to be hearing or reading passionate supporters grumble that these young fellas don't really stand a chance because the manager couldn't get along with a player the majority of them never played with.

Some of these lads are the only Mayomen able to run that have Inter county All Ireland medals - let's get behind them, without looking back.

Is that it? Is that the reason he has nt been in the panel? Shocking if true.

Rightly or wrongly McDonald is not in the panel. And he cannot come back at this stage - it would be way too disruptive given all that has happened over the past year (and for anyone who says he came back easily in 2004, that was no where near as big a risk as bringing him back now would be). O'Mahony has made his bed, he's lying in it and his term will live or die by how that decision affected things. But at this stage in the season there is no point in talking about McDonald. We are living in cloud cuckoo land if we think he's gonna be back in and speculating about it is serving no positive purpose at all.

Foreverhopeful

apparently he's bust his knee so i guess that will keep us quiet on the issue i'd say.....

Anyone want to try and name the best mayo team made up of players not currently on the panel. it's nothing to do with having a bash at current players or JOM- just a bit of craic to pass the time.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 21, 2009, 10:36:33 PM
Rightly or wrongly McDonald is not in the panel. And he cannot come back at this stage - it would be way too disruptive given all that has happened over the past year (and for anyone who says he came back easily in 2004, that was no where near as big a risk as bringing him back now would be). O'Mahony has made his bed, he's lying in it and his term will live or die by how that decision affected things. But at this stage in the season there is no point in talking about McDonald. We are living in cloud cuckoo land if we think he's gonna be back in and speculating about it is serving no positive purpose at all.

I don't want to get into a battle of semantics with you Sniper, but we're bucks that post on internet message boards. We never serve a positive purpose. :D

I don't think Johnno will bring McDonald back either, for what it's worth. I don't see how bringing him back would be a risk though. I mean, what could happen only they wouldn't win the All-Ireland? I've seen that often enough to take another belt of it, to be honest. I wouldn't like it, but I could take it. I could take it a bit better if I thought we were playing our best team though. I'm funny that way.

In fairness I dont think there are many glaring ommissions from the current although I would question the worth of some included that i doubt will be involved in a years time - and I m not talking about the old brigade. Aidan Higgins should be there. Apart from that its disappointing likes of  Conroy, Campbell and Varley have gone off the radar for whatever reason.

I think we all realise we ve seen the last of a certain player. Does nt mean we have to like it especially when it may be because, as somebody else has stated, Johnno did nt like the cut of his jib.

The flame still burns

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 10:40:28 PM
apparently he's bust his knee so i guess that will keep us quiet on the issue i'd say.....

Anyone want to try and name the best mayo team made up of players not currently on the panel. it's nothing to do with having a bash at current players or JOM- just a bit of craic to pass the time.

Here ya go!

http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/alternative-mayo-xv/

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2009, 10:57:02 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 21, 2009, 10:36:33 PM

I don't want to get into a battle of semantics with you Sniper, but we're bucks that post on internet message boards. We never serve a positive purpose. :D

I don't think Johnno will bring McDonald back either, for what it's worth. I don't see how bringing him back would be a risk though. I mean, what could happen only they wouldn't win the All-Ireland? I've seen that often enough to take another belt of it, to be honest. I wouldn't like it, but I could take it. I could take it a bit better if I thought we were playing our best team though. I'm funny that way.

My view is bringing him back will do more harm than good at this stage - and I'm not playing McDonald for that. Too much water under the bridge and too much time away from the squad. As I say let John O'Mahony's term live or die by this decision.

Quote from: moysider on May 21, 2009, 11:01:51 PM
In fairness I dont think there are many glaring ommissions from the current although I would question the worth of some included that i doubt will be involved in a years time - and I m not talking about the old brigade. Aidan Higgins should be there. Apart from that its disappointing likes of  Conroy, Campbell and Varley have gone off the radar for whatever reason.

I think we all realise we ve seen the last of a certain player. Does nt mean we have to like it especially when it may be because, as somebody else has stated, Johnno did nt like the cut of his jib.

Of course we/you/whoever doesn't have to like it but I just don't see what bringing it up is going to achieve. Of the other names you mention I'd be disappointed Higgins and Varley haven't been given more of a chance. Its a bit different with the other two bucks.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2009, 05:10:53 PM

I see where you're coming from Stephenite but would you not think that if these young fellas are that bothered about old men like us grousing behind pseudonyms on the interweb they mightn't have any business playing Championship football against bullies like that fella who, in Joe Brolly's immortal phrase, "put Conor Mortimer in his pocket and fed him on farts"? Would they not be better off at home by the fire, not saying boo to the geese?

Not really - I know that some players read this board on a regular basis - I can't say if any of the young fellas do but it wouldn't surprise me. I'd hope that they wouldn't be bothered by anything that is said but if you hear something regularly enough it's bound to make you stop and think, just human nature really. It doesn't even have to be on the Internet, young Mayo footballers always get their ear bent by well meaning old men like us when they're just walking the street.

Don't get me wrong -  I've no problem with anyone giving out shite about his absence if we get knocked in the first or second of the qualifiers, load up and fire away, but can we not leave it until that time?

Foreverhopeful

what players are getting a bashing...??? Let them read away, maybe trev mightnt be too happy but we do say that he is better as a no.10 and not a no.11. Thats about the height of it

How about an alternative 15 so lads? Its simply to pick a team that doesnt include current panel members. I'm not saying these lads should be on the panel or whatever. Just to show really what depth of talent there is in the county.
Here's mine:
                                      Robert Hennelly

Dermot Geraghty             Paddy Navin          Aidan Higgins

Cathal Freeman               David Kilcullen         James Burke

Colm Forde                Jason Gibbons           

Aidan Campbell            Ciaran Mcdonald      Mickey Mullins

Mickey Conroy             Barry Regan               Enda Varley

Quote from: stephenite on May 21, 2009, 11:41:40 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2009, 05:10:53 PM

Not really - I know that some players read this board on a regular basis - I can't say if any of the young fellas do but it wouldn't surprise me. I'd hope that they wouldn't be bothered by anything that is said but if you hear something regularly enough it's bound to make you stop and think, just human nature really. It doesn't even have to be on the Internet, young Mayo footballers always get their ear bent by well meaning old men like us when they're just walking the street.

Don't get me wrong -  I've no problem with anyone giving out shite about his absence if we get knocked in the first or second of the qualifiers, load up and fire away, but can we not leave it until that time?

As others have pointed out here our opinions dont amount to much. We may as well be talking about price of cabbage. But once you cant play ball anymore all you can do is talk about those that do. Its one of life distractions.

But you can be sure that some of the biggest critics of current Mayo players are the lads on the field with them. If we see faults imagine what the lads around them think when silly stuff happens that costs games. Same silly stuff from same players that happens over and over again. After last years Sligo game  I met one player fit to be tied because of how another individual performed .... and with good reason. Players know their stuff. And if players like Aidan Higgins increases their chances of success they want him there. Management is there to have the bus in the yard on time and the best players on board. And bring a coach along and cut out the bullshit.

Foreverhopeful

tell us more moysider.........  :D

I recall Mort's famous interview last year when he was on about McD. Said he lays on ball all day. I'm sure he would enjoy having him back. He's quitened down since he left for sure. Very surprised aidan higgins not in this year - very clever footballer.

Will we see Barry Kelly/Mikey Sweeney in the championship this year?????? I dont think so. Better off having mikey mullins from claremorris, was talking to a source there who said JOM didnt have time for him from the off and once he's made his mind up on a player that's it. Mullins is doing great stuff from wing forward. I hear he likes to win ball around middle and run at defenders but O'Mahony was putting him corner forward in training which didnt suit him at all. Also Enda Varley instead of Sweeney.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 21, 2009, 10:40:28 PM

yeah reports that i heard are not good mightn't see him play again in a cross jersey afull news for us and our championship hopes  :(