National League Final - Kerry v Derry

Started by Kerry Mike, April 20, 2009, 08:42:13 PM

Oakleafer93

Quote from: The GAA on April 24, 2009, 11:08:21 AM

They obviously haven't placed a great emphasis on the league this year, rotated players to test their squad and probably aren't at their strongest outfit yet. Kerry will be well motivated to overturn last year's result and derry's preparation can't have been good this week with the tragedy that has unfortunately occurred.

Aye they still played half a team and walked into a league final, not getting embarrased in any of the matches and suffering a 3 point defeat was the highest defecit?? I think that speaks for itself.

The game takes place after a terrible week for Derry.

This is a case of Galvin versus the Galvinisers.  I think this game can show where Derry might go to this year.  They have more confidence than usual and theres a determination about Derry this year that Tyrone people can equate to.  When Derry one their won all ireland we feared that we would never hear the end of it and we endured 10 years of hell.  Now Derry people are sick of Tyrone and their 3 sams and must strike back twice  to level the score Armagh people might have the rage too but I fear that that might take some time to put right, all in all Kerry in general will take their Ulster beatings and return wilfully each  year to  Croke park to accept their fate.  Aside to that Im looking forward to this game.       

Oakleafer93

Quote from: rrhf on April 24, 2009, 05:12:53 PM
The game takes place after a terrible week for Derry.

This is a case of Galvin versus the Galvinisers.  I think this game can show where Derry might go to this year.  They have more confidence than usual and theres a determination about Derry this year that Tyrone people can equate to.  When Derry one their won all ireland we feared that we would never hear the end of it and we endured 10 years of hell.  Now Derry people are sick of Tyrone and their 3 sams and must strike back twice  to level the score Armagh people might have the rage too but I fear that that might take some time to put right, all in all Kerry in general will take their Ulster beatings and return wilfully each  year to  Croke park to accept their fate.  Aside to that Im looking forward to this game.       

Basically this is a round about way of giving giving us a compliment while dropping in all Tyrone achievements and accolades along the way... a few pointers, Derry are no longer sponsered by Sperrin Galvanisers, and Paul Galvin is rumoured to be injured for this weekend... Anyway, the fact we must strike back twice to level is a totally different competition, and if you check your facts Tyrone must win 4 more(5 if Derry win on Sunday) to equal us in the relevant competition. The entirety of your post is irrelevant to the Derry v Kerry match on Sunday bar the last line. Regardless of how many Sams Derry won compared to Tyrone is irrelevant, I notice you didn't say anything about Tyrone having to win 32 Sams to equate Kerrys total...thats about as relevant as the rest of what you just said.

I wouldnt neccessarily agree with all of that either. 

Oakleafer93

Quote from: rrhf on April 24, 2009, 05:47:40 PM
I wouldnt neccessarily agree with all of that either. 

Fair enough, but tell me what the number of Sams Tyrone has won is relevant to Derry v Kerry league final?

Quote from: KingLarsson on April 24, 2009, 04:06:38 PM
Gon do wan ye tyrone arsehaul!

I know I shouldn't be encouraging them, but for some reason I thought this was hilarious. The perfect reply to that eejit  :D

Ciarraí V Doire Allianz Football League Final 26th April 09 .

(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
(2) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) (3) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore) (4) Killian Young (Renard)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (6) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) (7) Tommy Griffin (Dingle)
(8) Anthony Maher (Duagh) (9) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahilly's)
(10) Paul Galvin (Finuge ) (11) Declan O'Sullivan (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) (12) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (Captain)
(13) Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes) (14) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) (15) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's)

Fir Ionad: Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks)  David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Tadhg Kennelly (Listowel Emmett's) Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane) Kieran Quirke (Duagh) Aidan O'Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar) Bryan Sheehan (St Mary's) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare) Bainsteoir: Jack O'Connor (Piarsaigh Na Dromada) Traenálaí: Alan O'Sullivan (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Roghnóirí: Ger O'Keeffe (Austin Stacks) Eamon Fitzmaurice (Finuge)

Well done to Jack for naming the in form midfielders, big opportunity for both of them to impress. But there are a few great options off the bench for the  middle

Otherwise the injuries have cleared up and Darren O'Sullivan gets a chance to captain the team from the wing, probably his better position where he attacks with pace.

Strong looking line up here's hoping for a good display on Sunday.

Oakleafer93

Would I be correct in saying that a experimental enough full back line youse have?

Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 24, 2009, 09:25:40 PM
Would I be correct in saying that a experimental enough full back line youse have?

wouldnt agree with that. no doubt dara and tadhg will come on at some stage, tom o sullivan has done well lately at full back

RMDrive

Quote from: magickingdom on April 24, 2009, 09:41:31 PM
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 24, 2009, 09:25:40 PM

wouldnt agree with that. no doubt dara and tadhg will come on at some stage, tom o sullivan has done well lately at full back

Do Kerry people think that Tom O'Sullivan will be the FB for the championship. One of your few weak areas IMO.

wherefromreferee?

MK, how has Tommy Griffen been playing this year?
In your Endo!

oakleaf93

Derry: B Gillis, K McGuckin, K McCloy, G O'Kane, C McKaigue, B McGuigan, S L McGoldrick, F Doherty, J Diver, E Lynn, P Murphy, B Mullan, E Bradley, P Bradley, M Lynch.

Derry team for sunday from BBC website.

Surprising half-back line

Strong enough Derry team. They should give Kerry a good game. Whats wrong with the other McGoldrick? Is Muldoon injured? Was impressed with Lynn v Dublin, will be interesting to see how he gets on here.

the green man

I think Muldoon was out anyway, even before last weekends incident. Lynn could find it tough, for thems two hardy half backs Kerry have. Its good to see the management keeping people on their toes with that selection. I think O'Connor is wise putting Tadgh on the bence. Good enough player that he is and all, but he has never, ever, came up against a player like Fergal Doc.

Doire Peadar

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 25, 2009, 12:06:56 AM
Strong enough Derry team. They should give Kerry a good game. Whats wrong with the other McGoldrick? Is Muldoon injured? Was impressed with Lynn v Dublin, will be interesting to see how he gets on here.

Yeah whats the craic with big Barry Mc G?