Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

UtilityMan

I agree the standard of refereeing in Tyrone is poor given the performances of some of the intermediate referees I seen last weekend which was a concern. Eanetta and Hurson are obviously our best 2 but they can't ref every game. It is a small pool that will only get smaller.

I don't agree with the name shaming witch-hunt of referees though, they are human and will make mistakes like the players but we all just want consistency on calls. That is the biggest frustration.

uptheblues

Quote from: UtilityMan on September 04, 2026, 01:09:13 PMI agree the standard of refereeing in Tyrone is poor given the performances of some of the intermediate referees I seen last weekend which was a concern. Eanetta and Hurson are obviously our best 2 but they can't ref every game. It is a small pool that will only get smaller.

I don't agree with the name shaming witch-hunt of referees though, they are human and will make mistakes like the players but we all just want consistency on calls. That is the biggest frustration.

Has sparkey Loughran hung up the whistle, haven't seen him on my travels the year.
"But above all lads, enjoy yourselves"

John Warnock

Quote from: uptheblues on September 04, 2026, 01:47:42 PM
Quote from: UtilityMan on September 04, 2026, 01:09:13 PMI agree the standard of refereeing in Tyrone is poor given the performances of some of the intermediate referees I seen last weekend which was a concern. Eanetta and Hurson are obviously our best 2 but they can't ref every game. It is a small pool that will only get smaller.

Has sparkey Loughran hung up the whistle, haven't seen him on my travels the year.
Hopefully.

ShoresOfTyrone

Quote from: UtilityMan on September 04, 2026, 01:09:13 PMI don't agree with the name shaming witch-hunt of referees though, they are human and will make mistakes like the players but we all just want consistency on calls. That is the biggest frustration.

I think all anyone wants from our referees is consistency but that is something that we don't often get. The time, effort and sacrifice our club players make are immense, however, their year etc can be impacted massively by some of the bizzare calls our refs make at times. I think all referees should be happy to be held accountable for  their decisions in the event they are continually ruining games. The same names appear in this forum time after time.

uptheblues

Quote from: ShoresOfTyrone on September 04, 2026, 02:21:31 PM
Quote from: UtilityMan on September 04, 2026, 01:09:13 PMI don't agree with the name shaming witch-hunt of referees though, they are human and will make mistakes like the players but we all just want consistency on calls. That is the biggest frustration.

I think all anyone wants from our referees is consistency but that is something that we don't often get. The time, effort and sacrifice our club players make are immense, however, their year etc can be impacted massively by some of the bizzare calls our refs make at times. I think all referees should be happy to be held accountable for  their decisions in the event they are continually ruining games. The same names appear in this forum time after time.

100% - However I was at an u16 game at the weekend and when players shouted for a breach the referee said "I'm not using the breach rule today" couldn't make it up.. Same man stood arguing with supporters over the wire. #Spaceman
"But above all lads, enjoy yourselves"

roadtoglory

Quote from: outsidethearc on September 04, 2026, 12:34:55 PMFor the opening game of the senior championship it was a pretty poor standard from both teams. Conditions no doubt played a part, but some of the quality of play and decision making was not what was expected.

Edendork done well to get over the line, especially with McCurry very well marshalled by young McKeown. They will need to step it up in the next round though if Darren hits form he could put away a team on his own.

Looking forward to the rest of the weekends football, some cracking games ahead with tonight to be a huge battle between two top teams. Dromore to win by 2.

Don't think anymore here actually thinks Dromore stand a chance. Carmen by quite a few I'd say.

John Warnock

Quote from: uptheblues on September 04, 2026, 02:27:55 PM
Quote from: ShoresOfTyrone on September 04, 2026, 02:21:31 PM

100% - However I was at an u16 game at the weekend and when players shouted for a breach the referee said "I'm not using the breach rule today" couldn't make it up.. Same man stood arguing with supporters over the wire. #Spaceman
What game + what referee?

Big Watson

Quote from: roadtoglory on September 04, 2026, 02:30:56 PM
Quote from: outsidethearc on September 04, 2026, 12:34:55 PMFor the opening game of the senior championship it was a pretty poor standard from both teams. Conditions no doubt played a part, but some of the quality of play and decision making was not what was expected.

Edendork done well to get over the line, especially with McCurry very well marshalled by young McKeown. They will need to step it up in the next round though if Darren hits form he could put away a team on his own.

Looking forward to the rest of the weekends football, some cracking games ahead with tonight to be a huge battle between two top teams. Dromore to win by 2.

Don't think anymore here actually thinks Dromore stand a chance. Carmen by quite a few I'd say.

Obviously a carmen man then, dromore by 3, although if carmen had my brother inbetween the sticks, they'd probably win.

roadtoglory

Quote from: Big Watson on September 04, 2026, 04:05:57 PM

Obviously a carmen man then, dromore by 3, although if carmen had my brother inbetween the sticks, they'd probably win.

I'm not Carmen. Just a realist. For every 9 tips Carmen be always 1 clown tips Dromore that hasnt a clue. Come back to me in a few hours and say your sorry!

Big Watson

Quote from: roadtoglory on September 04, 2026, 04:08:53 PM

I'm not Carmen. Just a realist. For every 9 tips Carmen be always 1 clown tips Dromore that hasnt a clue. Come back to me in a few hours and say your sorry!

For a man/woman that's not from carmen you seem to be very defensive of them, don't forget who you are talking to, calling me a clown and I'm the one laying up with 5 all Ireland medals in my house between me and the brother.

roadtoglory

Chat it a fe
Quote from: Big Watson on September 04, 2026, 04:14:06 PM

For a man/woman that's not from carmen you seem to be very defensive of them, don't forget who you are talking to, calling me a clown and I'm the one laying up with 5 all Ireland medals in my house between me and the brother.

Cant see how we beat tonight tbh, Dromore no pedigree. Chat in a few hours. I'll be waiting for an apology and we'll leave it there.

Weegortinjoe

All use boys on here talking a load of crap on here. Tbf could be worse ye could be from killyclogher. Eejits

roadtoglory

Quote from: Weegortinjoe on September 04, 2026, 04:31:28 PMAll use boys on here talking a load of crap on here. Tbf could be worse ye could be from killyclogher. Eejits

The B championships not to next week and use are done and dusted for another year as usual in the B championship.

Big Watson

Quote from: roadtoglory on September 04, 2026, 04:24:55 PMChat it a fe
Quote from: Big Watson on September 04, 2026, 04:14:06 PM

Cant see how we beat tonight tbh, Dromore no pedigree. Chat in a few hours. I'll be waiting for an apology and we'll leave it there.

What's your thoughts on the first half RTG? Dromore leading at the half against a strong breeze, look the better team so far, suppose your probably laying up on the Carmen bench so you'll not see this until after the game.

CB234535

Lads what's the story with Emmett McNabb? They'd have won that game easily if he was there