Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

Redhand Santa

I think its harsh and probably wrong to blame Harte here. He's as understanding as any county manager and better than a lot. Tyrone were knocked out this year on the 21st July and by that stage 10 league fixtures were completed. Its been a very fustrating finish to the leagues with the end of them being far too drawn out but that has been nothing to do with Harte (one the issues was drawing out the championships to try and collect funds).

Maybe they should consider starting the leagues a week or 2 earlier this year and being prepared to play a starred game or 2 to get them completed by the middle of the summer and then run the championship off. The club players need to know where they stand and the season has to be shortened. Can't understand why they can't even get the reserve leagues played quicker in particular. If no one wants starred games then have a separate competition in the middle of the summer to give players regular games at the very least.

Christmas Lights

The fact that teams can go for weeks without competitive games will deter many a club player and teams. There is nothing really as frustrating as league games being chopped and changed from one week to the next. Players are having to train away in late October and November because they don't know if they will be in a promotion or relegation playoff situation. Most teams start pre season training in January so the process is definately unnecessarily prolonged.

The reserve situation needs completely revamped also as this year moreso than others has been a joke to say the least with teams not fielding now on a regular basis. Again I blame the fixture & league scenario as with it been so drawn out and games every few weeks, its hard to keep reserve, never mind senior player's motivated. Reserve football in Tyrone probably needs to take note from other counties and make it possible for reserve teams to be promoted & relegated. This would probably mean the reserve games would have to be played on a seperate day but its probably the only way to keep the thing competitive

Quote from: Onthe40 on October 16, 2012, 03:56:40 PM
Well as we know, everything is geared around the county setup for 3 quarters of the season, and i expect next year to be no different, maybe worse as Mickey Im sure will give it an even bigger push considering how close we were to Donegal this year.
As well as the fact the club season runs well into Nov, its the disjointed nature of the whole thing, teams playing once every few weeks, very difficult to keep motivation going this time of year especially when your fighting relegation.

For some there will be at least another 4 weeks of football,a  final round of league games, top 4 playoffs and then a final promotion/relegation game.

Errigal will no doubt hold up the Div1 league semis as well with their ulster club involvement.

I hope we are in a position to. Could all be over on Sunday!

WeeDonns

QuoteMaybe they should consider starting the leagues a week or 2 earlier this year and being prepared to play a starred game or 2 to get them completed by the middle of the summer and then run the championship off. The club players need to know where they stand and the season has to be shortened. Can't understand why they can't even get the reserve leagues played quicker in particular. If no one wants starred games then have a separate competition in the middle of the summer to give players regular games at the very least.

Played Div 3 Reserves this year, and hey, it's only Div 3 Reserves so who gives a feck, right?
It started off well; we had regular fixtures until 22nd June (Although Killyman & Castlederg conceded), then a league game on 8th July. That was our last league game. Then a 'surprise' championship game on 18th August. I say surprise, as it is the case every year, there's confusion and very little notice before this fixture, for both teams.

It came to the stage this year that I got fed up going to training as there were no fixtures to look forward to. I've now quit altogether and probably won't bother with it again, although I'd love a game of football just to finish the season off

QuoteThe reserve situation needs completely revamped also as this year moreso than others has been a joke to say the least with teams not fielding now on a regular basis. Again I blame the fixture & league scenario as with it been so drawn out and games every few weeks, its hard to keep reserve, never mind senior player's motivated. Reserve football in Tyrone probably needs to take note from other counties and make it possible for reserve teams to be promoted & relegated. This would probably mean the reserve games would have to be played on a seperate day but its probably the only way to keep the thing competitive

Seriously thinking of putting a motion forward at our AGM for something like this. I'm not sure if they should be allowed to be promoted/relegated, but I think reserve fixtures should go ahead every week without county fixtures etc interfering. Otherwise the league will finish up the way it is at the moment with teams not fielding. I personally would like to see them played on a Friday/Saturday evening. That way lads can still head out on a Saturday night, while those  pushing for the senior team can make the bench on Sunday afternoon.

The first drawback I can think of is that if Team A are playing Team B, you wouldn't expect people form Team Bs Club to travel to Team A for the Reserves on Friday Evening and again for the Seniors on Sunday. But what I'm saying is; if the Senior game has been postponed or moved for some reason, the Reserve game still goes ahead, but on the Friday

Do yous get what I'm suggesting here or does it just sound like a load of shite?  ???

div 2 result tonite:
stewartstown 0-15 rock 2-9

Good luck to our minors tomorrow against Ardboe in the semi final of the championship!

Fionn no issue with you positing my observations re fixtures. You did a better job merging them than I did.

Wee Donns- Your frustration is mirrored by a lot of guys at our Club, and I am sure throughout Tyrone. Ciaran Woods did a wee piece in the paper this week about the number of games being called off and cited our reserves as an example as we'd 5 games called off. I've only quickly read his piece but I think he was putting emmigration, and the irregular fixtures as being the driver.

The former had an impact with us but the latter was almost certainly the main issue for us. We had 1/2 games mid season where by we had a very long injury list (Longer than normal), and couldn't put a reserve side out. 3/4 years ago we would've got around this as we would've had 4/5 more lads at the Club.

WeeDons- Your assesment of the reserve Championship is spot on. Fionn has grabbed my quote of the issues we had. In truth we could've/ should've refused to play, as the CCC contravened the rules around notice periods for Championship games. However at that stages people were craving games, and we didn't want to stop a game going ahead. However it did impact in our ability to get a decent 15 out.

For me, I wonder will teams soon have to make a financial decision around reserve teams. This year we had 6 league games, and 1 Championship game. Some due to us not fielding, some due to the oppostion not fielding. Does it make sense to pay insurance for 7 games? Definately not.

The CCC had Clubs up there a week or two to vent their issues around fixtures. I was working that night, but it'll be interesting to see what fixes come out.

Personally I think there is a real need for some kind of alternative Cup competition, or league to run when Club's have no games. We need to get to the situation where players will almost always have a game to look forward to at the weekend, and some semblance of fore warning for games.

scout

moortown first team gone, edendork won by 4 tonight. a year or two in intermediate may do the loughshore team the world of good. kildress-edendork play-off then it looks like.

Anyone know who won the IFC  final replay Eskra v Cookstown

redcard

Quote from: Onion Bag on October 19, 2012, 09:54:37 PM
Anyone know who won the IFC  final replay Eskra v Cookstown

Cookstown 1-12 to 0-7.

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 19, 2012, 10:19:08 PM
That's the Moy promoted back to Senior as well.

do they not have to win last game?

Quote from: ONeill on October 19, 2012, 10:34:25 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 19, 2012, 10:19:08 PM
That's the Moy promoted back to Senior as well.

100%?
No it's not, both pomeroy and strabane can still catch them.
Moy have to beat galbally in the last game

Ardboe beat Errigal in minor championship semi. Deserved their win.