GAA Board is not a level playing field

Started by Eoghan Mag, February 23, 2009, 10:37:56 PM

Eoghan Mag

Ah Stephenite there you have displayed the negative thinking that I mentioned. The GAA never has been just about 2 sports in my opinion and the powers that be have even prefared to promote a compromise rules game over other game like rounders which I believe is a wonderful game to both watch and play in. Why do people on this board have to act like sheep and follow the poor example set by their leadership? Surely there are people here willing to stand up and call for all parts of the GAA to get equal attention?

Quote from: Eoghan Mag on February 23, 2009, 11:25:54 PM
Ah Stephenite there you have displayed the negative thinking that I mentioned. The GAA never has been just about 2 sports in my opinion and the powers that be have even prefared to promote a compromise rules game over other game like rounders which I believe is a wonderful game to both watch and play in. Why do people on this board have to act like sheep and follow the poor example set by their leadership? Surely there are people here willing to stand up and call for all parts of the GAA to get equal attention?

I understand to a certain degree where you're coming from - but why should an independent discussion board, run by people out of their own spare time for no reward have to cater for people that in reality, do not exist? You think I'm displaying negative thinking, I think I'm just realistic, I don't know of one person that plays rounders - why should it get it's own discussion board?

As above, why don't you set up your own discussion board and do something positive about it yourself?

downgirl

Anyone who is saying noone follows scór have a look at videos I put up last night at how many hits they have already!!

As for the association distancing itself from scór, the first thing Nicky Brennan said before the presentation of the medals and cups on Saturday night was to apologise for the Late Late GAA special as to why there was no mention of scór or any scór acts on it, that it was orginally planned for scór representatives to be there but RTE cancelled at the last moment.

Also look at Jarlath Burns promoting scór, and many members of this board have participated in scór, or are still doing so.

I wasn't there for the homecoming of our ballad group yesterday but apparently there was a big turn out for it.

So ok, some people don't follow scór but a hell of a lot do, whether it be a passing interest if a local club is in the final stages or you are a die hard like me!!!!

That's fantastic Downgirl, seriously. However, I don't beleive it warrants it's own section on this discussion board, if there is a long running thread on the main board that's even better.

Eoghan Mag

Great Videos there all right Downgirl! But its a pity due to the nature of this board these videos will get buried pages back in no time.

In answer to Stephenite I have no skills in web design and not enough knowledge to create my own board.

Why should we all have a duty to pay homage to every facet of the GAA?

Personally, I couldn't give a shite about rounders, handball, ladies' football or camogie. I very much doubt I'm alone in feeling this way.

http://rounders.gaa.ie/

Look at how many hits this page has (from the dates of the stories the site has been up for 18 months now). Sock collecting is more popular.

And, its an oul foreign sport too.

I've a load of All-Ireland rounders medals. Great game, ye don't know what ye are missing out on!

Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2009, 11:56:09 PM
Personally, I couldn't give a shite about rounders, handball, ladies' football or camogie. I very much doubt I'm alone in feeling this way.

Would have to say I feel the same way, apart from the ladies' football as I took a bit of an interest when Armagh were doing well
Certainly dont think any of these sports deserve their own section
This board is run independently & has to cater for the interest of the majority of its patrons

GrandMasterFlash

In and ideal world Eoghan if this message board was administered/moderated/maintained by the GAA (CLG) then there would be pressure on it to implement a forum for the other aspects of the GAA.

In reality though it's a message board that uses the same format/system as 100000 million other message boards and administered/moderated/maintained by individuals who took it upon themselves to create/maintain it. These things tend to be open source/community based so there's no reason why (with a little understanding of the underlying mechanisms) you couldn't bolt-on whatever related sections you feel are necessary.

Surely we should also have seperate Liverpool and Manure Fans forums, given the support for both these teams, and also one for horny students who talk the talk, but don't walk the walk, and one for how much the recession is destroying the country as there are generally at least 3 threads on it on the go, and one on themmuns and ussums for everyone with a bag of McCain's on their shoulder and one final one for all Tony Fearon's multiple threads about how he Opps did it again and won a pair of tickets to see Blackthorn playing in the Felons club!!!

Eoghan Mag

Very interesting indeed here. There is a thread running by this name: Provisional Gaa Board Revolution Thread and you have lads and lassies from Cork who call themselves 'rebels' but when a person with a real revolutionary idea comes along you mostly dive for cover!

(And before you say I have an anti-Cork bias forget about it! I'd a sister lived for years there and my Aunt was related to Michael Collin's niece!)

longball

think its about time some of the MODs come forward and explain themselves on this case..... Ziggy are u available to comment?
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

Quote from: AFS on February 23, 2009, 11:56:09 PM
Why should we all have a duty to pay homage to every facet of the GAA?

Quite right. I'm football mad, have a passing interest in hurling and that is about it... I'd also say the majority of Ulster folk would fall under the same category.