The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - we go again

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Spurs neither need or want to be in Europa League next season.In any event what has this got to do with Liverpool blowing the league title?

StGallsGAA

Aguero out, Toure out and Silva on one leg.  It's by no means assured that City will win their last 2 games.   But of they do Stevie G's filling of the pants balls-up against Chelsea will be regarded as the pivotal moment.   

Just for you Tony,  stolen from someone else but seeing as you love coming in here with your nonsense and never actually seem to post anything in the thread about the team that you have supported since long before many on here were even glints in their daddy's eyes,  I thought there was a better chance of you reading it here.

QuoteWhat a club they are though, eh? What a club. Three trophies in the last 30 years. f**king massive massive club they are. We're just a joke nowadays, now that the mighty Spurs have overtaken us and finished above us three times without winning a single thing. They even got to the Champions League quarter finals, you know. The quarter finals!! What. A. Club.

I hope one day we can be as good as they are, as big, as mighty. I hope one day players from all over the world talk about us like they do them. I hope we can one day win three trophies in 30 years of existence, and that our name is in the 'They played good football once' history books (those things DO exist, right?). Why the hell are we winning 22 trophies in the last 30 years of OUR existence when everyone knows that a big juggernaut of a club wins three alone?! Why the f**k do we have to go and embarrass ourselves by trying to win yet another one later this month?! How f**king stupid are we going to look when we've won TWENTY f**king THREE trophies compared to their three?

One day, people will hopefully look back and say "I was there son. I was there the year that Spurs won nothing again. I was there. I watched them play football, like other clubs played football, but not quite the same because there was a difference in their football, and I was there. I can tell you some stories about the three trophies Spurs won from 1982 onwards. Stories of bravery, how we sacrificed all other trophies during the same period because three was quite enough. Our status as a huge f**king juggernaut of a club was solidified with just those three. Players from all over the continent and the world said "Who?" when they were asked about us, sometimes turning the volume down on their tv just to do so, as they did not wish to be distracted by the sounds of Liverpool winning yet another trophy in late February 2012, taking their total to something astronomical. I can tell you some stories, my lad. Stories of bravery, of daring managers who hid cash from people who actually wanted that cash, stories of monkey looking players who also won absolutely nothing, stories of players leaving the summer afterwards and us suddenly realising we'd not win anything anymore at the same time as not actually winning anything....."

Oh why can't we be more like Spurs?! WHY?!! It's so unfair. I want to win nothing too!!! WHY CAN'T WE JUST PLAY FOOTBALL LIKE SPURS AND WIN NOTHING!!! IT MATTERS SO f**king MUCH!!!

What a club. What. A. Club

PS Liverpool have not blown the league.  If by some small miracle we win it, then it will be one of the finest stories of success in many decades given where the club was 12 months ago.  You probably don't appreciate what it is to win a League in England as you probably weren't even born when your great club won it last and with 2  in total it is unlikely you will ever see them win it!!!

Sheedy

StGallsGAA

QuoteWhat a club they are though, eh? What a club. Three trophies in the last 30 years. f**king massive massive club they are. We're just a joke nowadays, now that the mighty Spurs have overtaken us and finished above us three times without winning a single thing. They even got to the Champions League quarter finals, you know. The quarter finals!! What. A. Club.

I hope one day we can be as good as they are, as big, as mighty. I hope one day players from all over the world talk about us like they do them. I hope we can one day win three trophies in 30 years of existence, and that our name is in the 'They played good football once' history books (those things DO exist, right?). Why the hell are we winning 22 trophies in the last 30 years of OUR existence when everyone knows that a big juggernaut of a club wins three alone?! Why the f**k do we have to go and embarrass ourselves by trying to win yet another one later this month?! How f**king stupid are we going to look when we've won TWENTY f**king THREE trophies compared to their three?

One day, people will hopefully look back and say "I was there son. I was there the year that Spurs won nothing again. I was there. I watched them play football, like other clubs played football, but not quite the same because there was a difference in their football, and I was there. I can tell you some stories about the three trophies Spurs won from 1982 onwards. Stories of bravery, how we sacrificed all other trophies during the same period because three was quite enough. Our status as a huge f**king juggernaut of a club was solidified with just those three. Players from all over the continent and the world said "Who?" when they were asked about us, sometimes turning the volume down on their tv just to do so, as they did not wish to be distracted by the sounds of Liverpool winning yet another trophy in late February 2012, taking their total to something astronomical. I can tell you some stories, my lad. Stories of bravery, of daring managers who hid cash from people who actually wanted that cash, stories of monkey looking players who also won absolutely nothing, stories of players leaving the summer afterwards and us suddenly realising we'd not win anything anymore at the same time as not actually winning anything....."

Oh why can't we be more like Spurs?! WHY?!! It's so unfair. I want to win nothing too!!! WHY CAN'T WE JUST PLAY FOOTBALL LIKE SPURS AND WIN NOTHING!!! IT MATTERS SO f**king MUCH!!!

What a club. What. A. Club

PS Liverpool have not blown the league.  If by some small miracle we win it, then it will be one of the finest stories of success in many decades given where the club was 12 months ago.  You probably don't appreciate what it is to win a League in England as you probably weren't even born when your great club won it last and with 2  in total it is unlikely you will ever see them win it!!!

Good to see that no-one is getting stressed by it all!    Hopefully it doesn't go down to the wire!!  :)

Quote from: SHEEDY on May 03, 2014, 10:09:28 PM
Quote from: Bingo on May 03, 2014, 09:19:40 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 03, 2014, 08:23:39 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on May 03, 2014, 07:59:00 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 03, 2014, 07:55:44 PM
Small club.
Quote from: Bingo on May 03, 2014, 07:53:07 PM
Blueshite!  ;)
its all part of 'the masterplan'.  ;)

When's the parade?

DVD is out Monday
is that liverpools title winning dvd. you know the one I mean, the one yous won 2 weeks ago.
Was there even such things as DVDs the last time Everton won something.. 1995 was it?  The VHS copy of that is well worn out in your gaff I'd say.
Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆

No great credit winning the league this year,when Man Utd were AWOL,and unlike Liverpool the other contenders City and Chelsea have had a European campaign to deal with. Liverpool blew it I'm afraid and that's something which has tainted Rodgers track record.They wont be in contention again for a long time either

el_cuervo_fc

No matter what way the season finishes now it must be said that it has been thoroughly enjoyable. To be even remotely considered as title challengers has been a welcome change and it bodes well for the future that it might not just be blind optimism any more.

Of course it will be disappointing that City will  more than likely win the league on the last day of the season but it's been a hell of a ride. It could still happen that Liverpool could win, probably not, but we're still in with a shout.

It has also been a great pleasure to watch the collapse over at old Trafford. Great to watch their fans squirm uneasily for a change.   Next year they will be back competing as they will do a city/Chelsea and have a complete overhaul of their team, with the reputed £200 million spend. That will be another thing they won't be able to mouth about anymore. Trying to buy their way to the title.

Chelsea and City will strengthen their squads  as will arsenal to a lesser extent so it will he tough again competing.

Spurs, Meh. They flatter to deceive. They're not even also rans.

Everton will be an interesting one.

As for Liverpool. They will strengthen a few key areas but with the way Rogers has them playing they will have more confidence to push on and challenge for honours. It will also be good to be back in the champions league.

All in all it's been a great year with the unexpected levels of performance.  If we don't win it, so be it, but the excitement and anticipation has been immense.

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on May 04, 2014, 07:29:31 AM
No matter what way the season finishes now it must be said that it has been thoroughly enjoyable. To be even remotely considered as title challengers has been a welcome change and it bodes well for the future that it might not just be blind optimism any more.

Of course it will be disappointing that City will  more than likely win the league on the last day of the season but it's been a hell of a ride. It could still happen that Liverpool could win, probably not, but we're still in with a shout.

It has also been a great pleasure to watch the collapse over at old Trafford. Great to watch their fans squirm uneasily for a change.   Next year they will be back competing as they will do a city/Chelsea and have a complete overhaul of their team, with the reputed £200 million spend. That will be another thing they won't be able to mouth about anymore. Trying to buy their way to the title.

Chelsea and City will strengthen their squads  as will arsenal to a lesser extent so it will he tough again competing.

Spurs, Meh. They flatter to deceive. They're not even also rans.

Everton will be an interesting one.

As for Liverpool. They will strengthen a few key areas but with the way Rogers has them playing they will have more confidence to push on and challenge for honours. It will also be good to be back in the champions league.

All in all it's been a great year with the unexpected levels of performance.  If we don't win it, so be it, but the excitement and anticipation has been immense.
Good post. The gimps will try and tell us otherwise but it has indeed been a great season.
Yes City and Chelsea will strengthen but Liverpool are joint top with 2 games to go and that's with only about 14 players! As you said they could still win it this season, its unlikely but it is possible.
Hopefully with some top players coming in with the way Liverpool are playing now they will be challenging again next season.  Really no reason why they won't be imo.

The United collapse has been hilarious really belly aching hilarious. It says it all that no one is surprised Sunderland beat them yesterday. There have been so many lol moments in their season I hope they haven't used them all up!No doubt they will spend big and won't be as bad next season over at the 0 3 Arena but it sure was fun this season!

Arsenal may strengthen but will still finish 4th next year as they do.

Everton had an unbelievable season but ultimately shit their togs and blew it for qualifying for Champions League.
Can't see them coming as close again next season. They really did throw it away this season imo. It was a great chance for the club but they filled their pants with brown stuff and bottled it.

Spurs....... ;D
Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆

Yes convince yourselves it was a "great" season,but the fact remains Liverpool blew a title in the premiership's most mediocre season,that was there for the taking,at home to a Chelsea reserve team,in a match which highlighted both their manager's and team captain's fatal shortcomings.I don't hear anyone at Chelsea saying it was a "great" season and they might yet finish above Liverpool and they also reached Champions League semi finals.

Liverpool will not sustain any challenge next season,having to cope with Champions League as well as domestically.In the meantime face facts,you blew it.

el_cuervo_fc

It's all about perspective I suppose. Last year everyone was talking about how united walked the league with a mediocre squad.

This year those frailties were shown with all other other teams stepping it up. FFS even spurs are above united this year!! Just goes to show how bad united are.

You keep saying it's been a mediocre season. There doesn't seem to be too many other people saying it. Most in fact have been saying the opposite, and no that's not just Liverpool fans.

You can twist and fish all you want but Liverpool are moving in the right direction. Are Spurs?

Lads please ignore that troll who has suddenly appeared. It's without question that he is on some agenda and looking for this to go down some route, so he can say what he is looking to say.

With his comments this year and others on LFC he has absolutely no business on this thread, let him start his own thread on the topic if he so wishes and he may get the attention he graves there. But let's not engage him here.

The bro in law won the Liverpool quiz live on Off The Ball the last night. All expenses paid trip to the Newcastle game, gets to present a man of the match trophy to Liverpool player and plays in a 5 a side against former Liverpool players on Anfield the day after the match!

I almost hope ye fecking win the league now....almost

Liverpool have had a flash in the pan one good season surrounded by mediocrity.The fact is Spurs over the last 5 years, have been more consistent contenders for a champions league spot,and I can only weep when I observe the likes of Modric and Bale steering Real Madrid to this season's Champions League win.

As someone said we sold Elvis and replaced him with Showwadywaddy!

Quote from: T Fearon on May 04, 2014, 11:14:57 AM
Liverpool have had a flash in the pan one good season surrounded by mediocrity.The fact is Spurs over the last 5 years, have been more consistent contenders for a champions league spot,and I can only weep when I observe the likes of Modric and Bale steering Real Madrid to this season's Champions League win.

As someone said we sold Elvis and replaced him with Showwadywaddy!

Yes, Spurs have been consistent,consistently mediocre!!!!