The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - #DankeJürgen

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Looks like Jones to Utd now. Good buy for them.

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: Bingo on June 08, 2011, 12:45:27 PM

We never wanted him anyways  ;)

Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 08, 2011, 12:48:56 PM

good player surely, but cant understand why they want him with vidic,ferdinand, smalling,evans, oshea & brown all there

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 08, 2011, 12:52:08 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on June 08, 2011, 12:48:56 PM

good player surely, but cant understand why they want him with vidic,ferdinand, smalling,evans, oshea & brown all there

Rio is getting on and can't play a full season, Fergie is never going to play O'Shea at CB, the other two will be gone this summer. So thats two estblished CB with two for the future who can play now if needed and united will have plenty of opportunities to give them games.

I wouldn't worry too much about what Sly Sports News has on about Jones as they are a shower of inbred c***ts anyway.  I don't know if United have the moolah to get him as they were supposed to be entering the race for Henderson as well but that was probably just to drive up the price.  As for where he will play, I reckon he is the long term replacement for Stevie G and will for the meantime play in an attacking wide right or a RM position depending on the formation as he has a deadly cross on him.  He is clearly being seen as a means to get the ball into Carroll in particular. 

As for being a United reject, I don't mind that, plenty of rejects from the "home" of football have gone on to better things, especially ones from the North East

What I like about the apparent transfer policy is that it is predominantly young home based players the club is looking at. Apart from the Gunners every team that has won the EPL has had 3-4 key players who were English/British. Even before the invention of football by SS every team was based on British players. For the last 12 to 13 years the club has gone for cheaper foreign prospects who have never worked out, Le Tallec, Dioa, Spitter to name a few. I think they realise now the folly in that and are building for the future.  Not only will this hopefully have a reasonable short term benefit, ie regaining top 4 status but also it will encourage the local young players to stick at it and the idea of Liverpool being a local club will be re-established.

Capt Pat

Are they going to dump Aqualani now?

Quote from: Capt Pat on June 08, 2011, 01:40:09 PM

As soon as someone ponies up £13 to 14 millyuns they will.  I reckon they are working hard to get the home based players done before the European tranfer window opens in July. 

With Jones away to Cold Trafford Scott Dann/Cahill or maybe the Viking Kjaer?  I would prefer the Dane over the other 2 as he is better than Dann and the equal of Cahill and will cost less.  Also his partnership with Agger will be good as they paly together for Denmark.

Capt Pat

While it is good to see the club spending money they still have to balance the books on a yearly basis. No more unbalanced Chelsea spending sprees. I suppose they could sell Cole and Jovanovic who both cost mothing and Poulsen as well.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 08, 2011, 01:44:34 PM

As soon as someone ponies up £13 to 14 millyuns they will.  I reckon they are working hard to get the home based players done before the European tranfer window opens in July. 

With Jones away to Cold Trafford Scott Dann/Cahill or maybe the Viking Kjaer?  I would prefer the Dane over the other 2 as he is better than Dann and the equal of Cahill and will cost less.  Also his partnership with Agger will be good as they paly together for Denmark.

yeah, and poulson played a right few games along side them for denmark at rightback aswell  :-X

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrFxj8wm1q0

Some of the Henderson moments during the past season.  Comes with the obligatory warning that this is simply a youtube collection and in no way should be deemed to be a conclusive statement of his greatness!!!  Some lovely crosses in it though and I reckon that he will be out on the right side quite a lot.

Quote from: Capt Pat on June 08, 2011, 01:49:49 PM
While it is good to see the club spending money they still have to balance the books on a yearly basis. No more unbalanced Chelsea spending sprees. I suppose they could sell Cole and Jovanovic who both cost mothing and Poulsen as well.

The thing is that if they get the £14m for Aqua then that more or less balances out the cash paid for Henderson and he is a younger, similar player.  They'll get about £6-8m for those other 3 prakasis you mention. 

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 08, 2011, 01:57:50 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 08, 2011, 01:44:34 PM

yeah, and poulson played a right few games along side them for denmark at rightback aswell  :-X

Piss off you and sniff some of that stuff you write, no fecking comparison :-*

Seems like Phil Jones is off to United. Word on twittersphere is that Ferguson had not planned to move for him until next summer until he heard Liverpool had made a bid which forced his hand. Guess after that the player himself chose United. When you can't offer Champions League football I guess these things will happen occasionally. Same thing may well happen with Young.

Anyway time to move on to next centre-half target. Perhaps Desperate Dann or someone else?

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 08, 2011, 03:30:13 PM
Seems like Phil Jones is off to United. Word on twittersphere is that Ferguson had not planned to move for him until next summer until he heard Liverpool had made a bid which forced his hand. Guess after that the player himself chose United. When you can't offer Champions League football I guess these things will happen occasionally. Same thing may well happen with Young.

Anyway time to move on to next centre-half target. Perhaps Desperate Dann or someone else/

The one good thing about Dann is that if he is good enough, which I am not sure he is, he would be easily convinced being a local lad, former season ticket holder as well as playing for a relegated team therefore available cheaper than say Jones or Cahill.  At 24 he falls into the FSG box for signing.  If he could be picked up for about £8m I reckon it would be good business.  With Wilson away to Rangers on loan the Greek Porn King likely to leave Dann is the type of CB that could slot in straight away.  Carra is going to be a bit part player,   Agger has to stay fit and Skertl still can have moments.