Tyrone v Armagh

Started by ONeill, July 10, 2011, 07:02:46 PM

Quote from: regal on July 19, 2011, 10:05:17 AM
As Brian Dooher seems to have a vital role in helping persuade players to stick with Tyrone, do Tyrone fans believe he will make a good manager one day? Whilst, at best, Dooher could be described as a poor man's McGeeney, could he be the man to eventually replace Mickey Harte?

NO

shezam

As Brian Dooher seems to have a vital role in helping persuade players to stick with Tyrone, do Tyrone fans believe he will make a good manager one day? Whilst, at best, Dooher could be described as a poor man's McGeeney, could he be the man to eventually replace Mickey Harte?

PAULD123

What? McGeeney was a centre half back. How can you even compare them? They are both good players but you can't compare a CHB with a forward in any sensible way.

Dooher at best could be described as the hardest working forward ever. At worst could be described as a player who would at least make the squad for any team at any time. McGeeney in fairness was a superb player and for about 4-5 years the best CHB around. How can you get that Dooher is a poor man's McGeeney?

The two players are incomparable

Crazy comment

The first 'poor' man in history with 3 times as much silver in his back pocket than his 'rich' neighbour!

When was the last time Armagh beat Tyrone in senior football?

Was it the Ulster Final debacle of 05?

Can only remember the AISF of 05, the McKenna game in Casement and the Ulster Championship first round a couple of years ago, all won by Tyrone.

If all the above is true, the last time Armagh legitimately defeated Tyrone was 2002 in the replay when Canavan was missing.

It has been a while since Armagh beat Tyrone when it really matters alright. I expect no change on Saturday.

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: BerfArmagh on July 19, 2011, 09:50:52 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on July 19, 2011, 09:26:01 AM
I'd like to see Armagh expose the Tyrone full back line at some point with Jamie & Brian Mallon.
It might be a good game to play the sweeper - I'd use Aaron Kernan, I think it has to be a ball player.
I'd have Mal Mackin on Philip Jordan's wing.

My only really nagging concern is how we deal with the 2 Cavanagh's. At least 1 of them is going to be in the half forward line... I'm not sure who we have to pick either up from there.
If I was Micky Harte... I'd play them both in the half forward line for this game.

Finn Mo might pick one up...

Brian Mallon as committed and nice a guy as he is has had more than enough chances, O Rourke is the man holiding the jersey now

I still believe wee Brian's best position is in the full forward line. He's not often left in there.

QuoteDo you think our FB line is weak Goats?
The last day it was Block, Joey & Carlin and most people think Swift could come back in for Carlin this weekend.

Colm has been playing better than Sean I think this year, as Sean is suffering from teams going out of their way to frustrate him and not let him get into games from the start. I'd like to see Sean transform his game to be a "pass and go" type of runner and not be always taking people on. Then again if he started at 14 I wouldn't complain either.

Is McKeever definitely out then? He will be sorely missed. Who will ye have marking Peter Harte? He won't get as much space as he did the last day I'd say.

I don't think it's a weak full back line... however the 3 mentioned IMO are better suited out the field. I don't recall Dermy being a particularly tight marker... & I'd fancy smaller nippy forwards like Jamie & wee Brian against the other 2 every day (as long as we hit the right type of ball in)!

Pete Harte will likely be lifted by Aaron Kernan i'd say.

O'Neill - of the 3 games in '05 Tyrone only deserved to win the first drawn game. They were much better that day than Armagh. The 2nd & 3rd games Armagh were the better team.

It's only now that I appreciate the devastation and heartache suffered by the apple-chompers in 2005. Armagh looked unbeatable that year - at their peak. Tyrone were cruising in the Ulster Final but Armagh still won after the Collins blunders. It seemed like destiny. I think Armagh would've handled Kerry OK in that final too. I'm sure the street-urinators still have nightmares about Canavan's point. I remember Steven McDonald saying that he plays a point he missed over and over in his head.

I met John McCloskey one night and we discussed that game. You could feel the bitter regret he held over that result but refused to blame anyone. The bounce of a ball/misplaced pass.

So, after all these years I have come to empathise with the complete mess the Armagh fans must have been in when sun rose the following morning and they looked at the Irish News. For that reason, I wouldn't begrudge you a draw maybe this weekend.

take_yer_points

Quote from: ONeill on July 19, 2011, 11:07:41 AM
It's only now that I appreciate the devastation and heartache suffered by the apple-chompers in 2005. Armagh looked unbeatable that year - at their peak. Tyrone were cruising in the Ulster Final but Armagh still won after the Collins blunders. It seemed like destiny. I think Armagh would've handled Kerry OK in that final too. I'm sure the street-urinators still have nightmares about Canavan's point. I remember Steven McDonald saying that he plays a point he missed over and over in his head.

I met John McCloskey one night and we discussed that game. You could feel the bitter regret he held over that result but refused to blame anyone. The bounce of a ball/misplaced pass.

So, after all these years I have come to empathise with the complete mess the Armagh fans must have been in when sun rose the following morning and they looked at the Irish News. For that reason, I wouldn't begrudge you a draw maybe this weekend.

This Steven McDonald?

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 19, 2011, 09:32:10 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 19, 2011, 08:32:14 AM
So can anyone confirm to me yet, is it on the box or not?

No, it isn't.

Now what the feck am i going to do, I have a stag night out in Belfast sat night booked for the past 3-4 months, noone could have foreseen this fixture,

Yes, that's him. Used to point at his number.

Radda bout yeee

Quote from: PAULD123 on July 19, 2011, 10:36:10 AM

What? McGeeney was a centre half back. How can you even compare them? They are both good players but you can't compare a CHB with a forward in any sensible way.

Dooher at best could be described as the hardest working forward ever. At worst could be described as a player who would at least make the squad for any team at any time. McGeeney in fairness was a superb player and for about 4-5 years the best CHB around. How can you get that Dooher is a poor man's McGeeney?

Crazy comment

My defining memory of both men:

McGeeney: McGuigan putting him on his hole in the 03 final and kicking a quality point!

Dooher: Taking two/three massive hits along the cusack stand sideline in 08 final and then kicking a massive point after all the hard work!

I think this sums them up in my mind!

onefaircounty

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 19, 2011, 10:37:51 AM

The first 'poor' man in history with 3 times as much silver in his back pocket than his 'rich' neighbour!

Look, questioning the quality of Dooher is crazy, a legend.

But, I fooooking hate this medals' argument, it's such a stupid one. Djimi Traore has a Champions League medal.

onefaircounty

Quote from: Radda bout yeee on July 19, 2011, 11:40:04 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on July 19, 2011, 10:36:10 AM

Crazy comment

My defining memory of both men:

McGeeney: McGuigan putting him on his hole in the 03 final and kicking a quality point!

Dooher: Taking two/three massive hits along the cusack stand sideline in 08 final and then kicking a massive point after all the hard work!

I think this sums them up in my mind!

Radee Bout Yee: Gobshite.

Summed up pretty well I think.

drici

The poster Y.A.I.C. is much missed in these situations.