Allianz Hurling League 2011 - Roinn 1

Started by Bord na Mona man, February 10, 2011, 08:55:38 AM

Well done Dublin. That was fantastic to watch.

Was at the game today and what a performance by the Jackeens, we have seen Kilkeenny doing that to many teams over the years but can't ever remember them getting a tanking like that before, they were outplayed all over the field. Probably a first for me shouting for the Dubs , I hope it does not take a hold on me !!

Pity all the so called Dublin supporters that we see in July and August every year could not have filled the place today. But a great result for hurling in the capital and hopefully they can build on it and give the Leinster title a good rattle.

Quote from: Reillers on May 01, 2011, 09:02:55 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on May 01, 2011, 08:27:56 PM
QuoteBut while it was a great result for Dublin and the day that was in it, I can't see it changing a lot in the championship. After all, it's only the League. KK will be back. And with no disrespect to Dublin, this was never going to be one of their priorities.
For FS Reillers will you either state your case one way or the other but you are talking utter bullshit. Kilkenny would not have beaten that Dublin team today whether it was in a League or an All-Ireland. Any piece of silverware is a priority to the Cats.  If your argument was to be taken to a logical conclusion it was then lucky for Cork when they met Kilkenny in the league in Nolan Park on return from their strike that Kilkenny had no interest in the league that day as well or they wouold have beaten Cork by fifty points instead of 23 or whatever it was.  Dublins plan, as Daly suggested to Cody the last day, was to match Kilkenny in the physical stakes and they did that along with out hurling them. They are a great bunch of lads and a breath of fresh air to hurling in Leinster.
Oh give it a rest.
I praised Dublin, I did nothing but praise Dublin. They well deserved it and KK didn't go easy on them, but I think, I know, we all know, that come Championship it will be a very different story from them. The League isn't any teams priority, now winning the thing is great and that's what some teams set out for. But for most it's about setting out your team and seeing how they're set.
Most teams aiming to be around in September are going to target the Championship not the league.

And you're bringing the strike back into it, get over it for the love of god.

Would you ever stop moaning. I said Dublin did really well, that it was great for hurling and hopefully make the championship a little more interesting and Leinster a little more challenging. It was brilliant, absolutely brilliant to see Kilkenny beaten, not just beaten, but hammered.

But it is, I'd say, a rarity, and anyone with a brain would know that the likelyhood (unless they've really lost it all togheter) of them playing that badly in the championship is very, very unlikey.

Thanks Reillers you praised us. You dont mind if we enjoy this before you write us off for the championship completely do you?

Great win for us today. Have to start somewhere and the league is as good as any. As regards the championship  we have Offaly in a few weeks and thats as far as we're looking. I've no doubt kilkenny will be different in the championship but they are struggling without  Walsh, Sheflin, Fennelly and Power. Previously they wouldnt have. With all those back they could win another all-ireland- without any two of them they wont.

Our main aim for the championship would be to get to a semi. If you get that far you can win it. But we're miles off that. Offaly will be very tough, if we were lucky enough to win that- then its galway(probably) and after that the cats would be waiting. So we're miles off picking up championship silverware without having to go to hell and back to do it.

The promotion that todays win will do for the game in dublin is unmeasurable. Delighted for the players and delighted for Daly who's put his heart and soul into this. For all the waffle spoken of outside managers being a negative- today has just proven that theory to be bullshit.

Just fantastic. Delighted for all Dublin hurling fans, not least the lads on here. I remember after we won the Munster title in 2002 that Ger Loughane said 'all hurling rejoices for Waterford'. Same feeling today for Dublin.

Quote from: hardstation on May 01, 2011, 10:45:42 PM
I may be naive but I reckon the Dub support will massive come championship, which would be great to see.

I did laugh when the Dub captain called Anthony Daly "Dalo" during his speech.

Great for hurling. We'd still beat them.
Listen to be a real dub he should be christened Anto. In my best possible dublin accent.

Was at the game and was delighted to see Dublin win.
Wouldn't write off Kilkenny though they will be a different beast come the Championship.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Cody reckons it wasn't a red card, I'd disagree Brian.

Quote from: hardstation on May 01, 2011, 11:41:21 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 01, 2011, 11:32:49 PM
It was a sending off, however, is grabbing some man's visor still a sending off (to which Larkin reacted)?
There were a number of similar blows struck in the melee.

Still, that'd be straw grabbing and scapegoating by the Cats, who were out-hurled all day.

Was very minimal to be fair, probably asked him if his sister was any good in bed
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2011, 11:49:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 01, 2011, 11:41:21 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 01, 2011, 11:32:49 PM
It was a sending off, however, is grabbing some man's visor still a sending off (to which Larkin reacted)?
There were a number of similar blows struck in the melee.

Still, that'd be straw grabbing and scapegoating by the Cats, who were out-hurled all day.

Was very minimal to be fair, probably asked him if his sister was any good in bed

She is.
Nordie Tayto is shite

Reillers

Quote from: INDIANA on May 01, 2011, 10:38:38 PM
Quote from: Reillers on May 01, 2011, 09:02:55 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on May 01, 2011, 08:27:56 PM
QuoteBut while it was a great result for Dublin and the day that was in it, I can't see it changing a lot in the championship. After all, it's only the League. KK will be back. And with no disrespect to Dublin, this was never going to be one of their priorities.
For FS Reillers will you either state your case one way or the other but you are talking utter bullshit. Kilkenny would not have beaten that Dublin team today whether it was in a League or an All-Ireland. Any piece of silverware is a priority to the Cats.  If your argument was to be taken to a logical conclusion it was then lucky for Cork when they met Kilkenny in the league in Nolan Park on return from their strike that Kilkenny had no interest in the league that day as well or they wouold have beaten Cork by fifty points instead of 23 or whatever it was.  Dublins plan, as Daly suggested to Cody the last day, was to match Kilkenny in the physical stakes and they did that along with out hurling them. They are a great bunch of lads and a breath of fresh air to hurling in Leinster.
Oh give it a rest.
I praised Dublin, I did nothing but praise Dublin. They well deserved it and KK didn't go easy on them, but I think, I know, we all know, that come Championship it will be a very different story from them. The League isn't any teams priority, now winning the thing is great and that's what some teams set out for. But for most it's about setting out your team and seeing how they're set.
Most teams aiming to be around in September are going to target the Championship not the league.

And you're bringing the strike back into it, get over it for the love of god.

Would you ever stop moaning. I said Dublin did really well, that it was great for hurling and hopefully make the championship a little more interesting and Leinster a little more challenging. It was brilliant, absolutely brilliant to see Kilkenny beaten, not just beaten, but hammered.

But it is, I'd say, a rarity, and anyone with a brain would know that the likelyhood (unless they've really lost it all togheter) of them playing that badly in the championship is very, very unlikey.

Thanks Reillers you praised us. You dont mind if we enjoy this before you write us off for the championship completely do you?

Great win for us today. Have to start somewhere and the league is as good as any. As regards the championship  we have Offaly in a few weeks and thats as far as we're looking. I've no doubt kilkenny will be different in the championship but they are struggling without  Walsh, Sheflin, Fennelly and Power. Previously they wouldnt have. With all those back they could win another all-ireland- without any two of them they wont.

Our main aim for the championship would be to get to a semi. If you get that far you can win it. But we're miles off that. Offaly will be very tough, if we were lucky enough to win that- then its galway(probably) and after that the cats would be waiting. So we're miles off picking up championship silverware without having to go to hell and back to do it.

The promotion that todays win will do for the game in dublin is unmeasurable. Delighted for the players and delighted for Daly who's put his heart and soul into this. For all the waffle spoken of outside managers being a negative- today has just proven that theory to be bullshit.

I didn't write ye off. Read my post. All I said is I can't see Kilkenny playing that badly again. That's the worst I've seen them in a long time.
I agree that 2/3 years ago it wouldn't have mattered that a lot of their big players were missing.
I don't think KK will win it this year, I think they've had their time and I'm  not sure they'll win it. 
It was a great win for Dublin and for the day that was in it. But I think KK will up their game dramatically, like top teams do, come championship. The KK's and Tipps of the world just about tick over in the League, they have another level to go to.
Teams like Dublin who are developing and looking to improve will target the League, will give it a priority because realistically any other silverware would be a hard ask.

I like most gave Dublin no chance. Turned on the game to see how much KK were winning by and was pleasantly surprised.

Still it is a massive achievment and watch now for the D4 bandwaggon to inflate faster than the Leinster rugby one.
Still nothing like a major boost for the game. Keeps things fresh and interesting.

Congrats Dublin. Daly is an excellent manager. His time with Clare (when they were bereft of natural talent) should be taken in to perspective now. Loughnane gave him a very hard time in the media back then.

QuoteI like most gave Dublin no chance.
What you mean is that you gave Dublin no chance, the odds have reduced a lot from 40/1 for them as in the post below since the start of the league. I have seen Cats teams play when on the day no team would beat them, the last example was their four in a row All-Ireland and they humming like a sewing machine. Yesterday was Dublin's day.

Yesterday after the game in the car park of Clonliffe college was talking to a group of Kilkenny supporters who were simply dumbstruck with the Dublin performance. I have heard moaning about the kick pass being gone from football, yesterday Dublin were striking exquisite passes, some fifty yards, some short with the hurls that doesn't come from lying in ice baths in La Manga, it comes from ball work. It comes from answering the call to get up at 6am in the morning for training that Daly made to sort out the men from the boys, after which as the captain said yesterday, they had 35 players in training sessions each of who gave his all. Surely someone must have noticed yesterday the massive improvement in skill levels, getting the ball up in the hand at first touch, not being bullied off the ball and coming out with the ball from close quarter melees?

The book by Christy O'Connor "The Club" tells me a little bit about Anthony Daly, it is a very short part of a chapter but nevertheless it tells me all I want to know about him as does the camaraderie and bite he has put into this team and what it tells me is that come the championship, Dublin will have earned the respect to be treated with as much caution as anyone else on a given day. By achieving that they have done all I ever wanted to see them doing, restoring an interest in hurling in Dublin and put more hurls in kids hands and they did that yesterday.

Everyone knows championship is a different scenario than the league, but there is a big difference when you talk about the first league games of the year on February in wattery boglands and the Division 1 final in May.  We are basically hitting Championship season now, and Dublin are in some shape.  They now look to have the hurlers to go along with the fitness and strength they possess. The majority of the Dublin team have well built upper bodies and they also use their strength well in rucks and when breaking through tackles.  On top of that they have strong runners in every area of the pitch and there is not much an opposition can do when you have players who can break away from their man at pace and cover 50 or 60 yards. 

Championship is going to be different, you could argue that Kilkenny will turn it up a gear come Championship but whats to say Dublin can't either.  Imagine the confidence this win will give them going forward, it will no longer be a case of going out in Leinster and hoping to show they are competitive with Kilkenny and stay within 5 or 6 points of them, yesterday proved that they have the ability to compete with them.  Kilkenny do not go out and play league finals in as slow a pace as they can, they were out to win this yesterday but were hammered and I think that at best from a neutrals point of view everyone was thinking along the same lines as when they played in Leinster a few years ago and hoping that Dublin were simply competitive but I doubt that many actually expected Dublin to actually win.  The big factor is obviously the fact that Kilkenny had so many of their key players missing, and come Championship those players will make a huge difference and in essence it will be a completely different team that Dublin have to play if they meet again.  But as I said, you would hope that at a minimum the match yesterday has now got rid of the inferiority complex and should they meet again Dublin will just go out and play hurling without thinking in the back of their heads that they wont win.

Well done Dublin! Hurling needs the likes of the Dubs to step up a level. I'm delighted for them. Hopefully they will get a good run in the Championship.