Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Stolen from FaceBook:

6 Green Bottlers sitting in d Dail,
N if 1 Green bottler shud grow a pair of balls
There'd be no more Biffo n more Fianna Fail!!!

Peter Solan the Great

Oh the embarrassment of these Castlebar simpletons. Imagine one of them is going to be Leader of the country

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x5gcx5OUack&feature=related

The best thing to come out of this election would be the merging of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail or, more likely, the hammering of FF so that there is only one centre-right party. Ideally that would mean a FG overall majority and then a strong performance from the left wing (Labour, SF) so that there is the politic situation in Ireland that we have a pretty well defined left v right alternative in elections in the future instead of the relic of the civil war - FF or FG who are two sides of the same coin.

Someone mentioned the five French Republics there. France had a very different history to us to account for all of those variations but what they have now is a centre-right party and a socialist alternative, with a small number then going for  the far right of Le Pen. I hope Ireland don't have a demand for a Le Pen type figure but electoral choices based on ideologies and not personalities shouldn't be too much to ask for, should it?

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 21, 2011, 06:14:33 PM
The best thing to come out of this election would be the merging of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail or, more likely, the hammering of FF so that there is only one centre-right party. Ideally that would mean a FG overall majority and then a strong performance from the left wing (Labour, SF) so that there is the politic situation in Ireland that we have a pretty well defined left v right alternative in elections in the future instead of the relic of the civil war - FF or FG who are two sides of the same coin.

Someone mentioned the five French Republics there. France had a very different history to us to account for all of those variations but what they have now is a centre-right party and a socialist alternative, with a small number then going for  the far right of Le Pen. I hope Ireland don't have a demand for a Le Pen type figure but electoral choices based on ideologies and not personalities shouldn't be too much to ask for, should it?

Fianna Fail isn't a pure centre-right party. It is a populist party who does what it can to get re-elected without the burden of ideology. That is why it is successful and why it will always end in tears.

Look at the last decade. Higher and higher public spending on the back of lower and lower taxes. It is not just the banks that gave us the reputation of being a financial basket case.

Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on January 21, 2011, 05:54:05 PM
Oh the embarrassment of these Castlebar simpletons. Imagine one of them is going to be Leader of the country

Cringeworthy stuff of the highest order as I said at the time, that video.

Quote from: muppet on January 21, 2011, 06:21:37 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 21, 2011, 06:14:33 PM

Fianna Fail isn't a pure centre-right party. It is a populist party who does what it can to get re-elected without the burden of ideology. That is why it is successful and why it will always end in tears.

Look at the last decade. Higher and higher public spending on the back of lower and lower taxes. It is not just the banks that gave us the reputation of being a financial basket case.

Fair point. Bertie famously declared himself a socialist. But Fianna Fail's continued run was faciliated by the lack of a real alternative. That is not a criticism of FG, merely of the history of Irish politics. And a new left/right divide would only be useful with real politician reform where TDs were elected to govern and legislate and not to get medical cards and sort out the potholes after the bad weather. To be honest so much needs changing that it is hard to be optimistic.

In terms of Political,Social or Economic change, the forthcoming election will effect nothing. What it will do is establish and prove, beyond all reasonable doubt,  that the Irish electorate are the most Conservative in Europe, if not the world. While the political and financial ellites continue to prosper, the ordinary citizens are being driven to despair, poverty and emigration, the hope and expectation is for the return to power of one of the most right wing parties in Europe. Aided and abetted by a Poodle Labour Party, unworthy of the name Labour, they will gleefully and enthusiastically implement the IMF and ECB dictats. As for reform, the only likely change will be a degrading of workers and citizens rights. The really sad part of all this is that not only will the majority not vote for a real viable radical alternative, they wont even consider one. Its not just FF who are sick and have lost their way, its the Irish Nation

Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 21, 2011, 06:37:34 PM

I actually don't find that video cringeworth tbh, as this is a normal reaction anywhere in the world, sure in Moneygall they where like that when Obama won ffs.

What I did find alot worse and cringeworth was when that clown ran out of the Oireachtas shouting that Mayo had won, I just thought O no what a muppet, cringe.

Peter Solan the Great

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 21, 2011, 08:40:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 21, 2011, 06:37:34 PM

I actually don't find that video cringeworth tbh, as this is a normal reaction anywhere in the world, sure in Moneygall they where like that when Obama won ffs.

What I did find alot worse and cringeworth was when that clown ran out of the Oireachtas shouting that Mayo had won, I just thought O no what a muppet, cringe.

Of course you dont. Sure werent you one of them.

Quote from: Lone Shark on January 21, 2011, 10:58:24 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 20, 2011, 09:38:32 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 20, 2011, 09:09:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 20, 2011, 08:41:41 PM
Anybody else sick of the election already?

Not at all, I can't wait to see Dev spinning in his grave with a copy of the Irish Press shoved up his hole

as Charlie runs burning with the fires of Hell through Phoenix Park.

For Fine Gael's sake I really hope you have nothing to do with them especially on the canvassing end of things.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 20, 2011, 09:41:33 PM
I was just thinking that Seanie. Maybe he's a FF plant, a sort of double agent. Like Ian Paisley being the IRA's best recruiter.

Lads I know ye're coming at this from a different perspective and of course deep seated rage is not an attractive trait that will bring along a lot of support, but surely ye must understand that while people keep it under their hats as best they can, for a lot of people who have seen through FF and their ways for the last five years, of course it's natural to want them to suffer. Just as the parents of a murdered child want the killer to go to jail for the crime, so it is natural that the citizens of Ireland would want to see justice done to those who brutally raped and sodomized our collective society.

A year or so ago I would have taken part in a discussion on this board on the death penalty and I remember opposing it on the grounds that if I wouldn't be willing to be the guy to flick the switch, then I shouldn't support it, but that was at a time when it would be designed for bog standard murderers and abusers. Fianna Fáil have systematically robbed thousands of wealth from everyone in this country for the enrichment of themselves and their friends, they have denied the opportunity to live and work in Ireland to a whole generation, and their administration of everything is geared towards re-election, to the point that if you're part of the clan, you get your debts written off and a cosy job on a state quango somewhere, if you're not, your vital medical treatments go undone. That's a crime, organised, orchestrated and deliberately executed, on a scale way beyond anything else in the history of the state. Ask me would I flick the switch if Bertie was in the chair? I honestly don't know.

Don't presume that because there are people out their who feel that they should all burn in hell, that they are a plant. I find it a quite natural feeling right now.

I also understand that I'm probably helping their cause by getting the backs up of traditional FF voters who are just looking for an excuse to return home to the party with their vote on March 11th, but I can't help it. These people are going to find some excuse to do so anyway,they're conditioned to do so.

I really wish I wasn't partial to a particular party because I feel genuine anger towards Fianna Fáil, by being an F.G. supporter this is easily dismissed, I believe unfairly. Perhaps my wording was crass, but that is more than the Fianna Fáil party deserve they have been a parasite on the back of the Irish nation for far too long. They are so bad that if there where only two choices F.F. or S.F. I would give S.F. all my preferences.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 21, 2011, 08:46:33 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on January 21, 2011, 10:58:24 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 20, 2011, 09:38:32 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 20, 2011, 09:09:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 20, 2011, 08:41:41 PM
Anybody else sick of the election already?

Not at all, I can't wait to see Dev spinning in his grave with a copy of the Irish Press shoved up his hole

as Charlie runs burning with the fires of Hell through Phoenix Park.

For Fine Gael's sake I really hope you have nothing to do with them especially on the canvassing end of things.

Quote from: AZOffaly on January 20, 2011, 09:41:33 PM
I was just thinking that Seanie. Maybe he's a FF plant, a sort of double agent. Like Ian Paisley being the IRA's best recruiter.

Lads I know ye're coming at this from a different perspective and of course deep seated rage is not an attractive trait that will bring along a lot of support, but surely ye must understand that while people keep it under their hats as best they can, for a lot of people who have seen through FF and their ways for the last five years, of course it's natural to want them to suffer. Just as the parents of a murdered child want the killer to go to jail for the crime, so it is natural that the citizens of Ireland would want to see justice done to those who brutally raped and sodomized our collective society.

A year or so ago I would have taken part in a discussion on this board on the death penalty and I remember opposing it on the grounds that if I wouldn't be willing to be the guy to flick the switch, then I shouldn't support it, but that was at a time when it would be designed for bog standard murderers and abusers. Fianna Fáil have systematically robbed thousands of wealth from everyone in this country for the enrichment of themselves and their friends, they have denied the opportunity to live and work in Ireland to a whole generation, and their administration of everything is geared towards re-election, to the point that if you're part of the clan, you get your debts written off and a cosy job on a state quango somewhere, if you're not, your vital medical treatments go undone. That's a crime, organised, orchestrated and deliberately executed, on a scale way beyond anything else in the history of the state. Ask me would I flick the switch if Bertie was in the chair? I honestly don't know.

Don't presume that because there are people out their who feel that they should all burn in hell, that they are a plant. I find it a quite natural feeling right now.

I also understand that I'm probably helping their cause by getting the backs up of traditional FF voters who are just looking for an excuse to return home to the party with their vote on March 11th, but I can't help it. These people are going to find some excuse to do so anyway,they're conditioned to do so.

I really wish I wasn't partial to a particular party because I feel genuine anger towards Fianna Fáil, by being an F.G. supporter this is easily dismissed, I believe unfairly. Perhaps my wording was crass, but that is more than the Fianna Fáil party deserve they have been a parasite on the back of the Irish nation for far too long. They are so bad that if there where only two choices F.F. or S.F. I would give S.F. all my preferences.
It's dismissed because people have you down as the village idiot.  You can put your point across without ranting and raving as you have been for months.

theres no harm in being passionate about your beliefs mayo... the country has been shafted your intitled to be angry in fact according to what is being said all over the world irish people have not been angry enough

Quote from: Pangurban on January 21, 2011, 08:30:15 PM
In terms of Political,Social or Economic change, the forthcoming election will effect nothing. What it will do is establish and prove, beyond all reasonable doubt,  that the Irish electorate are the most Conservative in Europe, if not the world. While the political and financial ellites continue to prosper, the ordinary citizens are being driven to despair, poverty and emigration, the hope and expectation is for the return to power of one of the most right wing parties in Europe. Aided and abetted by a Poodle Labour Party, unworthy of the name Labour, they will gleefully and enthusiastically implement the IMF and ECB dictats. As for reform, the only likely change will be a degrading of workers and citizens rights. The really sad part of all this is that not only will the majority not vote for a real viable radical alternative, they wont even consider one. Its not just FF who are sick and have lost their way, its the Irish Nation

This is an interesting post and I reluctantly agree with most of it. However, I disagree with FG being the most right wing in Europe for two reasons:

1) FG is not even the most right wing in Ireland. The PDs and the PD leaning FFers are/were the most right wing in Ireland.
2) Irish political parties are all ultimately the condom around the FF member. They are flexible and when necessary protect themselves by emulating the shape of the larger party .

And yes I have had a glass or two of wine.

Candyman

A fb post by a member of the board today:

"Irony - Brian Cowen, currently presiding over the most unpopular government in the history of the State, had a meeting today in Armagh at a place known locally as 'The Shambles'."