Cluiche ceannais na sraithe: Corcaigh v Maigh Eo

Started by muppet, April 11, 2010, 04:20:40 PM

drici

Steve Capall scores
Thu, 20th Nov, 2008

The Noel Meade trained Steve Capall finished with a strong late run to eventually take the concluding Liscahill Bumper at Thurles today.

The son of Dushyantor looked well held by leaders Cadspeed and Dick Naylor but finished strongly for a length and a quarter win.

Meade later reported "win or lose, the plan was to go hurdling with Steve Capall after today so today was a bonus!"

Steve Capall carries the colours of Galway based Fortysomething Syndicate, which members include one Hector O'hEochagáin.

Never mind all that - John Maughan is back in the Mayo Advertiser:

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/25328

I don't think Maughan ever forgot Johnno's radio show, you know. Always worth reading between the lines in these things. Ah well - a bit of banter only adds to the crack.

League title there for the taking
MAYO ADVERTISER, APRIL 23, 2010.

Opportunity knocks for Mayo footballers next Sunday in Croker. A victory over Cork in the National League final would be an enormous achievement for this present group of players. On the basis of the compelling evidence of Mayo's victory over the same opposition two weeks ago, I really do think a National League title is imminently achievable. Granted, next Sunday's opposition have been making all the right soundings in their impressive league campaign with a number of good victories to their credit, but Mayo have also enjoyed a terrific league campaign, with six out of seven victories in the campaign. The question is being asked in these quarters, however, were Cork really trying in that last league game in Pairc Uí Chaoimh two weeks ago? As we know, Cork had already qualified for the league final before the last game and, to a certain extent, they had an influence on who they played in the final. To step off the gas and allow Mayo win without too much exertion might just present a handier opportunity to win a league title in Croker. A final against the Dubs in front of a large Dublin crowd just might not have been as easy, they might have been thinking. A few people have suggested to me that once Cork discovered that the Dubs were trouncing Tyrone in the first half in Omagh that same Sunday, their intensity dropped quite noticeably and they ambled through the remainder of the match unconcerned about the result. Nonetheless that was not the situation in the other games played in Division 1 when Mayo ground out impressive results against formidable opposition.

In fact, it's been a terrific league campaign for Mayo with four wonderful away victories against top class opposition. I will be honest here when I suggest that I thought at the start of the campaign Mayo might struggle to retain its division 1 status. But the matches where I thought we would struggle versus Derry, Tyrone, Kerry and Cork were dealt with in a manner that has left most supporters giddy with anticipation. Don't forget Mayo left us with a couple of good days here in Castlebar, too, with impressive victories against the auld enemy up the road and a good win over Monaghan. Any team is capable of having a really bad day and those who were at the Dublin match here in Castlebar will admit that particular match could be categorised as poisonous. In fact both teams were dreadful that day.

So, just how good are Mayo? This league final will benchmark the progress made and it will provide us with a good indication of what we can expect later on this summer. The rebuilding job is now up and running and, for the first time in years, the options are now greater. Over the last couple of years we looked short in the critical games, but that is no longer the situation. This current squad has a plethora of young cubs who have taken to the task of playing at this level as if they were at it for years. The team has youth, pace, buckets of confidence, mighty resilience, and a never say die attitude that just might cause problems for Cork on Sunday.

I have been mightily impressed throughout the league with the positive contributions from some of the younger players. In particular, Donal Vaughan, Kevin McLoughlin, Chris Barrett, Seamus O'Shea, Mark Ronaldson, Enda Varley, and Alan Freeman have all embellished their reputations throughout the league. When you consider that we have lined out in some of our big games without the experienced Peadar Gardiner, Pat Harte, Ronan McGarrity, Alan Dillon and Conor Mortimer, it gives you some indication of the transformation taking place. OK, OK, delivering on the big occasion is not a trait that we have become familiar with yet, but a win on Sunday just might force the pendulum in our direction for once and take us out of purgatory.

Cork are not quite the finished article just yet. Mayo teams in recent years have never feared playing them and, unlike Cork teams of times past, this current squad had its reputation tarnished by its All-Ireland defeat last year. Granted they can look really impressive at times, particularly when given room to express themselves. But, they have conceded nine goals in this year's league and we have proven goal scorers in this Mayo team. The jury is out, but the feeling is good!

southsidejohnny

Have to fully agree with Ros4life, (what a sentence to have to serve! being a Rossie for life)  sorry where was I? ah yes that a Mayo championship team should lose to the likes of Castlerea is indeed a disgrace and I am gratified to see a Roscommon man acknowledge that. However even the weakest counties i.e Roscommon, Carlow, and other bottom feeders occasionly have a giant killing act. So Ros4life (with no remission poor chap) dont run down Castlerea, enjoy their day in the sun. Division 4 next year is it Ros4life. Hope ye dont spend yere life in 4.

Quote from: southsidejohnny on April 23, 2010, 05:32:30 PM
Have to fully agree with Ros4life, (what a sentence to have to serve! being a Rossie for life)  sorry where was I? ah yes that a Mayo championship team should lose to the likes of Castlerea is indeed a disgrace and I am gratified to see a Roscommon man acknowledge that. However even the weakest counties i.e Roscommon, Carlow, and other bottom feeders occasionly have a giant killing act. So Ros4life (with no remission poor chap) dont run down Castlerea, enjoy their day in the sun. Division 4 next year is it Ros4life. Hope ye dont spend yere life in 4.

If you trying to insult me dear boy don't give up the day job  ;) In my Honest Opinion Club football here is in a all time low & is one of the Reasons why Roscommon are so poor today, Ger heneghan is the best player they have he scores 90% of what they get & as for your Weakest counties Comments  ::) Roscommon are known for there strong football tradition in Club & County (unlike Carlow) & i have Faith we shall Return

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 22, 2010, 09:32:36 PM

Shields on AOS will be a big dual, hopefully Aidan will prove his worth in Croker again

Shields will be out in the half back line and O'Sullivan will go in on AOS. Well, that's if he starts Counihan rarely names the team that actually starts. I'd say Shields will be center back, if he plays full back Counihan won't get out of CP alive.

western exile

It is funny how when someone starts a lie, many people start to believe it.  :-\
The Mayo champions did NOT lose to Castlerea.   The beat them!   The order of the western world did not change   ;)

Quote from: western exile on April 23, 2010, 07:31:47 PM
It is funny how when someone starts a lie, many people start to believe it.  :-\
The Mayo champions did NOT lose to Castlerea.   The beat them!   The order of the western world did not change   ;)

Joseph Goebbels - "If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it. The lie can be maintained only for such time as the State can shield the people from the political, economic and/or military consequences of the lie. It thus becomes vitally important for the State to use all of its powers to repress dissent, for the truth is the mortal enemy of the lie, and thus by extension, the truth is the greatest enemy of the State."

Cosmo Kramer

Quote from: ballinaman on April 23, 2010, 12:40:08 PM

Cosmo....so defo no chance of TG4 streaming it??

You can give it a shot, but I doubt it. As SLIGONIAN said, you will most likely need to get an Irish IP to get it working. Mind you, that's not impossible...

Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 23, 2010, 12:15:53 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 23, 2010, 01:36:16 AM
That is the correct team to go with. In fact it was pretty much the only team that could be picked. Some lads have been injured and it would be criminal to drop likes of Chris Barrett. He s been superb and he/we need to know how much more he has. Kerrigan will probably be his duty on Sunday. If it was a 5 v 12 confrontation I'd go with Barrett. 2 v 15 may well be trickier but sure we ll find out, and now is the time to find out. He, and others have also been very patient. As a result we now have a decent looking 20+ players. Next Sunday we ll learn more about starters. There s also 5/6 that come in. The team that will play Sligo is still a work in progress I would think. I doubt it ll be the 15 named there. I expect McGar to start against Sligo. The likes of Harte, Gardiner, Varley and Kilcoyne might have to keep their powder dry and make impacts off the bench. Thats the nature of things. To get to a league final players have been doing well and those players are in on merit. Not like the same team that played v Meath should now just take over again, anyone?  If we progress the team will evolve and subs in Croke Pk. and  Mark. Park could well be lynchpins later. The Sligo game is massive imo.
As regards the Mortimors. No way will Mayo start without Trevor as long as he has a pulse. Conor is in a bit of a scrap for his place. But I still think this management will go with Mort, Moran and Sé for Champ if all fit.
Spot on Moysider!
Janey, when the pair of us is happy with Johnno and his team, things must be looking up. ;D
But O'Mahony stopped his endless chopping and changing about a long time ago and the results are there to be seen. I feel he is getting close to his preferred 15 at this stage and changes from now on will be minimal. In all my years, I have never seen a team like the one he is presently developing- the style of play and the type of player he seems to be going with break all Mayo stereotypes.
The FB line is the most mobile I have seen to date and if Keith does get back in there, he can only add to the effectiveness of the line. I honestly thought the three of them were going to be eaten alive when I saw them line up against their Cork opponents last game out. The height and weight difference was striking- or so it seemed to me. I don't remember any of them making a clean overhead catch that day but they harried and hassled and blocked down so much that the langers only got one clean shot at Clarkie.
I see no reason at all why Chris Barrett should be dropped at this stage; he got MOTM that day, didn't he?  I think all the backs are there on merit and it's up to those in the wings to fight their way back in. IMO, Keith probably will and Peadar probably won't, barring injuries or loss of form of any of the incumbents.
I agree with Tubberman re Parsons. He has undoubted talent but is liable to fade out at times. Still, he has shown what he is capable of and McGar will have a fight on his hands if he is to replace him for the championships.
The HF line is as good as we've got and I don't see any obvious advantage in messing about with the FF boys either. The three lads there got a bit mixed up at times down in Cork but, once again, I can't see any obvious advantage to be gained by dropping or shifting any of them.
I think we're all set to go now with the best we have and I see no reason to be afraid of them hoors from Cork or anybody else.

Time will tell Lar. Time will tell.
Maybe I should try to qualify my earlier post about the selected team. I believe it was the correct team to pick for this game. I m not sure Johnno has deliberately arrived at this selection or it has just turned out this way because of circumstances? I firmly believe if Aiden Higgins was in the panel he d be playing. Bar injuries I believe Gardiner, Higgins and McGarrity would all be starting on Sunday. Our style of play is largely down to the individuals available. I m sure Johnno wishes he had a defender who could catch a ball above his head. One would have come in handy last year against Meath and may well be needed this year as well. But I digress.
Injuries during the League meant fellas like Barrett, O Malley got extended runs and when O Se joined Parsons in midfield he did well and the half-forward line continued to thrive. It would have been a major blow to squad morale if some of these lads were dropped for the final. The team is evolving naturally. By starting this selection he can call on likes of Ronan, Keith, Peadar, Harty, Killer and Varley to steady the ship if people start calving during the final. That s better than bringing on fellas who were dropped after playing themselves into the final. Anyway I have no doubt that at least Ronan and Keith are in Johnno s 'team in the head' for the championship. I d say he sees this Cork game as probably needing 18-20 players to win it. Whatever happens we will have a better idea of championship team on Sunday evening.

They had an interesting chat about the game on Seo Spóirt on TG4 tonight. Seán Óg de Paor was a guest - Seán Óg bigged Johnno up a lot in his book and he was at it again tonight. He reckons O'Mahony hates stars - "prima donnas" doesn't really translate into Gaeilge but I'd say that's what he meant.

As for as Seán Óg is concerned, the team is the thing for Johnno, and he has now built a team in Mayo where everyone pulls their weight, as opposed to fellas either leaving it to the star or the star being too grand to get down in the muck. Seán Óg reckoned Mayo will do it.

Seán Bán Breathnach, on the other hand, isn't buying it. Seán Bán said the same thing David Brady said on Newstalk last night, that Mayo have not resolved their issues with high balls inside and we'll be seeing any God's amount of them on Sunday. Seán Bán reckoned Cork by two.

For what it's worth, I reckon Seán Óg was a bit unfair to Mayo teams of the past. The team that was 1-3 to 0-0 down after ten minutes to Galway in 2004 didn't come back to win that game by sitting on their holes and filing their nails.

I fancied Cork at the start of the week, then Mayo when I saw the big Cork names missing, and now I'm damned if I know how it's going to turn out. But whatever does happen, Moysider is right - we'll know a lot more about the Championship team than we do now at half-five on Sunday.

Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 23, 2010, 09:37:43 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 23, 2010, 12:40:08 PM

Cosmo....so defo no chance of TG4 streaming it??

You can give it a shot, but I doubt it. As SLIGONIAN said, you will most likely need to get an Irish IP to get it working. Mind you, that's not impossible...

While it might not be impossible, it's as close to it as makes no difference.
Maybe Sligonian would come back to us and post the link to the Irish IP address he has found to be reliable.
I doubt very much that it's a proxy server as there doesn't seem to any reliable Irish ones out there. When I read what you and some of the lads in Oz had to say, I took a root around to see what's available and I couldn't find a reliable Irish one. There doesn't seem to be anything there for free but I found some that should do the trick alright but they are not free.

This one seems okay but it costs £9.95 per month.
http://www.irishproxyserver.com/

This one could do the business also but costs $9.95 pm.
http://www.overplay.net/

You talking about VPN servers here and not proxies but I doubt if any one gives a damn if all that's wanted is a video stream from RTE or any other site that only accepts an Irish IP.

If Sligonian comes back with whatever he is using, it might save those who need an Irish IP a load of trouble.

I'm sorry to say the lads in Australia are feckd for this one. I was in the same position for Mayo V Meath last year, Setanta Ireland where showing the Charity Sheild (a f**king disgrace of the highest order), whatever about the merits of a competitive fixture in another sport, but a bloody glorifed challenge match.

western exile

Quote from: hardstation on April 23, 2010, 11:15:39 PM
Over the 2 days, I'll be supporting:

Port Láirge
Aontroim

Árd Macha
Maigh Eo
I am curious... In the Ulster derby game, what influenced your choice?

western exile

Quote from: hardstation on April 23, 2010, 11:23:19 PM
Down is a horrible county and couldn't get enough beatings slapped into them imo.
that is what I suspected  ;)
so not for the love of Armagh then   ;D

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 23, 2010, 10:37:13 PM
They had an interesting chat about the game on Seo Spóirt on TG4 tonight. Seán Óg de Paor was a guest - Seán Óg bigged Johnno up a lot in his book and he was at it again tonight. He reckons O'Mahony hates stars - "prima donnas" doesn't really translate into Gaeilge but I'd say that's what he meant.

As for as Seán Óg is concerned, the team is the thing for Johnno, and he has now built a team in Mayo where everyone pulls their weight, as opposed to fellas either leaving it to the star or the star being too grand to get down in the muck. Seán Óg reckoned Mayo will do it.

Seán Bán Breathnach, on the other hand, isn't buying it. Seán Bán said the same thing David Brady said on Newstalk last night, that Mayo have not resolved their issues with high balls inside and we'll be seeing any God's amount of them on Sunday. Seán Bán reckoned Cork by two.

For what it's worth, I reckon Seán Óg was a bit unfair to Mayo teams of the past. The team that was 1-3 to 0-0 down after ten minutes to Galway in 2004 didn't come back to win that game by sitting on their holes and filing their nails.

I fancied Cork at the start of the week, then Mayo when I saw the big Cork names missing, and now I'm damned if I know how it's going to turn out. But whatever does happen, Moysider is right - we'll know a lot more about the Championship team than we do now at half-five on Sunday.

O'mahony at heart is still a teacher and the players are little boys and he doent trust them one bit . how can any real on field leadership develop when as soon as a bit of indivuality is shown they are off the team.
Mcdonald being the obvious one but connor Mortimer and parsons have suffered as wellabd I suspect aiden campbell is paying the Price as well . his Fear of any bit of hype is another manifestation of his refusal to Trust the players and thinks they will go to jelly at the sign of a reporter or cameraman.
That said Mayo should win despite him sunday with the biggest danger to mayo coming down the middle of the cork attack but i fancy may will go for a shoot out and with AOS back playing well i think mayo will have the ammoo to outgun Cork
MAyo 2:17 Cork 1:15