Cluiche ceannais na sraithe: Corcaigh v Maigh Eo

Started by muppet, April 11, 2010, 04:20:40 PM

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 22, 2010, 09:16:26 PM
Mayo team picked but will all of these fifteen start on Sunday?

David Clarke
Chris Barrett
Ger Cafferkey
Liam O'Malley
Donal Vaughan
Trevor Howley
Kevin McLoughlin
Seamus O'Shea
Tom Parsons
Andy Moran
Alan Dillon
Trevor Mortimer
Conor Mortimer
Aidan O'Shea
Mark Ronaldson

C'mon Mayo!

oneoftheseyears

Cork team:
Paddy O'Shea
Ray Carey
Michael Shields
Eoin Cotter
Noel O'Leary
Paudie Kissane
Jamie O'Sullivan
Alan O'Connor,
Aidan Walsh
Fintan Goold
Donncha O'Connor,
Patrick Kelly
Daniel Goulding
Ciaran Sheehan
Paul Kerrigan

David Clarke
Chris Barrett
Ger Cafferkey
Liam O'Malley
Donal Vaughan
Trevor Howley
Kevin McLoughlin
Seamus O'Shea
Tom Parsons
Andy Moran
Alan Dillon
Trevor Mortimer
Conor Mortimer
Aidan O'Shea
Mark Ronaldson

A nice mix of youth & experience in that Mayo line up, Strong in midfield & plenty of Scorers in that forward line

Welcome one of these years, I take it ur a Mayo man, feel free to name ur club!
I'd say that's te team that will start, conor is the only one I'd drop

Shields on AOS will be a big dual, hopefully Aidan will prove his worth in Croker again

Barrett has a tough day ahead, Kerrigan is a flyer & he'll pull him every where

oneoftheseyears

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 22, 2010, 09:32:36 PM
Welcome one of these years, I take it ur a Mayo man, feel free to name ur club!
I'd say that's te team that will start, conor is the only one I'd drop

Shields on AOS will be a big dual, hopefully Aidan will prove his worth in Croker again

Barrett has a tough day ahead, Kerrigan is a flyer & he'll pull him every where

Mayo through and through!!!  If you cut me in 2 Id be like a stick of rock you would buy in Wellworths years ago!! Green on one side and Red on the other!!     Ardnaree too! But have not played with them since my under 16 days. ( A long time ago!)  A lot of other posters on other forums are slagging off the National Football League Final. They should be ashamed of themselves. Even if Mayo were not playing on Sunday I would be glued to it. It is part of our GAA heritage. There are, after all, only 2 National titles a senior player can win playing Inter County Football for his Co. (Open to correction) So good luck to Mayo on Sunday!! And to hell with the begrudgers!!!

Foreverhopeful

ardnaree eh? They still trawling in the gutter's?

Well i love these new Mayo usernames fair play to ye lads

oneoftheseyears

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 22, 2010, 09:49:07 PM
ardnaree eh? They still trawling in the gutter's?

Tyrawley is a different part of Ballina ALTOGETHER man!! ::)  ;D

Foreverhopeful

am just kidding, welcome to the site... You flying the Ardnaree flag, don't think we have any Ardnaree posters (open to correction). How they looking for da Junior. Any Mayo players there!!!

Quote from: muppet on April 22, 2010, 08:10:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 22, 2010, 08:02:44 PM
Not many heading to the game from Knockmore/Ballina area. How is the rest of the county faring out?

We got cars.

:D LOL

Quote from: oneoftheseyears on April 22, 2010, 09:28:15 PM
Cork team:
Paddy O'Shea
Ray Carey
Michael Shields
Eoin Cotter
Noel O'Leary
Paudie Kissane
Jamie O'Sullivan
Alan O'Connor,
Aidan Walsh
Fintan Goold
Donncha O'Connor,
Patrick Kelly
Daniel Goulding
Ciaran Sheehan
Paul Kerrigan

Mayo to win.

David Clarke
Chris Barrett
Ger Cafferkey
Liam O'Malley
Donal Vaughan
Trevor Howley
Kevin McLoughlin
Seamus O'Shea
Tom Parsons
Andy Moran
Alan Dillon
Trevor Mortimer
Conor Mortimer
Aidan O'Shea
Mark Ronaldson

Thanks R&GS,
I hadn't expected the team announcement so soon. I had thought Johnno would have delayed announcing his line-up until the last possible minute, as usual.
There's no change then from the starting 15 in the last game. That's okay for me as I liked what I saw in Cork. Sure, some lads took wrong options at times and might have done some things differently if they had more experience. Experience will come in time.
Right now, I'm more than happy to say that Johnno and his men are doing all that I could ask of them. Roll on Sunday and leave them at it!
PS. Just looked at you sig; If someone does ask you, you might consider putting your money on 2011. I still think this year could be a bit early but that doesn't mean I'd be disappointed if I was to be a year off target. ;D

Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on April 22, 2010, 07:34:41 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 03:15:08 PM
For the mayolads in oz, its on TG4 so therefore will be on there website so you can watch it there.

I see in most team selections, no mortimers? Are they injured, out of form or what?

Unfortunately TG4 have started blocking content outside of Ireland due to pressure being put on them by Setanta. Until last year RTE regularly didn't block GAA coverage internationally on their website, but again the lovely people at Setanta put a stop to that, as well as most of the internet streams that were broadcasting.

I expect the Mortimers to be in. You could make a case for picking a half forward line without Trevor (Moran/S O'Shea/Dillon) and a full forward line without Conor (Varley/A O'Shea/Ronaldson), but I think they will play, certainly Trev will start.
I got an irish IP address as fail safe and worked every time, I could watch all RTE all yr up until a 5 weeks ago, i though TG4 was worldwide but that obviously changed but with th IP address it sorted it.

So the mortimers are not the fans favourite is the conclusion judging by the opinions on here but management have selected them so differing views. Looking forward to getting a look at ye on Sunday.

Bod Mor

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 11:39:07 PM

So the mortimers are not the fans favourite is the conclusion judging by the opinions on here but management have selected them so differing views. Looking forward to getting a look at ye on Sunday.

I wouldn't have that opinion about the Mortimers at all. Trevor is a horse of a man and works really hard and always plays well against Galway (if he was that fired up in every game he'd be an all star every year).
We need Conor in there and he balances out the free taking duties with his left foot. If there's a pressure kick at the end you can bet he'll put it over (like the Connacht final against Galway a few years ago).
I'd say it's the first time in ages there are 3 Shrule men starting in the forward line and only one player from the county champions in the team, how many counties can claim that!!
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

Quote from: Bod Mor on April 23, 2010, 12:42:07 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 11:39:07 PM

I wouldn't have that opinion about the Mortimers at all. Trevor is a horse of a man and works really hard and always plays well against Galway (if he was that fired up in every game he'd be an all star every year).
We need Conor in there and he balances out the free taking duties with his left foot. If there's a pressure kick at the end you can bet he'll put it over (like the Connacht final against Galway a few years ago).
I'd say it's the first time in ages there are 3 Shrule men starting in the forward line and only one player from the county champions in the team, how many counties can claim that!!
We have none of the County Champions starting against Antrim and IMO rightly so.