Current A.I. odds Ladbrooks, Paddy Powers & Boylesports as of today

Started by Fishead_Sam, April 09, 2007, 09:57:35 PM

thebuzz

"I agree re Mayo, people seem to be a bit too quick to write them off after last years final.

I think they will be close again this year."

And the main difference this year is that they have a manager who has no fear of the big occasion and will be able to settle players' heads if the big day comes about.

To be honest I think the bookies have it about right. The top 2 teams in the betting are the 2 sides best equipped to win an All Ireland, in my opinion. Hard to see any team beating both of them to win an All Ireland although of course they mightn't have to. I'd accept that it looks as though Armagh's best days might be behind them, I'd still be hopeful there might be a last sting in the tale if our injury list gets smaller and soem of the u21s adapt well to championship football quickly.

Jack Dempsey

Quote from: dubnut on April 10, 2007, 11:43:40 AM
Quote from: Jack Dempsey on April 10, 2007, 11:38:52 AM
3. Dublin ( home advantage is a big help, would be further down only for it )

Didnt realise we were scheduled for Parnell Park this summer  ::)

Dublin are 11/2 purely because of the population, therefore the amount of people likely to back them is much higher, therefore a greater risk to the bookie.
I would say 12 or 14/1 would be more realistic.

Lots of people in Antrim and they are quiet a big price. Do you have a Betfair account. If so I'll take some say 11/1 Dublin for sam.

dubnut

Quote from: Jack Dempsey on April 10, 2007, 12:39:45 PM
Lots of people in Antrim and they are quiet a big price. Do you have a Betfair account. If so I'll take some say 11/1 Dublin for sam.

Thats cause the bookies know Antrim havent a hope in hell.
Dublin could possibly win it, it would be a surprise but if they won at 11-1 the bookies would suffer huge losses.
Home advantage isnt a factor as they dont play in their home ground.

belleaqua

Mayo represent best value, great odds.

Kerry are the team to beat, bit of a blow with Eamon Fitzmaurice retiring today, following Moynihan and Mike McCarthy. Defensive options could be gettin scarce.

Tyrones form is very worrying for supporters, while personally i feel Armagh are finished. Dublin still a bit windy IMO.

Donegal and Mayo look the part.

Mayo Senior and u21 double..what odds on that?

Fishead_Sam

belleaqua: We reckon we could get the ladies in aswell, so a triple for Mayo is as likely when it comes to win as winning Mayo, you know Mayo expect them to win 3 and they will probably go out after 2 matches, right them off and they might win everything. Predictable and Mayo only go together in September

Jack Dempsey

Quote from: dubnut on April 10, 2007, 12:44:57 PM

Thats cause the bookies know Antrim havent a hope in hell.
Dublin could possibly win it, it would be a surprise but if they won at 11-1 the bookies would suffer huge losses.
Home advantage isnt a factor as they dont play in their home ground.

So when Kerry play in Tralee they dont have home advantage, you are having a laugh. Everyman and his dog knows Dublin have a huge advantage when playing in Croke Park. The sidestep of my other query was expected.

dubnut

Quote from: Jack Dempsey on April 10, 2007, 01:18:26 PM
[The sidestep of my other query was expected.

If you are referring to Betfair, no I dont have an account, thats why I "sidestepped" the query  ::)

I dont know how many times on this site Dubs were pounced on by non Dubs for suggesting Croke Park is their home ground.
Ye cant have it both ways!

p.s. I never said Kerry dont have home advantage when playing in Tralee, no sure what thats got to do with Croke Park.

Jack Dempsey

Quote from: dubnut on April 10, 2007, 01:25:27 PM
Quote from: Jack Dempsey on April 10, 2007, 01:18:26 PM
[The sidestep of my other query was expected.

p.s. I never said Kerry dont have home advantage when playing in Tralee,

I do know that you didnt say that

dubnut

But you suggested I did
"So when Kerry play in Tralee they dont have home advantage, you are having a laugh"

QuoteKerry are the team to beat, bit of a blow with Eamon Fitzmaurice retiring today, following Moynihan and Mike McCarthy. Defensive options could be gettin scarce.

No point start a new thread but best wishes to Eamon Fitzmaurice on his retirement. Has been a loyal servant for nearly 10 years and gave his all for the Kingdom. His finest hour came in the 2004 final when he had Ciaran McDonald in his hold for most of the game.

He has been off the pace however over the last few years and was never going to get a starting place come championship time. He was a player who seems to carry alot of weight during the winter.
He was a solid defender and in latter years was tried to limited success as a centre forward.

From a panel point of view I think we are in good shape in the backs as we now have Padraig Reidy, Daniel Bohane, Mossy Lyons, Brendan Guiney, Ronan O'Flaherta and Killian Young when he returns from injury, vying for the numbers 4 and 7 jerseys. I am assuming the 2 O'Se brothers will man the other side with the 2 Gardai from Rathmore controlling the centre.

Anyway fair play to Eamon Fitzmaurice for his Kerry years, 3 AI medals in the pocket, you cant ask for more than that from any man.

cavanmaniac

If the league is any barometer with a number of new and returning faces now at the top table, it could be one of the most open championships in years.

Dublin, as always seems to happen them after the trampoline effect of a new manager in his first year, have tapered off a little of late. They'll improve and be thereabouts come summer again but Wexford, Longford, Louth, Kildare and especially Laois will all push hard for a Leinster title. Perversely the qualifier route might harden Dublin up a little and serve them better if they go that way, but you'd reasonably expect a more consistent team in the third year of Caffrey's reign but instead they look to be still in a degree of flux/uncertainty.

Teams like Donegal (if they get the ship back on course in the next few weeks after their latest outburst of drinking and indiscipline) and Mayo look well placed, along with Laois, to step up from the second tier of contenders as IMO Kerry will really struggle when Darragh tires at midfield and already they have problems at centre and fullback that might not be adequately plugged come summer.
Cork have enough to progress a fair bit as well but are ultimately short of the forwards required to win big.
Tyrone have their problems in the camp and frankly I don't fancy them. Not that I'd be surprised if they got their ducks in a row but I just can't see it this year. Themselves and Armagh are suffering from listening to the same manager for too long IMHO.

My money is on a winner from outside the established elite of the past 5/6 years. It's going to be an interesting year.

Lots of people in Antrim and they are quiet a big price.

To be honest, a lot of them wouldn't have Gaelic Games in their blood.

QuoteThemselves and Armagh are suffering from listening to the same manager for too long IMHO.

Perhaps Armagh and Tyrone should do a celebrity manager swap, Setanta could pay for the TV rights.

QuoteTo be honest, a lot of them wouldn't have Gaelic Games in their blood.

and they know the value of money, so aren't likely to bet on Antrim to win the AI, whatever odds there are!

MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

cavanmaniac

Quote from: armaghniac on April 10, 2007, 03:15:27 PM
QuoteThemselves and Armagh are suffering from listening to the same manager for too long IMHO.

Perhaps Armagh and Tyrone should do a celebrity manager swap, Setanta could pay for the TV rights.

Wouldn't be much point if they're not involved at the business end. I seriously think both sides no longer have the edge required for winning big honours. They'll beat most but flounder against the very best although Tyrone have more scope to recover than Armagh. But that's just my opinion.