Armagh GAA "Fight Night" lives up to billing. (No comment or opinion, Tony?

Started by Evil Genius, October 14, 2009, 01:17:23 PM

Myles Na G.

Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 12:15:27 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:37:19 PM
My apologies. I think I confused you with the Fingerbob who suggested that the PSNI had an agenda against nationalists.

'There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.'

I'll be more careful in future.  ::)

That had nothing to do with what you said, you were trying to suggest that I think that what students get up to in the holylands was fine and now your taking something completely different to make me look like a knob, and from being a long time reader of the message board, its something I've noticed you do alot in an attempt to win arguments. I was maybe a bit over the top with the hidden agenda quote, but I can't imagine the same heavy handed treatment being handed out to the "other side" in similiar conditions.
Have another look at your original post. Not only were you over the top with your hidden agenda bit, but you were decidedly under the top with your description of the students in the Holylands. You passed it off as a few knobs setting fire to a beer box. It was in fact several hundred knobs who, amongst other things, smashed up a car before setting it on fire. Many dragged sofas out into the street to sit on and drink their beer. Others were seen urinating in gardens or up against walls because they couldn't be arsed going looking for a toilet. All this in a residential area with traffic trying to pass up and down. If the police hadn't turned up they have been vilified. And as for sending a couple of uniformed cops down to have a quiet word, catch yourself on. They'd have been lynched.

fingerbob

Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 17, 2009, 11:34:33 AM
Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 12:15:27 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:37:19 PM
My apologies. I think I confused you with the Fingerbob who suggested that the PSNI had an agenda against nationalists.

'There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.'

I'll be more careful in future.  ::)

That had nothing to do with what you said, you were trying to suggest that I think that what students get up to in the holylands was fine and now your taking something completely different to make me look like a knob, and from being a long time reader of the message board, its something I've noticed you do alot in an attempt to win arguments. I was maybe a bit over the top with the hidden agenda quote, but I can't imagine the same heavy handed treatment being handed out to the "other side" in similiar conditions.
Have another look at your original post. Not only were you over the top with your hidden agenda bit, but you were decidedly under the top with your description of the students in the Holylands. You passed it off as a few knobs setting fire to a beer box. It was in fact several hundred knobs who, amongst other things, smashed up a car before setting it on fire. Many dragged sofas out into the street to sit on and drink their beer. Others were seen urinating in gardens or up against walls because they couldn't be arsed going looking for a toilet. All this in a residential area with traffic trying to pass up and down. If the police hadn't turned up they have been vilified. And as for sending a couple of uniformed cops down to have a quiet word, catch yourself on. They'd have been lynched.

I'll go on ahead and assume, although correct me if I'm wrong that you weren't there on the day while I regrettably was and was also regrettably a resident of carmel street last year, which I think is 100% student which is sad in itself given the history of the area, and also does not give an excuse for what happened. But what you described in your post happens every year during the marching season. I'll give an example, Crossgar in Down is around 80% catholic yet thats where the orange order decided to hold a major parade this year which attracted tens of thousands of watchers. For most of the residents of the village this either meant sit in your house or go away for the weekend while much of what you said in your post that happened on st patricks day, takes place in they're town. I'd bet my life that if the riot police turned up to a street where this was taking place and block it off and proceed to beat people for literally no reason in alot of cases, it would turn into a riot. Not that this would ever happen because there is blatant double standards. 

Quote from: stew on October 16, 2009, 09:48:49 PM
I do  not know of one Catholic who thinks the psni police the north with an even hand, not one and that is a sad reflection on the horrible regard they are held in and the piss poor job they are doing.
You clearly move in very limited circles. Given that more than 2,000 Catholics are actually in the PSNI and that both SF and the SDLP support the police (and by extension, their voters)...

Re the Holylands incident...
Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 04:30:16 PM
They couldn't really have stayed away with what was going on, but it was blown completely out of proportion and all that was needed was uniformed officers to disperse a few crowds of rowdy students.

Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 01:10:07 PM
All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot.
Back to the real world - how would you actually go about dispersing a crowd of several hundred pissed students and their friends?

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 17, 2009, 08:39:39 PM
They couldn't really have stayed away with what was going on, but it was blown completely out of proportion and all that was needed was uniformed officers to disperse a few crowds of rowdy students.

All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot.
Back to the real world - how would you actually go about dispersing a crowd of several hundred pissed students and their friends?

tell them that 3 for 5 is back on in shaws

fingerbob

There wasn't just one big mob though, it was just a load of groups outside houses and the police turned up and blocked off the street and it turned into more of a mob. I wouldn't go about dispersing the crowd the way they did anyway. I asked a police woman if I could cross back over the road to go into my house and she told me to go quick so while crossing back over the road one of the police in riot gear grabs me and starts swinging his baton at me, and thats not an exageration of any kind. The icing on the cake was when he smirked in my face when I asked him what the f**k he was at. Take from that what you want.

Quote from: fingerbob on October 17, 2009, 10:05:57 PM

There wasn't just one big mob though, it was just a load of groups outside houses and the police turned up and blocked off the street and it turned into more of a mob. I wouldn't go about dispersing the crowd the way they did anyway. I asked a police woman if I could cross back over the road to go into my house and she told me to go quick so while crossing back over the road one of the police in riot gear grabs me and starts swinging his baton at me, and thats not an exageration of any kind. The icing on the cake was when he smirked in my face when I asked him what the f**k he was at. Take from that what you want.
Yet you still haven't actually given any solution as to how you would have dispersed the crowd.

fingerbob

Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 12:48:56 PM

Yet you still haven't actually given any solution as to how you would have dispersed the crowd.

I would have sent uniformed officers in as the whole situation was overexxagerated by the media and this most likely would have worked but what they actually did was completely inappropriate. If riot police had to be used then why block off the street at both sides and not letting anyone out thus creating a riot atmosphere.

Quote from: fingerbob on October 18, 2009, 04:29:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 18, 2009, 12:48:56 PM

I would have sent uniformed officers in as the whole situation was overexxagerated by the media and this most likely would have worked but what they actually did was completely inappropriate. If riot police had to be used then why block off the street at both sides and not letting anyone out thus creating a riot atmosphere.
But what would they have done?

charlie stubbs

Quote from: charlieTully on October 16, 2009, 04:37:06 PM
lets cut to the chace here, it was lurgan tramps started the whole thing. a cordon should be put around lurgan and craigavon and a passport needed to get out.

good 2nd post you creep.where you even there?go back to school

charlie stubbs

Quote from: fingerbob on October 16, 2009, 05:28:37 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on October 16, 2009, 05:19:41 PM
Reminds me of St Patrick's Day in the Holylands, bit of a crowd bein knobs on Carmel Street which culminated all in all in a beer box being set on fire in the middle of the road, then the riot police turn up at each end of the street, not letting anyone out and creating a hostile atmosphere, then proceeding to march down, batoning anyone who gets in the way. Gets a completely different portrayal on  the news obviously. All that was needed was a few uniformed officers in to disperse a crowd but instead they turn it into a riot. There seems to be a hidden agenda with the PSNI when it comes to events consisting of a large number of catholics/nationalists. Go in to the place, turn it into a full scale riot and use the media to turn it on the crowd.
Feckin peelers. Why can't they keep their noses out and let a mob of pissed up culchies do exactly what they want? Okay, so local residents whinge a bit when cars get set alight and stuff like that, but feck them too. If 300 or 400 students and assorted hangers on want to turn a residential area into party central in the middle of the afternoon they should be allowed to get on with it. Especially when they're nationalists. 800 years of oppression and we still can't trash an area when we want to. Feckin peelers.

Where in my post did I say anything like that? I was talking about how the PSNI  completely took something minor and turned it into a full scale riot when there was absolutely no need for riot police and the like. I totally agree with you on what your saying, the place is terrible. I'd rather you didn't put words into my mouth though.

i was there(sober had to work the next day).  im all up for the craic and that but i would hardly call a yob taking a run at a landrover and trying to headbutt it as respectable behaviour.  why set a fire in the middle of the road to encourage more anti social behaviour from ohers, who are often trying to outdo eachother or see who is the "maddest"?there was people just trying to enjoy the day but there was idiots behaving like this.  its a thankless task for the psni on this day, people do get arrested for litle incidents but imagine the amount of cheek and bad manners they would receive from 0900 in the morning for around 24 hrs.  i know i would get to the stage where i would jst say enough is enough

charlieTully

charlie stubbs, lurgan and tullygally are the two worst holes in the province, recreational rioting, murdering police officers why cant the people there move on like the rest of us? i have left school long since btw.

Quote from: charlieTully on October 18, 2009, 08:40:23 PM
charlie stubbs, lurgan and tullygally are the two worst holes in the province, recreational rioting, murdering police officers why cant the people there move on like the rest of us? i have left school long since btw.

You're talking thru your hole saan...i know your just a WUM so take your face for one

redhugh

Quote from: charlieTully on October 18, 2009, 08:40:23 PM

The province eh?? What province is that you're on about?

What is a "riot atmosphere" ? If you want to riot and act the **** you are going to, a few peelers about just makes it legitimate for some.