Hayes stamp

Started by longrunsthefox, October 06, 2009, 09:44:46 PM

I see John Hayes got six weeks for stamping on/near yer man's head. Just saw it for the first time. It was awful and hard to imagine he didn't know wat he was at... then again he can't be that vicious. Any thoughts?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTJt1e6k-M4

Neil Best would have got 6 months if had have been the perpetrator. Only the Bull's good reputation kept it that short.

Cian Healy was making an awful cnut of himself down there, but a boot to the head is never the right punishment.

Seems a fair enough punishment.

Imagine if this had happened in a GAA match.

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 06, 2009, 10:28:21 PM
Imagine if this had happened in a GAA match.

Jesus don't start the Tyronies off on this one again!!

complete kn**ker,any other sport they would have been calls for a life ban
he could easily blinded healy or even killed hime he obviously didn't hive a shite where his boot finished up.
a year should have been minimum suspension.

The more you look at it, the worse it is. Aye, 6 weeks was nothing and misses no significant matches. Six months at least

WeAreBlueWeAreWhite

FFS magpie seanie why do you always have to compare everything to GAA? Its always the same shite with you..."imagine if the Gaa done this" or "if this had happenend in a Gaa match " change the record will you FFS!
AND A BOTTLE OF RITZ FOR ME LAC

9 weeks reduced to 6 due to good behaviour. Its probably in line with previous suspensions, but I thought longer would have been justified. The reason its so short is because he wasn't actually looking down when he struck, so they believed it was reckless rather than deliberate.

Of course the media coverage is completely different to what incidents in the GAA receive. In that game alone Nathan Hines lamped Denis Leamy with an uppercut, and Donncha O'Callaghan gave Jonathon Sexton a box in the head after Sexton had fallen to the ground. Two big differences between rugby and GAA - GAA is still far more popular, so a lot more people care what happens (both for the positive and the negative) and we have the Sunday Game which has a big ratings and analyses such incidents to the nth degree. Rugby highlight shows on RTE are infrequent, and when they are on are often very late at night.

Master Yoda

Don't think he meant to stamp on his face. Six week fine is plenty.
Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering

Quote from: rosnarun on October 07, 2009, 02:03:11 AM
complete kn**ker,any other sport they would have been calls for a life ban

Rosnarun while your at it can you compare these apples and oranges?

I assume you'd call the man a kn**ker to his face?

Quote from: Hound on October 07, 2009, 10:01:55 AM
9 weeks reduced to 6 due to good behaviour. Its probably in line with previous suspensions, but I thought longer would have been justified. The reason its so short is because he wasn't actually looking down when he struck, so they believed it was reckless rather than deliberate.

Of course the media coverage is completely different to what incidents in the GAA receive. In that game alone Nathan Hines lamped Denis Leamy with an uppercut, and Donncha O'Callaghan gave Jonathon Sexton a box in the head after Sexton had fallen to the ground. Two big differences between rugby and GAA - GAA is still far more popular, so a lot more people care what happens (both for the positive and the negative) and we have the Sunday Game which has a big ratings and analyses such incidents to the nth degree. Rugby highlight shows on RTE are infrequent, and when they are on are often very late at night.

I thought rugger was now "the heartbeat of the nation" according to rte!

Quote from: Rav67 on October 07, 2009, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 07, 2009, 10:01:55 AM

I thought rugger was now "the heartbeat of the nation" according to rte!
RTÉ  !=Tom Mcgurk
Tom Mcgurk != RTÉ

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 07, 2009, 09:34:43 AM
FFS magpie seanie why do you always have to compare everything to GAA? Its always the same shite with you..."imagine if the Gaa done this" or "if this had happenend in a Gaa match " change the record will you FFS!

Why don't you give out to Hound for agreeing with me? Or better still try to make a valid argument against my (entirely legitimate) point. In case you hadn't noticed this is a GAA discussion board. You have nothing positive or constructive to contribute. A poor effort of a wum is the zenith of your ambitions.

lads i know everyone loves the bull and all and that healy was trying to pull the maul down BUT if he was clearing out he should have had a backwards motion of the boot. he stuck his boot in front of his body in the stamp.
healy was lucky he didn't lose an eye.