Paddy Heaney on ABT Derry men

Started by In the Onion Bag, August 20, 2009, 12:52:19 PM

Master Yoda

Quote from: ONeill on August 21, 2009, 09:08:16 AM
It's simply a measure of success. Steve Davis, Man Utd, Liverpool in the 80s, Martina Navratilova and even Jesus suffered the same ill-will.

I know what your saying but I always loved it when Tyrone got beat even when they where shite.  ;D
Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering

If I was as full of self loathing as the average derry supporter - these would be the weekends Id be waiting for all year round, when Tyrone playing as theres a chance to turn the attention off themselves. 

NaomhBridAbĂș

Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:00:57 AM
As a good Derry man nothing would make me happier than to see Cork give Tyrone a good hammering on Sunday.

One of my best football memories was being in Croke park in 96 when Meath give Tyrone a bit of their own medicine, even now when I think about it I can't stop a big smile from breaking out on my face.

Quote from: red hander on August 20, 2009, 06:54:45 PM
We all lie awake at night worrying about what a bunch of inbred losers think about us, we really do... ;)
Thats one of the funniest things I've ever read on this board  :D :D :D. Imagine a Tyrone man calling any one else inbreds. Holy Jesus the boys around Galbally make that wee banjo player out of deliverence look a city slicker.

you're a bit like a thicker version of Paddy Heaney - maybe thats as much of a contradiction as you calling your self a 'good derry man'
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Master Yoda

Quote from: NaomhBridAbĂș on August 21, 2009, 09:38:59 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:00:57 AM
As a good Derry man nothing would make me happier than to see Cork give Tyrone a good hammering on Sunday.

One of my best football memories was being in Croke park in 96 when Meath give Tyrone a bit of their own medicine, even now when I think about it I can't stop a big smile from breaking out on my face.

Quote from: red hander on August 20, 2009, 06:54:45 PM
We all lie awake at night worrying about what a bunch of inbred losers think about us, we really do... ;)
Thats one of the funniest things I've ever read on this board  :D :D :D. Imagine a Tyrone man calling any one else inbreds. Holy Jesus the boys around Galbally make that wee banjo player out of deliverence look a city slicker.

you're a bit like a thicker version of Paddy Heaney - maybe thats as much of a contradiction as you calling your self a 'good derry man'

Wise up lads there is no way in this world that Tyrone people would be support Derry if the shoe was on the other foot.
Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering

It's simply a measure of success. Steve Davis, Man Utd, Liverpool in the 80s, Martina Navratilova and even Jesus suffered the same ill-will.

O'Neill in "we're bigger than Jesus" shocker! Naive bushman fails to learn from Beatles clanger. Nelson McCausland preparing press release.

Master Yoda

Quote from: Hardy on August 21, 2009, 09:47:35 AM

O'Neill in "we're bigger than Jesus" shocker! Naive bushman fails to learn from Beatles clanger. Nelson McCausland preparing press release.

:D :D :D

Drumanee 1

considering our PP,our former chairman and our primary school principle are all tyrone through and through theres a strong tyrone presence in bellaghy,just as there was a strong army presence in south armagh,doesnt mean they have the support of that particular area.

Quid pro quo... was one of my happiest moments when Galway scored goal in second half to and went on to beat Derry in 2001 All Ireland semi-final. Was wearing Tyrone shirt for minor game and lept about six foot in the air for Galway goal. Derry wans weren't too impressed  8)   

Quote from: Drumanee 1 on August 21, 2009, 09:52:25 AM
considering our PP,our former chairman and our primary school principle are all tyrone through and through theres a strong tyrone presence in bellaghy,just as there was a strong army presence in south armagh,doesnt mean they have the support of that particular area.

If that's how she taught you to spell the word ' Principal' then I wouldn't be supporting her either !!!

Master Yoda

Quote from: longrunsthefox on August 21, 2009, 09:55:32 AM
Quid pro quo... was one of my happiest moments when Galway scored goal in second half to and went on to beat Derry in 2001 All Ireland semi-final. Was wearing Tyrone shirt for minor game and lept about six foot in the air for Galway goal. Derry wans weren't too impressed  8)

Was in Croke Park for the 95 final when Dublin beat Peter Canavan, in the Minor match before it there was a good number of Tyrone fans that actually booed the Derry minors who where playing Westmeath but I wasn't surprised or disappointed, thats what you expect from them, I wouldn't want the support of any Tyrone rednecks in any shape or description.

Imagine Derry who wont put a footballer next or near Croke Park in 2009, getting their wee piece of the limelight through Paddy Heaneys articles, kepping us relevant sur..  The only GAA costs for yer average derry man this year is renewing the TV license. 

SidelineKick

Can't tar everyone with the same brush, every set of supporters has its asses!

I must say I do like to see Tyrone getting beat most of the time. But enjoyed watching them winning last years AIF, they were outstanding.

But it's all about having to listen to the neighbours when they win / you lose. Bit of craic at the end of the day!

I always cover myself by betting on Tyrone. If they win, I win, if they lose, I win  :D

Only thing that can screw me is a draw!

I'm for croker on sunday, looking forward to a good game of football. Would like to see a Tyrone Kerry final, but probably wouldnt lose any sleep if they were knocked out by Cork  :)
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

I miss the brute ignorance in the Tyrone support. So far the games have hardly encouraged a gulder from the depths of Mid-Ulster. Winning has tamed us. If Mickey really has Tyrone GAA at heart he'd go on a 3-9 game losing run to warm our cockles and eek out that savage begrudgery in us before it's too late. Starting January.

Drumanee 1

Quote from: Gaffer on August 21, 2009, 09:57:43 AM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on August 21, 2009, 09:52:25 AM

If that's how she taught you to spell the word ' Principal' then I wouldn't be supporting her either !!!

another spelling policeman  ::),i bow to your greater knowledge of spelling.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: Master Yoda on August 21, 2009, 09:46:56 AM
Wise up lads there is no way in this world that Tyrone people would be support Derry if the shoe was on the other foot.

Not altogether true, I remember well supporting Derry on the occasion of their (one and only ;)) All-Ireland win back in 93. Same with Down in 91 and 94, Donegal in 92 and Armagh in 2002. Know plenty of others who felt the same. There would have been a bit of envy certainly but still happy to see the neighbours winning the big prize.