OVER-RATED or under-rated you decide?

Started by lawnseed 2, February 19, 2007, 09:18:13 PM

lawnseed 2

my question stems from a great nights craic with a pensioner, an excellent pint and a good turf fire. he told me that when he was young he played mid-field for his club and never took it too seriously and frequently turned up with a few scoops on him but he was blessed with skill and always got on, and infact was asked on several occasions to try out for the orchard but never bothered. there were other guys there who werent very good footballers but trained like hell. now he says he regrets not taking it more seriously as hes remembered as a good nights craic and the lads who tried like hell are remembered as great footballers. i met one of his neighbours at a match and ran the story past him i was told he had one of the best pair of hands he ever seen. a sad story really but probably echoed in in every pub in ireland. which brings me to the question who  in modern day football is over-rated and punches above their weight in reputation stakes and who do you think was brilliant but never grabbed the headlines?

in armagh houlie-- over-rated   andy mccann-- under--rated.   some reasons for your choices are always useful

The Truth

Most over rated of them all......Kevin Mc Gourty - good club footballer, average intercounty player, high profile does not translate into high quality....
"We serve neither King nor Kaiser"

Quotein armagh houlie-- over-rated   andy mccann-- under--rated.  some reasons for your choices are always useful
But you don't give us reasons for yours?   :-\

Handball Ace

Conor Mortimer - most over rated in Ireland, by himself more than anyone else as well...

Damien Freeman from Monaghan is as good a half back as there is in the country, and has been for three years. Hugely underrated

In Cavan, Damien Reilly was under rated as was Gerry Sheridan. Jason over rated

charlie linkbox

Quote from: Handball Ace on February 19, 2007, 10:26:36 PM
Damien Freeman from Monaghan is as good a half back as there is in the country, and has been for three years. Hugely underrated

Not true I'm afraid. A quality footballer no doubt but he's not a half back. He used to be a forward but was moved to the half back a few years ago. The general consenus though was that he was too fond of going forward and was a bit of a loose marker. This year he has been moved back into the forwards where I think he belongs.

Again, a super footballer - just not a half back.

lawnseed 2

i have to say id have had owen mulligan in the over-rated section but lately hes shown some guts and that he doesnt need wee peter to hand him the ball. so for now hes neither over nor under-rated. actually the blond bomber is starting to grow on me.
the most over rated member of the tyrone set up at the minute is the unshaven one himself he makes me laugh as he puts on the furrowed brow and wonders which one of his equally talented charges he'll play next, even steve stauntan could get a win outa tyrone at the minute

Jaysus theres no end to the humor coming outta the orchard these days, to think its only Feb too :D

Jesus lawnseed, whatever you do don't question anything to do with tyrone. they can do no wrong, even when they're wrong its the rules thats wrong, don't you know. you'll look very silly later in the year  when they win both the circket and rugby world cup to add to the premiership and the mckenna cup... which they'll win on the 9th appeal to the us supreme court.

laughinpaddy

Most over rated- Stephen Kernan, because he's shite,  Most under-rated- Shane Ryan for the fact that he can play in almost any posistion.
I ain't gettin on no plane!

Agree with the Kevin Mc Gourty statement, decent club player and a basic at best county player.  Peter Donnelly from my own Tyrone - I dunno if you'd call him over-rated, as few actually rate him.  But hes been laying about the Tyrone panel for a while and to be honest hes clean useless.  Tomas Quinn of Dublin has to be there too, a free/penalty taker who regularly misses.

realredhandfan

over rated:  Ciaran Whelan
Under rated:  Shane Ryan

Given that Whelo seems not to be rated by anyone outside of Dublin, it does perplex me somewhat how he manages to show up so often on over-rated lists!

Personally I think Dublin have two players who are under-rated nationally, our corner backs Griffin and Henry.

I believe Brogan, Cullen and Cluxton get the most praise of all Dublin players nationally. I think Brogan lived up to it in the last two years and is now rightfully regarded as one of the best forwards in the country IMO, similarly Cluxton one of the best keepers around undoubtedly and Cullen will hopefully live up to his billing over the next few years - probably a little bit to do to justify his press, but thats because he's expected to come though (of course easier said than done).

Over-rated; Sean Og O'Hailpin
Under-rated; Kevin Broderick

would it be a good suggestion to only under & over rate players from within your own county?

anyway within my own county over-rated in my view are donnelly & penrose

under-rated are enda mcginley & carlin

Syd The Sailor

Quote from: mouview on February 20, 2007, 11:37:22 AM
Over-rated; Sean Og O'Hailpin
Under-rated; Kevin Broderick

Are you mental, Sean Og is over rated?? Have you ever seen a player getting the better of him? Eoin Kelly maybe once for Waterford,Dan Shanahan destroyed Tipp last year and was expected to do something similar against Cork, he never got a ball off O'Hailpin...
"I coulda been a contender.....i could've been somebody"