UTV & BBC & RTE & TV3

Started by Tyrone Dreamer, August 02, 2007, 06:44:19 PM

Quote from: bloody mary on November 07, 2008, 08:20:54 AM
There was nothing in the Irish News off the fence column. Did nobody write in or do they not put in letters like that? Either way newsline is getting off the hook which even more of a disgrace than monday's newsline showing no gaelic in preference to surfing and cycling.

By that, logic would conclude, neither did you.

Enjoyed Logie's piece on Rory Gallagher. Images of cousin Raymie taking free on left boot, then close up of Kieran Donnelly and then finally Rory taking free with right. At least he squeezed it in I suppose.

Cuthbert Donnelly told Logie last night on UTV last night that he has been known to take Sam to bed with him.

I see the gaa was back on the bbc tonight. They showed one pointed free from the Cross game. Their main focus was on the admission prices to ulster club games and how fans were complaining about it being to dear. They didnt even give out the Cross score. Thats 4 times in the last 2 weeks Ive watched the gaa on  bbc newsline and every time it has had a negative slant. If any of the gaa writers would do a bit of research into their coverage they could have a field day. Ignoring matches and focusing on negative issues is out of order.

In fairness to them, the admission price issue was and is a big story at the moment, last weeks off the fence highlighted that, plus look at the debate generated on here by the prices.  I don't think it was a negative report tonight per se, more of an even sided presentation of the facts.  Also most people in Cross interviewed didn't mind the prices, they are all loaded down there!

never kickt a ball

Quote from: Take Your Points on November 11, 2008, 12:00:14 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on November 10, 2008, 11:00:02 PM
I see the gaa was back on the bbc tonight. They showed one pointed free from the Cross game. Their main focus was on the admission prices to ulster club games and how fans were complaining about it being to dear. They didnt even give out the Cross score. Thats 4 times in the last 2 weeks Ive watched the gaa on  bbc newsline and every time it has had a negative slant. If any of the gaa writers would do a bit of research into their coverage they could have a field day. Ignoring matches and focusing on negative issues is out of order.

Check out the posts on this Board, at least 85% are negative about some aspect of the GAA, the BBC is just reflecting the whining and sensationalist nature of the posters on this Board!

And their coverage of soccer reflects OWC and other soccer forums in the same way. So why the big fuss?

I still can't get over Shane used Greencastle as an example of the extensive GAA coverage from last year. They showed very little, two minutes worth and it wasn't tara.

After not having enough time this last few weeks to show any ulster club coverage, my guess is the gaa will be back on bbc tonight!

never kickt a ball

GAA drug abuse case is headlines on UTV sport. Back to Gaelic later for coverage of Cross and Ulster Club and Rossa's All-Ireland camogie title.

southoftheborder

if we think the bbc utv have an agenda with the gaa, should we take this to the ulster council to possibly question y this is, and if there is not a satisfactory answer, barr interviews and reports completely from the 2channels, y should we let them pick and choose

Typical UTV shite tonight again.

Didnt think the coverage was as bad tonight. There was better balance to it. As I've said before I dont mind the bbc or utv covering negative stories as long as they are prepared to show coverage of the games as well. Tonight BBC showed some action from the ulster clubs games which was maybe a 1st this year.

Quote from: bloody mary on November 11, 2008, 10:54:24 AM
Dear Mr xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thank you for your recent letter requesting information about the volume, cost and audience figures for BBCNI television and radio coverage of Gaelic Football, Hurling, Soccer, Rugby and Motorcycling.

The information which you have requested about the volume and cost of specific aspects of BBCNI's sports output is not covered by the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Schedule 1 of the Act states that the BBC and other designated public service broadcasters are covered by this legislation only in respect of information held for purposes "other than those of journalism, art and literature". Information which is not subject to disclosure because of this derogation may otherwise be exempt from disclosure because of the application of other provisions of the Act.

The BBC receives audience data about television viewing in the UK under an agreement with the Broadcasters' Audience Research Board (BARB) for which the BBC pays an annual subscription. Under the terms of this agreement, the BBC is entitled to use such information for its own internal purposes and may make this data more widely available in specific circumstances. Although we consider that the Act does not apply to audience data, the BBC does have a working practice (consistent with other broadcasting organisations and the terms
of its contractual agreement with BARB) of releasing some headline performance information. We will not be releasing such information or any accompanying analysis on this occasion.
Audience figures for radio listening across the UK are collated by Rajar and are subject to analogous contractual constraints. We believe that such information is not covered by the Act and will not be making it voluntarily available in response to this request.

Following discussions with colleagues however, and consistent with established practice at local level, BBCNI is prepared to voluntarily release information about the volume and range of its current sports output. The nature, extent and profile of our sports coverage is directly affected by issues relating to rights acquisition, funding constraints, market provision and the BBC's service commitments as a whole. All of our output is delivered within the context of the BBC's Charter and Framework Agreement and also the terms of its Service Licences and
Purpose Remits. Sports programming is an essential and prominent feature of our service offering across radio, television and online and we work hard to ensure that it reflects a broad cross-section of interests and activities.

BBC Radio Ulster broadcasts 41 Saturday Sportsound programmes each year. Much of this output focuses on Irish League soccer and includes full match commentaries from 41 fixtures. In 06/07 the station also provided live coverage of 8 Setanta Cup matches involving Irish League teams and 6 European games featuring local clubs. Its programming additionally included 8 international matches involving the Northern Ireland soccer team. Such output was
complemented by dedicated sports programming on BBC Foyle and its coverage of Derry City's performance in the Eircom League. BBCNI also provided extensive coverage of the Milk Cup in Coleraine and soccer (together with the other sports referred to in your request) featured in news and related programming on local television and radio.

BBC Radio Ulster broadcast live match commentaries form 36 Gaelic Football matches on Sunday Sportsound and dedicated medium wave split programmes. Such programming included inter-county and club games, the National Football League and All-Ireland Club Championships. Our radio coverage was complemented by programming on BBCNI television which included highlights of the Hurling Final and live coverage of the MacRory Cup.
BBC Radio Ulster provided live coverage of Ulster team fixtures as part of the Magners League and Heiniken Cup, together with live match commentaries and analysis of fixtures involving the Ireland rugby team. The latter included 8 matches within the review period.

BBCNI television additionally provided coverage of the Magners League, Schools' Cup and Ireland A v England A matches.
BBCNI television provided a mix of programming about motorcycling which included coverage of the Isle of Man TT, the Ulster Grand Prix and fixtures at Tandragee, Cookstown and Antrim.

Yours sincerely
Mark Adair
Head of Public Policy, Corporate and Community Affairs

That's pretty much the exact same I got from them over a year ago in response to an FOI request - probably posted on this thread somewhere.

Frankie Boy

God. Youse do some whinging in this wee bit of the board.lol
LOL. HA HA!