Provincial affiliation

Started by corn02, September 24, 2008, 01:40:22 PM

bcarrier

I can see the logic of the Ulster thing in the pre 91 days but  now that Ulster are reasonably competitive it just smacks of inferiority complex. The media hates us thing is also pure nonsense.

Outside my own county I just like to watch talented and clean ( hard but fair)  footballers. Galway, Kerry, Meath and Dublin would be the most consistently entertaining teams in my view...and I certainly wouldnt begrudge Mayo an all ireland.

I can admire individual Tyrone players but I dont like the diving/trash talking / time wasting/ Gerry McDermott PR etc . I am sure I am not alone in being happy enough for McGinley and Gormley who have been super and generally honest players . Less so for the rest of them. Dooher has to my eye made more of the ability he was given than just about any footballer I have ever seen but his legacy is coloured for well discussed reasons. Jordan and Cavanagh also excellent if inclined to moments of cynicism. Not that they give a feck what I think.

I was at the Down game and some ppl were questioning MH's decision to move the players around and leave it late to introduce Tommy McGuigan.   I heard no-one say that Mickey had to go as the crowd knew that injuries more than the mgt team were responsible for Down sneaking a win.    

Can no-one else see that Paddy Heaney is deflecting from his woeful predictions re: Tyrone by trying to say it was the fans who were wrong (and not him).  

QuoteDooher has to my eye made more of the ability he was given than just about any footballer I have ever seen but his legacy is coloured for well discussed reasons. Jordan and Cavanagh also excellent if inclined to moments of cynicism. Not that they give a feck what I think.

Probably not,. What's your view on players from within your own county who are inclined to "moments of cynicism"?

SidelineKick

Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:48:17 PM
I was at the Down game and some ppl were questioning MH's decision to move the players around and leave it late to introduce Tommy McGuigan.   I heard no-one say that Mickey had to go as the crowd knew that injuries more than the mgt team were responsible for Down sneaking a win.    

Can no-one else see that Paddy Heaney is deflecting from his woeful predictions re: Tyrone by trying to say it was the fans who were wrong (and not him).  

did u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

clootfromthe21

Quote from: Glensman on September 24, 2008, 03:02:08 PM
I generally support any team from Ulster but then as an Antrim man we have to get behind some form of cause with a hint of a possibility of success.
Was there in 91, 93, 94, 02, 03 yelling my head off for the Ulster men.

What about the Ulstermen in 92??????

Personally, I would always shout for the Ulster team in any final. To me, the rules are the same for any of the 9 counties.

Remember with much pleasure many years ago going out to dinner with the then girlfriend's uncle who was home on holidays from America. A proud son of Kingscourt, he informed his niece who was from 10 miles away in Meath that he had more in common with a North Antrim man than he had with her!!

Think possibly a number of things influence this provincial loyalty lark:

a.)  the troubles/partition to an extent - whether we like it or not, there is a slight sense of otherness about us, to which to a greater or lesser degree Cavan, Monaghan and Donegal are lumped in with the rest of us ("youse are all the same up there" - particuolary the further south you go). Us against the rest and all that.

b.) probably the most significant reason is the traditional lack of success on the national stage - whoever came out of Ulster, everybody would row in behind them because (generally) we were shite. I think the recent consistent success of Armagh and Tyrone has put considerable pressure on the provincial loyalty thing.

c.) the same point sort of - the way in which the Ulster championship has (traditionally) been shared around has a lot to do with it. If I was a Waterford man, there's no way I'd shout for Kerry in football. Same in Connacht with Galway/Mayo.

Think the other important point is that, while I was happily shouting my lungs out for Tyrone on Sunday, if they had lost it wouldn't have been the cause of any distress whatsoever. Now if it was Antrim . . . . . .

Quotedid u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"

A few dick-heads who write into a paper does not represent the views of a majority or even a sizeable minority of a counties support.  Is everyone in Armagh represnted by Fearon?

SidelineKick

Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 05:03:45 PM
Quotedid u read off the fence that thursday??? i remeber that one of the letters basically said "Thanks for the 2 All Irelands Mickey but now its time to move on"

A few dick-heads who write into a paper does not represent the views of a majority or even a sizeable minority of a counties support.  Is everyone in Armagh represnted by Fearon?

in terms of his mass he represents a large majority yes  :D

no what im saying is it wasnt a non existent thing and i dont know why alot of tyrone people are trying to ignore it. the only reason i can think of is if u r feelin guilty of bein one ureself! the irish news said that day that that was one of the hot topics they received calls and emails about. its fact. im not sayin these people represent all of tyrone or the majority (did i say majority earlier perhaps???) but they did represent a sizeable portion of the support. it was common knowledge that alot of people had thought mickey harte had outstayed his welcome. im glad he proved them wrong.

To be honest corn02, I have no provincial affiliation at all.  I like to see Antrim do well in the oul stick fighting as I live there now but other than that, it's Armagh for me alone.  One county is enough to support.  The reason I don't like to see Tyrone do well is i played against Tyronies many times and never liked to see them do well.  On top of that, I watched the 2002 final in a pub in the Moy and all the locals were yelling for Kerry!

Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 04:37:55 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 03:07:21 PM
Quote from: corn02 on September 24, 2008, 02:59:34 PM
Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 02:57:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2008, 02:43:34 PM
Bummer what is this fixation with the two Brians? One of them lives beside me and I see him every day and will tell him there is a Tyrone geek who is obsessed with him.

There is no analogy between M Harte and the two Brians. M Harte had won one real All Ireland and one back door All Ireland yet there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year.

The two Brians won two Ulster Championships and had failed (unluckily) in two All Ireland semi finals, hence the clamour (mainly from S Armagh) for their heads.

As I said no comparison whatsoever

'there was practically universal clamour for his removal after the Tyrone defeat by Down this year'. BULLSHIT   The people calling for Mickey's head were a small minority, the same sort of people who abused his son when he played for the county. The Irish News had a front page plug jumping to its 'off the fence' column at the time (it may even have used the word clamour)... when you turned to read all about this 'clamour' it amounted to TWO phonecall to the IN calling for MH's head  ... TWO!    The vast majority of Tyrone fans backed MH after the Down games, this, afterall, was the man to who had brought us two All-Irelands (now three, which is TWO more than youse have) ...

Or maybe they just printed two.

Well, why hype something up on the front page if you're then going to sell the reader short?  Off the fence has many times in the past dedicated itself to one subject with several  people's views printed, why not then?
Quote from: under the bar on September 24, 2008, 04:33:59 PM
My aunt and uncle were a at threshing fair near Mullabawn on Sunday.  At it they had 2 big screens up and described the cheers that went up when Tyrone won.   I've head similar stories about clubs & pubs from other neighbouring counties, in areas where decent Gaels live.  Thankfully the minority bone-idle buckfast swillers from Craigavon / Lurgan don't represent the whole of the county.

We feel your pain Tony, We love your pain!   Keep hurting!  ;D :D   ;D

TYRONE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS 2003, 2005 & 2008!   - Live with it!!

i fully supported tyrone on sunday but now im rememberin why i used to take pleasure in them losing. i still admore the team but cant understand why red hander wont admit that there was a large section of "supporters" wanting mickey harte to go. in case u hadnt noticed the irish news can only print so much and im sure they wudnt want to dedicate the entire off the fence to putting down one individual. unless maybe red hander u were one of the non believers after the down game??

SK, this is a forum for the discussion of GAA topics.  I have over 550 posts on this forum.  If I was one of the 'non believers' then surely I'd have given my opinion on this forum. If you can find one post on this forum in which I criticise MH or call for his resignation, I will run naked down Royal Avenue with a traffic cone shoved up my arse.  I will not admit there was a large section of supporters wanting MH to go because it isn't true ... it was a minority of gobshites.

SidelineKick

so i guessed, was doin a bit of windin up. but u have alot of trouble even admitting that the issue existed! it actually doesnt make sense for me to be arguing about this with u cos im sure u back MH all along, but i personally know people who said he should have went while he was ahead. a minority can still be a hell of alot of people.

u can only be as sure that there werent alot of people calling for his head as i can that there were! unless of course u have done a survey.

Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:38:20 PM
so i guessed, was doin a bit of windin up. but u have alot of trouble even admitting that the issue existed! it actually doesnt make sense for me to be arguing about this with u cos im sure u back MH all along, but i personally know people who said he should have went while he was ahead. a minority can still be a hell of alot of people.

u can only be as sure that there werent alot of people calling for his head as i can that there were! unless of course u have done a survey.

I have no trouble admitting the issue existed ... i'd have a lot more trouble fitting a traffic cone into my hole

At last some sense. CONNACHT counties are the greatest joke of all. I always get heavily critised by other connacht county lads on here for not supporting them when they get out of connacht. ::)

Take the minor final i wasnt shouting for Mayo in fact i rather see them lose, people talk shite and say but "there representing connacht" sorry but there wearing the red and green of mayo so no there just representing Mayo ok have people in connacht got that yet. Do I give a shite who they support if sligo are playing no, do i get offended if they support the opposition no. The worse state of football the other counties are playing in connacht the better for Sligo like 07.

Its all down to personal choice, im sure some people in sligo support other connacht counties and i dont agree with but i wont lose any sleep. Id have a soft spot for Waterford all down the yrs in hurling but thats about it.

I support connacht in the interprovincial rules and the rugby team, because they do in fact represent the province and wear the jersey too.

SidelineKick

Quote from: red hander on September 24, 2008, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on September 24, 2008, 05:38:20 PM

I have no trouble admitting the issue existed ... i'd have a lot more trouble fitting a traffic cone into my hole

:D :D

Glensman

What about the Ulstermen in 92??????

Cloot, I was at home watching the TV the day Donegal won but the others I was there derpiving some other poor b@stard from the respective county of a ticket.