Cork v Tipperary

Started by homeofhurling8, June 03, 2008, 02:05:22 PM

homeofhurling8

I reckon the meeting of the Gaa's oldest rivals deserve a thread of its own(with the right heading ;)

Until the teams are named its difficult to analyse this in any depth but a few quick points to get it started..

This is the fittest,most focused,happiest Tipp panel since 02,the hungriest since 01,whatever else we lack we wont lack passion on Sunday.

Training has been a joy to watch,no two sessions the same,when a team has been training since November variation is important,O'Sheas drills are very innovative.

Tipp still dont have a half forward line,what we do have is a plan B,having a plan B(and a keeper willing to embrace it) on puckouts won Cork two All-Irelands in recent years.

Stress fractures started to appear in the Cork backline last year,have they healed a year on ?

If Cork are to stop the cats winning three in a row they need at least two of Naughton,Cronin,Ronan and O'Sullivan junior to step up to the plate this year to take some of the scoring burden off of the O'Connors and Deane.

The blood is rising already and its only Tuesday.

Bacon

Looking froward to this one. Tipp have come on a bit but we all know the league counts for nothing at this time of year. Its great to have games like this on TV. For people like myself at the far end of the country travelling to Cork isn't really an option.  A Sunday afternoon, a good crowd and some great hurling does loads to promote the game outside Munster.
Down Championships Prediction League Winner 2009

Quote from: homeofhurling8 on June 03, 2008, 02:05:22 PM
I reckon the meeting of the Gaa's oldest rivals deserve a thread of its own(with the right heading ;)

Until the teams are named its difficult to analyse this in any depth but a few quick points to get it started..

This is the fittest,most focused,happiest Tipp panel since 02,the hungriest since 01,whatever else we lack we wont lack passion on Sunday.

Training has been a joy to watch,no two sessions the same,when a team has been training since November variation is important,O'Sheas drills are very innovative.

Tipp still dont have a half forward line,what we do have is a plan B,having a plan B(and a keeper willing to embrace it) on puckouts won Cork two All-Irelands in recent years.

Stress fractures started to appear in the Cork backline last year,have they healed a year on ?

If Cork are to stop the cats winning three in a row they need at least two of Naughton,Cronin,Ronan and O'Sullivan junior to step up to the plate this year to take some of the scoring burden off of the O'Connors and Deane.

The blood is rising already and its only Tuesday.

Tipp will need to get a good return from Lar Corbett for them to win as Eoin Kelly's usual haul mightn'd be enough. I have been impressed by O'Neill and Murphy in the cork corners, so will the rock eventually get the skinning which he to his credit has avoided in any big games to date yet has been prophecied every time he takes the field!!

cork mightn'ed be sure of their starting forwards but they've few weakness's up to midfield. Tipp as a team are vastly improved from last year with a greater resilience and belief in themselves than for a long time. I can't see either going into the game half hearted, so roll on sunday..

Indeed I always enjoy the rhetoric surrounding this fixture.  ;D
GMB previews have always been superb in setting the scene.
To be fair, Tipp vs Cork in the qualifiers just doesn't catch the imagination, there is certainly something special about a Munster clash between the two counties.
No disrespect, if last year's match was an Munster clash, I don't think Cork would have been caught.

Any thoughts on the suggestion of Gardiner playing centre back and Curran wing back?
I'm not sure of what the Tipp starting 15 will be, but I don't think they have a proven half forward line.
I think Woodlock would be a definite starter. I presume Ryan O'Dwyer too?...who I don't think you could aim puckouts at.

Lar Corbett's pace could be the secret weapon on Sunday.
I think the Rock could be skinned by a pacy player who manages to get some sort of decent ball in to him. A big if, of course.
What are the chances of Tipp resorting to a bullocking full forward like Webster on the day?

It is one to look forward to and always great to see a packed house in the early championship.

Cark team for sunday boy..

Cork (SH v Tipperary): D Og Cusack; S O Neill, D O Sullivan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Og O hAilpin; J O Connor, T.Kenny; B O Connor, K Canty, T McCarthy; P O Sullivan, P Cronin, C Naughton.

Curran is back in centre back and if he's back to his best Lar mightn'd get enough good ball to trouble the rock. That's a raw enough full forward line, mightn'd get much change out of a good Tipp defence!!

That's the sort of team I was expecting Cork to field. That's a strong half back line again, and the battle between themselves and Tipps hard working, but limited half forward line will be crucial. As will the Ben O'Connor, Canty and Timmy McCarthy axis against The Tipp half back line, which is strong itself. Niall McCarthy was a very game workhorse for Cork, and did a lot of stuff which may not have been appreciated, so his absence could also be significant there.

The full forward line is raw, but they are good hurlers. Naughton as been threatening for a good while, and is a speed merchant. Tipp would want to make sure he doesn't get turned and running at goals. The Rock's younger brother is supposed to be a good lad as well, so it'll be interesting.

Corks experienced Midfield of Kenny and Jerry O'Connor should be able to keep a handle on Tipp there, where Shane McGrath has been a revelation in the league.

Seeing that team now, and cogniscent of the job O'Neill, O'Sullivan and Murphy will have against Tipp's full forward line, I think Cork will win this game.

homeofhurling8

Thats an interesting forward line named by McCarthy,not a lot of experience there apart from O'Connor and Timmy Mac,I would have expected Cronin to start on Corcoran given the scutching he gave him for 20 minutes in Thurles last year.

Tipp name the team tomorrow night,i doubt there will be many changes from the league campaign but i believe Festy Kerwick could be at left half forward with Woodlock moving to centrefield alongside McGrath,in a full training match behind closed doors in Thurles last weel the "A" team lined out with a half forward line of Kerwick,Fanning and Butler,make of that what you will !

Guillem2

I think O'Sullivan is a weak spot and if Tipp can exploit it they can get goals. I'm surprised he's still on the panel but good full backs are hard to find. Cork half back line is v strong and they'd be wanting to bye pass them if they can. Impossible to call this one though. Home advantage may just swing it for Cork.
Talking is an overrated way of communicating.

Foireann Tiobraid Arainn (in aghaidh Corcaigh)

1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange)

2. Eamonn Buckley (Drom & Inch)
3. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
4. Connor O'Brien (Annacarty)

5. Eamonn Corcoran (JK Brackens)
6. Conor O'Mahoney (Newport)
7. Shane Maher (Burgess)

8. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)
9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)

10. Seamus Butler (Drom & Inch)
11. Seamus Callinan (Drom & Inch)
12. Ryan O'Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs)

13. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone)
14. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)
15. Wille Ryan (Toomevara)

As I look at the team, a random thought strikes me. How many counties in the country would have zero representatives from the county champions on the team? It must be rare enough, but there are no Loughmore/Castleiney lads on the first 15. Also, with 4 representatives, Drom & Inch must be going very well. Even Traditional teams like Sarsfields, Toomevara and Cashel King Cormacs are very lightly represented.

sligeach

From Hoganstand

QuoteMunster SHC
Cork v. Tipperary
Two of the biggest hurling teams in the country clash at Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday and what a contest is in store for all hurling fans. Many believe that this could be Tipp's year as they could well be the team to break Cork and Kerry's dominance of the last six years.

TippEamon

We would be doing well to unseat the mighty Kerry from Munster hurling glory!!

sligeach

Quote from: TippEamon on June 07, 2008, 09:26:58 AM
We would be doing well to unseat the mighty Kerry from Munster hurling glory!!

Aye, its time those Kerry feckers were put in their place. Thinking they're the be and end all of Hurling :P

Mentalman

Lads what was the story with the corwd spilling out onto the pitch. Marty Munchkin was making light of it on the coverage but it looked potentially dangerous. Was it late comers? Too many let into the terrace. Heard the stadium announcer telling people there was lots of room at the back of the terrace. Looked like quick actions on behalf of the Gards and stewards saved us from potential disaster.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

TippEamon

you are right mental man, the boys on the TV laughing at it like it was some kind of parish match, this is a large scale sporting event, things like this cannot be allowed to happen

That must be the end of the road for this Cork team.

Fair play to Tipp. I saw a picture of Eoin Kelly on the RTE website
and it reminded me of something Babs said last year about the Tipperary jersey and how important it is, not for any year in particular but as an institution. 

The housing market may be banjaxed but there will always be Tipp Cork matches.  It is hard to believe it was so long since the previous Tipp win in Cork. 

Cork bet and plenty of time yet to save the hay.

It is a pity Babs is out of management -  I love his soundbites.