Donegal V Derry, June 1st

Started by J70, May 19, 2008, 07:20:53 PM

marty88

Quote from: Doire abĂș on June 02, 2008, 12:36:25 AM
What frees did Bradley dive for? Is someone going to tell me? A couple were soft but I can't see any where he dived or tried to buy it. Enlightened me please someone.

Tell me the minute of the frees he dived for.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0601/donegal_derry2.html?gaa (Video on right hand side)

why is it saying derry isnt part of ireland and i cant watch is??

This never happened before.
"paddy bradley has got that killer instinct a forward wud commit murder for"- Mick O' Dwyer

why is it saying derry isnt part of ireland and i cant watch is??

For all its faults, Derry is a part of Ireland, but are you using a Derry based internet service?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

lads you're kidding yourselves if you think the ulster championship is that great. i would have agreed with you 3years ago but not anymore. the opening games have been totally mediocre and we'll see if the others can improve on the current showings. in general across the board it's been a very poor opening to the championship.

currychip

Doherty did deserve a red, he struck.  Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV.  I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh.  Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction. 

QuoteDoherty did deserve a red, he struck.  Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV.  I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh.  Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.

LOL, that's quite a backward-logic analysis.  Are you sure you didnt have 10 pints before your curry chip? :P

currychip

Quote from: under the bar on June 02, 2008, 09:01:32 AM
QuoteDoherty did deserve a red, he struck.  Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV.  I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh.  Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction.

LOL, that's quite a backward-logic analysis.  Are you sure you didnt have 10 pints before your curry chip? :P

Its simple - either you want the ref to respond to the entire incident or you only want him to respond to the bit you didn't like.  Its called consistency.

Quote from: currychip on June 02, 2008, 08:02:06 AM
Doherty did deserve a red, he struck.  Kavanagh had Doherty by the back of the jersey, clearly shown on TV.  I believe thats a booking, and with his first half booking would have meant an early bath for Kavanagh.  Had the ref taken action with the entire incident then the net result of the game would have been the same as with his inaction. 

Your definitely drunk !  :D :D ;D ;D ;D

OK on the game... I thought Donegal had the right tactics to beat us on the day. They managed to isolate their 2 half forwards for kickouts and did well in the first half at winning primary possession in that area. McIver was ruthless in attacking his son's wing and in fairness to the Derry management they called it right to put Cartin on at half time.

We struggled in our full back and half back line but our MF and forwards made up for this. PC has a big decision to make as I thought the N McCusker at CHB experiment didn't work and it's looking like a Gerrard/Lampard situation where you can't have both on for the good of the team. It wll be interesting to see what happens against Fermanagh.

There's been a lot said about the Doherty incident. He struck, he should have went no argument. Referee was pretty bad but if nobody saw the incident then nobody saw it, he can't send someone off because a Donegal man said he was struck. Overall the ref was poor for both teams although I thought he was particularly hard on us where we had a lot of players on yellow cards that didn't deserve them yet Barry Dunnion was shoving and elbowing all day and got nothing against him (I was well impressed with him btw, a really tenacious player who completely snuffed out Gilligan in the first half). As shown on the Sunday game last night as well the ref was in the perfect position to give the penalty against us so no complaints.

As for PB diving? Utter nonsense! His man couldn't cope and was conceding frees end of... and as for his point at the end with the triple somersault and a twist before he knocked it over well that was just class.

People from Leinster and Munster talking about the relative merits or otherwise of our championship?? Give me a break! Neither province has been competitive in years and to tell me that there was more quality on show from Wicklow and Laois, or the Wexford Meath game is laughable... it's like comparing a 4-4 draw between Motherwell and Aberdeen with a 2-1 win for Real over Barca... sure it's entertaining but it's not quality!

All in all yesterday Derry showed we have the leaders to pull us out of a hole when we need it. Paddy Bradley, Fergal Doherty, Joe Diver and Muldoon were immense in that second half for us and even James Conway when he came on. Things have started off well and let's hope it continues!!!!

Quote from: currychip on June 02, 2008, 09:15:17 AM
Quote from: under the bar on June 02, 2008, 09:01:32 AM

Its simple - either you want the ref to respond to the entire incident or you only want him to respond to the bit you didn't like.  Its called consistency.

Starting to look more and more of a cakewalk for kerry i'm afraid thsi year.  Similar to Dublin i don't think derry are quite good enough. i was quite disappointed with them yesterday,  as for dropping standards ,no ulster county made the last 4 last year but derry look a bit of a one man band. Excellent midfield but all it will take is to put a sweeper in front of Bradley and that will be that, he can't do it on his own. HIs brother takes some of the worst options i've ever seen, he just shoots on sight. they need to stick muldoon up front with Bradley to give themselves another option . I've backed them for Ulster but i'm starting to believe more and more it's there for Armagh in Ulster this year if they want it unless tyrone can revitalise themselves. should be a derry v armagh final.

QuoteYou are a bit like Tohill

Now that was funny, and wouldn't have looked out of place on Father Ted.  After the Derry game, with reference to Doherty's punch, Tohill is wringing his hands pleading for refs to have common sense in application of the rules.  After the Meath-Wexford game, with reference to the disallowed goal, he's saying that refs are only there to apply the laws as they're written.  Does he ever listen to what's coming out of his bake?   ::)

the green man

Quote from: screenexile on June 02, 2008, 10:26:47 AM
Nah it still doesn't work... it's them BT bastards with their feckin UK ip addresses!

I emailed RTE there, wanting to know demanding to know, why we are excluded from watching it.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 02, 2008, 01:41:08 AM
lads you're kidding yourselves if you think the ulster championship is that great. i would have agreed with you 3years ago but not anymore. the opening games have been totally mediocre and we'll see if the others can improve on the current showings. in general across the board it's been a very poor opening to the championship.

Ulster's big guns have yet to play this year so maybe you should reserve judgement until you see Tyrone and Armagh ;)

Quote from: Billys Boots on June 02, 2008, 10:21:45 AM
QuoteYou are a bit like Tohill

Now that was funny, and wouldn't have looked out of place on Father Ted.  After the Derry game, with reference to Doherty's punch, Tohill is wringing his hands pleading for refs to have common sense in application of the rules.  After the Meath-Wexford game, with reference to the disallowed goal, he's saying that refs are only there to apply the laws as they're written.  Does he ever listen to what's coming out of his bake?   ::)

I have to admit that I had a lot of respect for Tohill on the Sunday game and then he goes and makes an arse of himself last night !

Seriously don't understand why you're all getting up in arms about Tohill last night! Tohill has never advocated anything but common sense from referees. He was obviously told to go away and analyse the Sheridan goal incident, which he did... he then found a rule which says you aren't allowed to grab a ball from a players hands. From memory (and I had a few pints in me) he didn't say it was the right call I think he was just trying to give a possible reason as to why the ref blew it up. In fairness if it had been a defender coming out with the ball it would never be a free.

As for the Doherty incident he said it was striking. At the lower end of the striking scale where I'm guessing McQuaid would be at the top of the scale and Drogba would be at the bottom but he said striking nonetheless. Striking is a month so he basically agreed that Doherty should get suspended for a month... I really don't understand the uproar here.