U21 Football Championship

Started by Croí na hÉireann, February 13, 2008, 03:39:38 PM

Model Hammer

Stevecw, who's over the Carlow U-21s? Is Bealin involved? Hope ye can do it in Newbridge on Saturday. Those Kildare lads have enough titles. A Wexford-Carlow final would be something special.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 27, 2008, 02:29:14 PM
QuoteCould be good...not the usual suspects in semi esp from Leinster!!

Eh! Kildare won the u/21 Leinster as recently as 2004 and have one of the better u/21 records in recent years dispite the last three where that stupid system has them grouped with Meath and Dublin.
I'd love to hear the logic behind it.

Coz at the moment my view is that whoever came up with it is an idiot, and whoever let them impose it is worse.

I'm getting worried with all the silence from Seanie and Owenmore and Co. :-X
It leads me to think they are quietly confident of sending us the same way as the sent the Galwegians last week.
I'm also worried that a lot of Ros folk are talking about the Final v Mayo being played on a Wednesday night.
That's getting into the type of territory Kerry enterd in 1982 with their "5 in a row " t shirts and lwe all know that ended in tears. :'( - but only in Kerry
I'm hopeful but no more as we have a line up of whom 10 or 11 are eligible again next year and Sligo are reputed to be a big strong team. :-\
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

stevecw

Quote from: Model Hammer on March 28, 2008, 12:22:58 PM
Stevecw, who's over the Carlow U-21s? Is Bealin involved? Hope ye can do it in Newbridge on Saturday. Those Kildare lads have enough titles. A Wexford-Carlow final would be something special.

No Bealin is not involved at all with the 21s. Manager is Tom Cullen, he played for Eire Og & Carlow years ago.
Doing a decent job with them. Was manager last year too when it didnt go so well. But having 4 or 5 of last years good minor side helps, those lads are used to winning.
It will be tough tomorrow in Newbridge, but not impossible by any means.
It would be great to see a Wexford-Carlow final.

mayo51

sligo 1.7  roscommon 0.05  h.t

mayo51

roscommon 1.11 sligo 1.9 ft  mayo v ros  connaught final wed. 6 april  6.30  kiltoom

The 6th is a Sunday and there are league games on.

Surely it would make more sense to play the game at a weekend? What's the panic? The semi finals are around the 20 April.

mayo51

youre right barney. its the 9th of april

sligoman2

What happened to us in the second half...

It depressing to get so close and fall once again....
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

I was at Sligo v ros today. We played great stuff in 1st Half and went in 1-7 to 5 pts up. We were against whatever wind was there. To add to that roscommon got man sent off early in 2nd half. Sligo scored 2 pts and ros scored 1-6 in 2nd half.

How can this happen? Simple sligos atitude, decision making just collapsed and froze. Danny O grady even missed a 15 yd free in front of the goals. Unacceptable. We also hit 4 shots into keepers in quick time. Roscommon bullied us and we just let them, they are dirty but infairness ref did well sent off 1 and severl yellows.

O flatherty put no4 gaughan on there no 14 and he got roasted, this minimised the effect of our extra man. Ros made good changes but we only have ourselves to blame. Our players seemed to be afraid to win. We ll they played like a team who didnt want to win in 2nd half. Players legs seemed to go and the effort wained with really a serious lack of digging deep. It really was a collapse mentally in my opinion. VERY Similiar to leitrim game. Happens far to often.

How many more times am I going to go to a SLIGO match to see us lose our shape. It seems to be a unconcious reaction from our players from Senior to u16 and nobody seems to be able to anything. How you react to SET BACKS is always more mental.

I caught the last 10 mins of Sligo Mayo CML match in grange lost 1-7 to 1-6 i think.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 29, 2008, 06:55:57 PM
Roscommon bullied us and we just let them, they are dirty but infairness ref did well sent off 1 and severl yellows.

Disgraceful comment.
However I would be worried about the number of yellows we got mostly for personal fouls.
No complaints about the sending off. I think Conor needs to have  a serious chat with someone who can put his attitude right. Fergie come in.
Most of the same players under Fergie O'Donnell werent getting booked for tackles.
Ros did not start their best 15 and it wasnt till near the end that we had our best 14 out.
Carty/Higgins and McKeague improved things. 3 stronger lads on a small light team.Also everyone in Ros except our management knows that David Flynn is not a full back.
Now for the real oul enemy who of course have to be roaring favourites ;)
Our finishing 14 had 4 -19 yr olds, and about 6 - 20 yr olds so we are at best only testing the water for next year.

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Disgraceful comment my arse, 1 red 7or 8 yellows which could of been red but for he sent off a man already. Fairly realistic and honest comment in my book. Lots of late tackles rugby style and taking the man with out the ball, plus one clothesline around the neck. What are yee so if what i described isnt dirty? Roscommons indiscipline will cost yee whether yer fans have blinkered vision or not.

Ryano

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 29, 2008, 07:21:47 PM
Disgraceful comment my arse, 1 red 7or 8 yellows which could of been red but for he sent off a man already. Fairly realistic and honest comment in my book. Lots of late tackles rugby style and taking the man with out the ball, plus one clothesline around the neck. What are yee so if what i described isnt dirty? Roscommons indiscipline will cost yee whether yer fans have blinkered vision or not.

Your arse is right because you are talking out of it. You scored two points in an entire second half of football. You played with the wind in that second half (i know because the rain was being blown into my face). We got a red card about 5 minutes after half time (rightly so) and with 14 men we played Sligo off the pitch. It was down to the right changes being made at half time by the Ros management and the fact that Sligo were cleaned at midfield by Roscommon. Sligo could not build on the great first half they had and have no one to blame but themselves. They imploded in the second half and you are looking for excuses.

You silly bitter gobshite, how dare you try to imply Roscommon won because they were dirty.

Out scored 1-6 to 0-2 and with the wind and a numerical advantage. The facts speak for themselves. Now get over it!

Can you read you clown, Ive reposted again for your benefit. I said we ONLY HAVE OURSELVES TO BLAME. I said why we lost the game, ye made changes at the right time. We lost our focus and completely bottled it. Where on EARTH did I say we lost because ros were dirty. It had 0% to with RESULT because AS I SAID REF DID WELL ON THAT SIDE of things.... read below again or else go back to school... ::)

I was at Sligo v ros today. We played great stuff in 1st Half and went in 1-7 to 5 pts up. We were against whatever wind was there. To add to that roscommon got man sent off early in 2nd half. Sligo scored 2 pts and ros scored 1-6 in 2nd half.

How can this happen? Simple sligos atitude, decision making just collapsed and froze. Danny O grady even missed a 15 yd free in front of the goals. Unacceptable. We also hit 4 shots into keepers in quick time. Roscommon bullied us and we just let them, they are dirty but infairness ref did well sent off 1 and severl yellows.

O flatherty put no4 gaughan on there no 14 and he got roasted, this minimised the effect of our extra man. Ros made good changes but we only have ourselves to blame. Our players seemed to be afraid to win. We ll they played like a team who didnt want to win in 2nd half. Players legs seemed to go and the effort wained with really a serious lack of digging deep. It really was a collapse mentally in my opinion. VERY Similiar to leitrim game. Happens far to often.

How many more times am I going to go to a SLIGO match to see us lose our shape. It seems to be a unconcious reaction from our players from Senior to u16 and nobody seems to be able to anything. How you react to SET BACKS is always more mental.

I caught the last 10 mins of Sligo Mayo CML match in grange lost 1-7 to 1-6 i think.

rocco

i think some of ros problems in the first half came from all the chopping & changing of players by our management before the game, sligo had players running loose all over the place in first half with nobody picking them up. i am a long time going to matches  & anytime i saw wholesale changes like ros made all it did was cause confusion.