Ciarraí vs Tír Eoghain NFL 2008

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, January 05, 2008, 06:51:30 PM

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Suppose its inevitable that when Tyrone are struggling people will turn on Davy Harte the way they turned on Mark Harte when he was on the panel, both easy targets. Certainly very unfair on Davy who albeit we probably didnt expect him to become a regular when he first got onto the panel has actually been a very good player for Tyrone. These latest attacks on him seem to be based on one very poor (and very costly) decision at the end of the game against Kildare which is harsh in the extreme. He is a very steady and underated player.
All that said I actually wouldnt mind seeing Carlin get a run at no.5 because Im not convinced about him in the corner or at CHB. His ability though to drive forward with power and pace could be asset at no.5 and I think a Carlin, Gormley, Jordan unit could be excellent. Its more likely however that nephew will hold onto his place and Ive no great problem with that.

Decent enough looking team for the Kerry game in the circumstances. Bit surprised McCaul hasnt been named in the starting 15 for either league game so far but his time will come. Time now for a few of the younger lads to stand up and be counted. A couple of good performances from this team with the likes of Ricey, Sean, Hoover and Brian McGuigan (hopefully) then to come back and we might start getting some momentum up.

Quote from: ONeill on February 14, 2008, 05:58:06 PM
I still think the Nephew, Model and Block are essential to a top-performing Tyrone defence. Throw in an in-form Ricey, McGee(with tongue hanging out)/Carlin and the Return of the Mc(Mahon) and we'll not leak too many. Remember, only 4 or 5 points went over the bar for Kildare, albeit comparing the Lilys to the Animals is like matching Smash mash with spuds from Greece.

Horses for courses. I think Davy is one of the most consistent performers Tyrone have had recently. His defending needs a little work at times however.

McGee almost lost that tounge a couple of times, hes had it stitched back in at least once when it was sliced almost half the way across!

Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 14, 2008, 10:33:53 PM
Suppose its inevitable that when Tyrone are struggling people will turn on Davy Harte the way they turned on Mark Harte when he was on the panel, both easy targets...

Disagree there LDA, I'd hope that any criticisms I have are based purely on a 70 minutes display, and that alone, and I know that in the past Mickey has been very quick to make the necessary changes, regardless of familial loyalties, or perceived loyalties. He's only human, after all, and at times I'm sure his judgement is blurred somewhat by the "...just because he's my son/nephew I'm going to be totally objective here, regardless...", but... that's a two-edged sword, so it can cut the other way, totally unintentionally, where he can be blind where he should have seen (bit like the teacher's son (or daughter) in school), and that's what makes management where blood relatives are concerned a veritable minefield. Tread lightly... not likely with MH, and good luck to him.

Quote from: Puckoon on February 15, 2008, 12:20:01 AM
Horses for courses. I think Davy is one of the most consistent performers Tyrone have had recently. His defending needs a little work at times however.

Agree entirely Puckoon, but won't hold back (within reason) where I think he's been lacking in any particular game. At his best, he's worth twice his weight and speed. Like a lot of our players the firmer ground suits him better, but the Kildare game is a good one to have out of his system.

I don't know lads.
I haven't saw him this year yet so I'm not commenting on any one match such as the Kildare game.

All I'm saying is that in my opinion there are other defenders who are faster, stronger and better fielders than he is. He got roasted last year against Donegal time and time again. I've watched games where the other teams keeper targets him with lots of kickouts and despite his wholesome honest attitude I just think he's not one of our best 6 defenders.

I know I'm not the manager but it is a discussion board and we are entitled to voice our opinion if we think someone else would be better in that position.
I think it's only natural for a manager to have his favourites and for him sometimes to "STICK" with a player because of past glories in the hope he will come good
I'm thinking here of Mugsy before he scored that wonder goal v the Dubs in 2005.

Its hardly a witch hunt as yet to get the Nephew out but I think people overlook his lack of speed, fielding ability as he's not the tallest and his general defensive duties just because he's consistent and get the odd point from half back.

You must compare him with what's on the bench as you should do if Ricey or Carlin is having a bad game also.
In Fairness Mickey has pulled him off a few times but all I'm asking is if we have a fit Gourley, Justin McMahon, Collie Holmes, Carlin etc then how many of ye would not say these are better players than Davey if you were to leave sentiment at home.

There's a feeling of "Ah he's the nephew and he's quite consistent to let it be".
Of course there's other players you could also name that are often picked but aren't just doing it now for some time

Mellon, Mugsy even Cavanagh junior though he's young and learning his trade and esems to get an awful amount of abuse from defenders.

I started off with a bad feeling about this Sat but I'm beginning to look forward to it now
If midfield can get their fair share of ball I think we might do OK if its a solid pitch
DRAW

Also starting to feel better about this. If McCullagh, Mugsy or Gormley are on-form in terms of free-taking, we've a chance.

Players can lose form and if Davy has a stinker on Sat he'll be benched I'm sure for the next. He's a fine player though.

Yeah I agree

People change and players lose form and gain form again later
Mugsy is a prime example of this

Even Mickey himself is a changed manager from his days back in 2003.

cavanmaniac

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
In Fairness Mickey has pulled him off a few times but all I'm asking is if we have a fit Gourley, Justin McMahon, Collie Holmes, Carlin etc then how many of ye would not say these are better players than Davey if you were to leave sentiment at home.

Tell me you wrote that on purpose, and highlighted it to boot... :P

Quarterback

Quote from: Fuzzman on February 15, 2008, 09:32:22 AM
I don't know lads.
I haven't saw him this year yet so I'm not commenting on any one match such as the Kildare game.

All I'm saying is that in my opinion there are other defenders who are faster, stronger and better fielders than he is. He got roasted last year against Donegal time and time again. I've watched games where the other teams keeper targets him with lots of kickouts and despite his wholesome honest attitude I just think he's not one of our best 6 defenders.

I know I'm not the manager but it is a discussion board and we are entitled to voice our opinion if we think someone else would be better in that position.
I think it's only natural for a manager to have his favourites and for him sometimes to "STICK" with a player because of past glories in the hope he will come good
I'm thinking here of Mugsy before he scored that wonder goal v the Dubs in 2005.

Its hardly a witch hunt as yet to get the Nephew out but I think people overlook his lack of speed, fielding ability as he's not the tallest and his general defensive duties just because he's consistent and get the odd point from half back.

You must compare him with what's on the bench as you should do if Ricey or Carlin is having a bad game also.

There's a feeling of "Ah he's the nephew and he's quite consistent to let it be".
Of course there's other players you could also name that are often picked but aren't just doing it now for some time

Mellon, Mugsy even Cavanagh junior though he's young and learning his trade and esems to get an awful amount of abuse from defenders.

I started off with a bad feeling about this Sat but I'm beginning to look forward to it now
If midfield can get their fair share of ball I think we might do OK if its a solid pitch
DRAW

Draw.....Cum on you guys....

I have to say im really worried about Saturday night... I look at the kerry back line and the team as a whole and i see a hungry bunch of men who have had the tyrone coup over their heads this past seasons......I think...where will they tyrone scores come from??....We had trouble scoring against a mediocre Kildare team yet we think it will be close against the all ireland champs.....

It could be a nightmare in the fullback line with only the block capable of thwarting the high ball..... how will quinn and swift cope with the high ball....lets refer back to colm mc fadden earlier in the year when wer'e thinking about this one....I felt harte should have opted with more height in that department...

Up front i feel is where the real problems will start...Mulligan has never done it without either canavan or mcguigan bye his side yet were all waiting on him to pull the strings....Free kicks is another prblem, we dont have a reliable freekick taker whilst on the other hand they have sheehan...

I hope im wrong but unless the old guard comes off the bench i.e. cavanagh ricey etc i feel we will be lucky to remain within 5 points off them....

Finally il ask the question, is Stephen o Neill a bigger loss to tyrone or Micky Harte.....

1/4 BACK digging that one up

I think it will be closer than you think and I think the sight of the green and gold gets the hunger back for the red hands.
They looked nothing too special against a weakened Donegal team either

Mugsy to score 1.04 and Tyrone by 2

1. Diarmuid Murphy
2. Marc Ó Sé 3. Tom O'Sullivan 4. Pádraig Reidy
5. Tomás Ó Sé 6. Aidan O'Mahony 7. Killian Young.
8. Seamus Scanlon 9. Tommy Griffin.
10.Seán O'Sullivan 11. Declan O'Sullivan 12. David Moran
13. Kieran O'Leary 14.Kieran Donaghy 15. Bryan Sheehan

Subs: 16. Kieran Cremin 17. Michéal Quirke 18. Paul O'Connor 19. Donnacha Walsh 20. Tommy Walsh 21.Daniel Bohane
22. Ronán Ó Flatharta 23. Darren O'Sullivan 24. Kieran Quirke (Duagh) 25. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 26. Mike Moloney (Dr. Crokes) and 27. Paddy Curran (Waterville)

Are those two Quirke's brothers, SDC? And are they as big as each other?  Was reading in The Kerryman Donaghy and one of the Quirkes were still playing basketball ... are they still at it or have they given it up for the NFL?  Also, what's that O'Leary like?  Don't think I've ever seen him play.

No not even related and different clubs, Mike Quirke is the basketball player and himself and Donaghy still line out for Tralee but football always gets priority. Must be a first for Duagh having 2 players on a Kerry panel. Good to see former minor star Paddy Curran in the panel too, but he has lots to do get any game time this year.

The goalie and back line picks itself at this stage and with little defensive options those lads need to be pushed more by panel players to avoid any complacancy, same problem as last year.

Good to see Tommy Griffin back in the fold in midfield after a miserable year for him last year with injury, himself and Scanlon have much to prove this year but also will need to lay down a marker for the elder O'Se when he decides to come out to play that he just wont walk back on the team.

The forwards as usual has the most spots up for grabs but with Brosnan and Captain Galvin out injured it creates the opportunity for David Ogie Moran to have another start , I thought he did well against Donegal 2 weeks ago. Sean O'Sulliavn was lost in the corner the last day and a run in his normal wing position will suit him better where his pace will keep the Tyrone half backs occupied. Declan O'Sullivan will lead the attack from his best position and his usual hard work and ball control will be vital to break down the tyronies.

The passing was very sloppy against Donegal but with an extra 2 weeks training it should see a sharper Kerry team this weekend.
Kieran O'Leary has been on the panel the last few years with little game time, and with the Gooch sunning his hole in the US his club mate can try and make a name for himself, promissed much in underage and at club level so it will be a good trial of him against a tigerish Tyrone full back line, he will be wearing the Gooch's special protective googles for this encounter as you never know where a stray thumb, finger or elbow might end up  :P.

Looking forward to seeing Donaghy and Gormley, true Gormley got the upper hand in the Railway cup when switched onto him but that was in the middle of Kerry's annual beerfest in October so we should read nought into that, but this will be a big test for both big men.  2 big reputations are on the line even this early in the year. Bryan Sheehan missed a few sitters last time out and will need to improve his frees for Tyrone.

At the other end Tom O'Sullivan will be looking forward to to his clash with the blonde. There will be a few skelps (friendly of course)  between these two and if the Referee, formerly known as that useless bollix from Galway, plays up to form either of these two could be testing out the showers in Stacks Park, though hopefully not together, cause thats just not a pretty thought.

Hard to call but would be happy if  we shade it, a vital game for both teams, Kerry threw it away against Donegal and will want to get out quicker this weekend and finish off Tyrone if they get a chance. Tyrone should be more match fit given recent McKenna games and the Unibrow will have them well up for it.

The stewards in Tralee have been warned that if a wee baldy f**ker answering to the name of The Great throws off his jacket or tracksuit top after half time they are to stop him from getting on the field. Mr Maguire may be making an appearance for anyone travelling who might not see him for a while again.

It will have little or no bearing on the year in general I'd say, the league is a different fecking animal, yerra tis all about survival at the moment but no one can afford to lose.

Ciarrai Abu.

Quote from: Kerry Mike on February 15, 2008, 08:25:34 PM
1. Diarmuid Murphy
2. Marc Ó Sé 3. Tom O'Sullivan 4. Pádraig Reidy
5. Tomás Ó Sé 6. Aidan O'Mahony 7. Killian Young.
8. Seamus Scanlon 9. Tommy Griffin.
10.Seán O'Sullivan 11. Declan O'Sullivan 12. David Moran
13. Kieran O'Leary 14.Kieran Donaghy 15. Bryan Sheehan

Subs: 16. Kieran Cremin 17. Michéal Quirke 18. Paul O'Connor 19. Donnacha Walsh 20. Tommy Walsh 21.Daniel Bohane
22. Ronán Ó Flatharta 23. Darren O'Sullivan 24. Kieran Quirke (Duagh) 25. Anthony Maher (Duagh) 26. Mike Moloney (Dr. Crokes) and 27. Paddy Curran (Waterville)

Are those two Quirke's brothers, SDC? And are they as big as each other?  Was reading in The Kerryman Donaghy and one of the Quirkes were still playing basketball ... are they still at it or have they given it up for the NFL?  Also, what's that O'Leary like?  Don't think I've ever seen him play.

No not even related and different clubs, Mike Quirke is the basketball player and himself and Donaghy still line out for Tralee but football always gets priority. Must be a first for Duagh having 2 players on a Kerry panel. Good to see former minor star Paddy Curran in the panel too, but he has lots to do get any game time this year.

The goalie and back line picks itself at this stage and with little defensive options those lads need to be pushed more by panel players to avoid any complacancy, same problem as last year.

Good to see Tommy Griffin back in the fold in midfield after a miserable year for him last year with injury, himself and Scanlon have much to prove this year but also will need to lay down a marker for the elder O'Se when he decides to come out to play that he just wont walk back on the team.

The forwards as usual has the most spots up for grabs but with Brosnan and Captain Galvin out injured it creates the opportunity for David Ogie Moran to have another start , I thought he did well against Donegal 2 weeks ago. Sean O'Sulliavn was lost in the corner the last day and a run in his normal wing position will suit him better where his pace will keep the Tyrone half backs occupied. Declan O'Sullivan will lead the attack from his best position and his usual hard work and ball control will be vital to break down the tyronies.

The passing was very sloppy against Donegal but with an extra 2 weeks training it should see a sharper Kerry team this weekend.
Kieran O'Leary has been on the panel the last few years with little game time, and with the Gooch sunning his hole in the US his club mate can try and make a name for himself, promissed much in underage and at club level so it will be a good trial of him against a tigerish Tyrone full back line, he will be wearing the Gooch's special protective googles for this encounter as you never know where a stray thumb, finger or elbow might end up  :P.

Looking forward to seeing Donaghy and Gormley, true Gormley got the upper hand in the Railway cup when switched onto him but that was in the middle of Kerry's annual beerfest in October so we should read nought into that, but this will be a big test for both big men.  2 big reputations are on the line even this early in the year. Bryan Sheehan missed a few sitters last time out and will need to improve his frees for Tyrone.

At the other end Tom O'Sullivan will be looking forward to to his clash with the blonde. There will be a few skelps (friendly of course)  between these two and if the Referee, formerly known as that useless bollix from Galway, plays up to form either of these two could be testing out the showers in Stacks Park, though hopefully not together, cause thats just not a pretty thought.

Hard to call but would be happy if  we shade it, a vital game for both teams, Kerry threw it away against Donegal and will want to get out quicker this weekend and finish off Tyrone if they get a chance. Tyrone should be more match fit given recent McKenna games and the Unibrow will have them well up for it.

The stewards in Tralee have been warned that if a wee baldy f**ker answering to the name of The Great throws off his jacket or tracksuit top after half time they are to stop him from getting on the field. Mr Maguire may be making an appearance for anyone travelling who might not see him for a while again.

It will have little or no bearing on the year in general I'd say, the league is a different fecking animal, yerra tis all about survival at the moment but no one can afford to lose.

Ciarrai Abu.

Great post KM, neatly summed up in the highlighted section.

Fair dues KM, an honest call.

I'm hoping that this is the game where the Hub eventually rediscovers his best, and if it doesn't happen in the Kingdom against the AI Champs, then I'd finally begin (or continue) to seriously wonder if he ever can. If he (The Hub) can scale something to like his most rarefied heights, we've a real chance, especially with Dara absent, though those two in the Kerry midfield are no second raters.

Anyways, here's to a good, open, honest game of entertaining football; just as the games between the Red Hand and the Kingdom invariably and undoubtedly always are  ;)

Tír Eoghain (agus Tra Lí) abú!

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 15, 2008, 09:03:51 PM
Fair dues KM, an honest call.

I'm hoping that this is the game where the Hub eventually rediscovers his best, and if it doesn't happen in the Kingdom against the AI Champs, then I'd finally begin (or continue) to seriously wonder if he ever can. If he (The Hub) can scale something to like his most rarefied heights, we've a real chance, especially with Dara absent, though those two in the Kerry midfield are no second raters.

Anyways, here's to a good, open, honest game of entertaining football; just as the games between the Red Hand and the Kingdom invariably and undoubtedly always are  ;)

Tír Eoghain (agus Tra Lí) abú!

FOSB, thats a tough assessment. In Kerry, against Kerry on a late winter day is his last chance saloon???
The first 20 will tell us alot about the new men in the corners and tomorrow will say alot about Mugsy being able to step up and be the main man. Kerry were very sluggish against donegal, and I dont know how much two weeks will make to their fitness levels.

Not quite last chance saloon Puckoon, but my personal in belief in Kevin being able to scale again will diminish considerably. And the time of year and conditions will be the same for everyone -- there was a time when he excelled regardless of the season or the sod.